We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa-rkling Little Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
Save
You added Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Hants
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spa-rkling Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We were in Napa at the tourist info and deciding where to go. The very helpful staff suggested this place if we fancied going to Calistoga and also got us a reduced rate for the night.

We were pleasantly surprised both we Calistoga and Dr Wilkinson's.

We only had a night here but the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and the choice of three spa pools (with one inside) was great.

We didn't have any treatments but the steady flow of clients booked in was a sure sign that this was a good place to go if that's what you are after.

If we venture back this way we'd be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    102
    34
    20
    23
See reviews for
49
153
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penna.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Dr Wilkinson's. We had a very nice room, enjoyed the pools, and got The Works. Our cool-down and massage were ruined by a loudly ticking clock (in the women's area). How I wish the new age massage music would have drowned it out. This is a simple fix - I was told there had been other complaints. I would not purchase any spa treatments at this establishment until I was assured that someone had taken this seriously. This was a splurge for us and it was really marred.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markwilkinson, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear urbanite1,

Thanks so much for leaving your review and my sincere apologies about the "ticking clock"
We make every possible effort to create a relaxing and low keyed environment for our guests and have since taken care of the situation.!

Thanks for the kind words about the pools and rooms. Even though we've been around for almost 60 years, we strive daily to maintain the rooms, pools and grounds in a comfortable and contemporary style.

Thanks again for the feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I visited in Sept w/ my world-traveled mother and I was aTravel Agent /Owner for 25 years in a very affluent city in Florida and have stayed in Ritz's to Ramada's around the world. That being said...
We were fortunate to have 3 nights to spend in Napa, that gave us time to 'settle in' and discover the Great grocery store across the street that not only sold wine and cheeze, but had a hot/cold bar to pick up fresh salads or soup, sandwiches, fruit...homemade tortilla chips & salsa etc...and not at tourist prices. The excellent restaurants (pricey to mom and pops), wonderful bakeries and great bfast places
BUT what made this hotel outstanding was the staff. Diane who took our reservation and seemed to be there everyday even tho she was 'part-time'..was absolutely outstanding and took the time to give us pointers on what to see & do and printed mapquest direction and discount coupons for us. James was off duty and walking into his home for dinner when he took a call from us to get pointers on Monterray (our next stop) The maids were in early and bustling and happy...No attitudes &.Nothing pretentious about this hotel. Those looking for Luxury should probably stay in Napa or St Helena.
The standard room (ask for #7 or 8 ) was very spacious w/ table & 2 chairs, 2 upholstered chairs ,, large armoire w/ TV,coffee maker w/ supplies & small fridge under the counter of the sink. A wine opener and wine glasses are provided too....Plenty of fluffy towels. The room had been renovated and didn't feel 'dated'
The staff was awesome!!!
The hotel had 2 courtyards w/ teak tables and umbrellas and outdoor heaters and landscaped lovingly. Saw a couple hummingbirds early one morning
I only saw 2 mineral pools. The enclosed pool was right outside our door and w/ the robes provided we'd slip into it thru the sliding glass doors. With steps leading into it, it reminded me of a 50 person hot tub that you could SWIM in!. The outdoor pool was really nice w/ lounge chairs and shaded areas The MUD BATH treatments are not to be missed. .Several evenings walking to dinner, we passed couples in the courtyard enjoying their bottle of wine and salads or soups....A very relaxed feel about the place..don't let the retro sign throw you.
We were very glad we did not stay in the city of Napa or St Helena...great to visit and shop around, but prepare to pay tourist prices in the shops & restaurants too. St Helena was about 15 min away and very cute.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markwilkinson, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Lilly0802,

Thank you so much for your very kind review! The entire staff, including Diane and James appreciate your compliments. After nearly 59 years, we pride ourselves and are committed to great guest service as well as providing a well priced and comfortable place to stay for a night or a week! Sorry you didn't see the third pool....there are indeed three of them filled with our naturally silky mineral waters!

I can't help but agree that Calistoga is the gem of Napa Valley and hope to see you here on your next visit from Florida!

Best wishes,
Mark Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

this place takes you back to the mud baths of days past . . . the motel itself was clean and functional . . . the staff was incredibly freiendly and helpful . . . and the spa was an absolute blast. Great value! Totally relaxing! Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austinbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We had another great stay at Dr Wilkinsons. It is the second time we stayed and we really like the hotel/motel and the town. I love the spa treatments - Dr Wilkinson's The Works but my husband hates it and I guess it is a bit hardcore. Can't fault this place at all. Immaculately clean, free wifi, a fridge, great toiletries, coffee, bathrobes all at a really affordable price. During our recent trip to California we stayed at a whole range of hotels from motels to the Intercontinental in Monterrey and absolutely the best value for money is Dr Wilkinsons. Add in the town with the range of restaurants then I really can't think of a better place to stay - far outshines St Helena in my book.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We spent the weekend at the Victorian House.....clean, homey,good friendly service.we enjoyed the hot mineral jacuzzi pool (free). We were greeted by Mark Wilkenson who made us feel very welcome. We walked to town and found good restaurants very close by. Fun funky golf course in Calistoga,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
182 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I thouroughly enjoyed my first (and I hope not last) treatment at Dr. Wilkinson's. The mud bath intrigued me, so I signed up for "the works," - mud bath, mineral whirlpool, steam room, wrapped rest and massage. The entire experience was excellent. Staff made me feel welcome and comfortable throughout. The massage was wonderfully deep, but did not leave me sore. I left feeling all aglow and invigorated. I highly recommend this place with the caveat that prospective clients read about the process on the resort's Website and read negative as well as positive reviews to determine if this is the right place for you. Anyone looking for a frou-frou spa or who would be uncomfortable with nudity or with, well, mud, should look elswhere. If you want an authentic and professional spa treatment in the old-world sense, get thee to Dr. Wilkinson's. Treatments are fairly priced and represent good value, i.e. an hour massage is 60, not 50 minutes, as has become standard at many spas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort

Property: Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Calistoga landmark offering contemporary lodging and wonderful treatments and pools! Contemporary rooms with easy access to three sparkling mineral water pools. Located in the heart of historic downtown Calistoga within steps of numerous restaurants, shops and tasting rooms. Dr. Wilkinson's is a mid-century modern icon in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dr. Wilkinson`s Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Resort
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing