We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is kept very clean. The spa and the hotel are both exceptional. The only issues are that the hotel is very old and noisy. It is like the neighbors are inside your room. So if you are looking for a newer hotel with all the amenities this place is not for you. The spa experience was wonderful. The employees treated me like a king, thanks Eduardo!

Room Tip: Get a cottage and not part of the main hotel for quiet sleeping
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bosco1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 425 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean, spacious, quiet, and hot spring pools! The location is perfect and within walking distance of the main downtown and very close to the grocery store.


I've stayed in many hotels and cottages in Calistoga and this will be one to come back too. Next time I'd like to try the spa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Sherry J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I am thrilled that you have found your "place" in Calistoga and look forward to your returning time and time again!

We are always looking for ways to improve so don't be surprized if on your next visit we've made a subtle, but effective change here or there. By all means, enjoy a massage, mud bath and or facial on your next visit!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in the bungalows recently. The bungalows are old school, but very clean. Bathroom is very tiny, but wasn't a problem. I wouldn't recommend going during "crush" season as very over-priced at $225.00 a night. Our original quote was for less, but apparently the quote was for Monday through Thursday. Our friends made their reservation after we did and they were quoted and paid the lesser price. I questioned it upon checkout, but was told our friends got a discount due to their room had a broken refrigerator. There was no mention of any discounted price due to a broken refrigerator when reservations were made by us or our friends. The clerk apologized, but there was no adjustment on the price which was somewhat disappointing. Anyway, cute little place that brings you back in time, but be sure to get a clear price quote!

Room Tip: Be clear on the price you are paying and whether you are getting a discounted price due to the fact...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Hey Lo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your comments and apologize for any misunderstandings regarding the rate. Your friends, who booked later than you were indeed quoted a lower rate. Our policy is to reserve any room with maintenance issues (i.e. no fridge) last. In your friends particular case, I will investigate why they were not told about the reduced rate due to the refrigerator. As a rule, we try to make this very clear while booking.

Indeed, "crush season" is a very popular time of year and our rates do go up during this period. As we enter our shoulder season, our rates come down as we truly try to make Dr. Wilkinson's a "wallet friendly" place!

Again, my thanks for your feedback.

Best wishes, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A very good place to stay in Calistoga and not pay a fortune. Rooms were very spacious and clean. They have three different pools to enjoy at different temperatures. Beds were very comfortable. We both enjoyed massages in the spa. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connieretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

There are so many spas in the area so how does one choose? Over the years I have visited Dr. Wilkinson's 3 times (as well as a couple other mid-range spas/resorts.) If your bottom line is that you want to feel good at the end and don't want to drop a fortune, this is the place for you (especially now that Nance's is gone.) Do you want to pay for how the room looks or for what you came for-- the mud, mineral bath, steam, and massage? I would rather pay for the treatment rather than inconsequential extras, although Dr. Wilkinson's staff and decorum are completely professional, clean, and courteous. I have found the massage quality keeps getting better. This time, my masseuse provided an excellent treatment and my husband concurs that his was very high quality as well. We are budget minded travelers who want to partake is the best a region has to offer without going broke. The mud bath experience in Calistoga is a real treat-- you can't go wrong at Dr. Wilkinson's unless you are a picky snob.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UNR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear UNR91,

Thanks so much for your review. We truly take pride in offering a quality service at a wallet friendly price! Although we are constantly working to make a Dr. W's experience an even more positive one, we also like to maintain both the quality of environment and staff.

Glad you enjoyed the treatment! Don't forget to bring your swimsuit so that you can enjoy our three pools on your next visit!

Warm best wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On an impromptu warm weathered weekend, we decided to steal away for the night to Calistoga and were happy to get a room just a few days before our arrive for just one night. We arrived mid-day Saturday after some wine tasting and ready for some fun and lounging by the pool, our only pre-request having been a room away from the street. Traffic and deliveries get noisy early and we wanted a good night's rest. Much to our dismay we were told we would be in the first room above the office and right on the street. After some strained discussion with the manager where he did not budge, we reluctantly took the key and headed upstairs. The room was spacious and the furniture was accommodating. The bed looked inviting with plenty of pillows and a light featherbed. We immediately noticed the wall facing the street was solid cinderblock, no chance of much noice coming through and we were relieved that the slight hum of the A/C took care of the passing car noise. With the window open we were still very comfortable and I was no longer worried. My biggest complaint was the manager did not assure us that it was a quiet room with solid cinderblock walls, he only offered to let us off the hook for the room and assured us he could rent the room to someone else. Not very comforting and felt a bit rude.

The pools are lovely and the grounds are neat and tidy. There are a few guests here and there but no large crowds by the pool or anywhere for that matter. Towels for the pool are far and few between (we were reluctantly given 2 bathmat towels at one point) so bring your own. The pool doesn't allow food, drinks, cans, bottles, alcohol, etc. etc. etc. So that may explain the lack of visitors so we ate our lunch in the patio area. It would have been nice to allow something (like cans or chips) since it is not a cheap investment on weekend rates but they must have their reasons.

Overall the location, cleanliness, recreation and comfort level was high. The friendliness of the staff (pool towels, check-in) was lacking. As locals, we don't mind spending the money but we wanted to feel treated to a nice time not the later. Leaving towels handy by the pool and lightening up on the rules a bit would have made it more fun but other than that I recommend this place to anyone passing through and we will probably come back, maybe during the week when the prices are a little lower.

Room Tip: rooms are all the same, nothing special, but roomy and quiet. I would stay on the 2nd floor you get...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sacsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a great, great stay.
We booked from here in Oz because it looked a bit old school and it was, in a lovely way. It is also really great value too.
The lady at check-in was lovely and welcoming, I can't remember her name but it started with a B. She picked us a great room (12 I think). The room was a really, really good size and had everything you would need.
We enjoyed the pools.
We also had 'The Works' which was an experience. The mud bath is intense but in a good way, once you have taken a minute or two to adjust. Hovering in hot mud is a very relaxing experience. The mineral bath is nice and the massage was lovely. After 2 hours my wife and I met back up both feeling very nice, relaxed and woozy.
Calistoga is such a lovely place with great restaurants and wineries nearby.
I would love to go back and one day, we will
Do yourself a favour and go visit Dr Wilkinsons and while you are there have lunch at Busters.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thanks for the great review! am happy that you enjoyed your visit with us! I realize that Australia is a bit far away, but I hope to see you on a return visit! I hope that your trip was a success!

Best wishes,
Mark Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.4 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1331
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: $280 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Calistoga landmark offering contemporary lodging and wonderful treatments and pools! Contemporary rooms with easy access to three sparkling mineral water pools. Located in the heart of historic downtown Calistoga within steps of numerous restaurants, shops and tasting rooms. Dr. Wilkinson's is a mid-century modern icon in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr. Wilkinson`s Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Resort
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing