We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Stay and Good Value for Napa Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have stayed at this location several time, usually the beginning of each year. It is a decent hotel. Compared to the prices in the rest of the Napa Valley, it is an excellent value.

If you are looking for a Spa, this really is more of a hotel, so consider it more for sleeping than for pampering. There is a mineral bath, but it is not a spa setting. Calistoga is one of my favorite places to stay and we love the location, right at the end of the Silverado Trail. (We also enjoyed our dining experience at Checkers). The hotel provides a great launching platform to visit wineries.

This last time we stayed we were in room 105 which is set for four with two queen beds. The generously sized bathroom had a toilet, tub/shower combo and one sink on a granite counter. It included all the little soaps and four sets of towells. It also had a hair drier. The tile work is very shoddy and the caulking sloppy but all was clean.

The carpets are definitely showing there wear but weren't too dirty.

The beds were modern with a perfect balance of soft and firm. The bed linens were modern, clean, and brilliant white. They definitely looked clean and felt comfortable for the germ-conscience.

There are a few negatives. The air conditioners are really disappointing. The fans are loud, blow cold air every few minutes, and the heat pump compressors (run for heatuing or cooling) are really loud. Even when fully off, they start up every once in awhile and blow a blast of cold air. I woke up everytime.

They offer a small breakfast including boiled eggs, bagels, and fresh made waffles. Enough for me.

Overall, we stay here every time we go through central California and will likely do so again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerneGeht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 460 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the reviews neglected to state that there were NO inside stairs and NO elevator at all. It was raining the whole time we were there so we were having to carry suitcases up an outside staircase in the rain. The check in clerk had such an accent and was in such a hurry, that we could barely understand her. Breakfast selection was very limited. The heat in our room didn't work well. The thermostat said it needed service, but when we got the maintenance person up to the room, it wasn't indicating that, so we gave up and dealt with the noise and the fact that it took a long time to warm up the room. Also, the hotel was virtually empty, but we were given a room near the street and had quite a bit of road noise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

A group of us stayed at this hotel a year ago. We planned a relaxing and lovely weekend in beautiful Calistoga to celebrate a friend's birthday. We checked into the hotel in the late afternoon and a woman greeted us at reception. She asked us many questions about our stay, plans, where we had gone in town, etc. We thought she was being friendly and we were pleasantly surprised this "average" hotel had apparently "above average" service. We left for dinner at 7pm and returned around 10pm.

We returned to the hotel tired but excited to ring in the New Year. Our happiness and excitement quickly turned into extreme stress after discovering 2 out of our 3 rooms were robbed of credit cards and cash. We immediately called the receptionist and she placed us on hold as she called for the on-site manager. After being on hold for more than 10 mins, one of us went to the front desk and found the receptionist at her car leaving the facility. We called the police and woke up the on-site manager to help us get to the bottom of this robbery. After a hotel audit of all of our rooms, it was revealed that the MASTER KEY (that only the manager and the front desk have) swiped into ALL OF OUR ROOMS within a 20 minute period of when we left for dinner. We filed a police report and over the past year, we have tried every way possible to get the hotel management to reimburse us for both the money that was stolen and the total amount we were charged for our stay.

As many people have mentioned in there reviews, we want to emphasize that the on-site manager, receptionist and staff are extremely unhelpful. This establishment is the WORST hotel we have ever stayed at and we hope you take this review seriously.

If you want to stay at a safe hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This was the first time my wife and I have been to Napa Valley. We had enough points through Choice Hotels to stay free at this hotel. Pulling into the parking lot, my first impression was the place looked past its prime. To some extent, this is true. It surely is not a grand hotel or resort. If you are looking for an inexpensive, nice hotel in a good setting, this is a fine choice. The rooms are big enough and I enjoyed the balony in the early mornings. There is a decent free breakfast. The courtyard is a nice place to have breakfast or even have some wine at the end of the day. The manager on duty was very helpful with all requests, including asking for a blanket so we could go to a local winery for an outdoor movie. I would reccommend this hotel for anyone on a budget but when we return, I would look to stay somewhere else.

We really enjoyed staying in Calistoga. Out of all of the towns we visited, we felt Claistoga was the most quaint. Great shops and some nice restaurants. When tasting wines, we would head south and work our way back north. One day we took the St Helena Hwy, the other Silverado Trail. I would stay in Calistoga again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The hotel is located just outside town, but within walking distance to downtown. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. My only complaint was I had a room located along the main road and it was somewhat noisy even with the windows closed. I would recommend getting a room on the backside of the hotel away from the road. I would also recommend the breakfast, but you might also miss out on some good eats in town. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at the Lodge from Oct 5-8 2010. Normally I steer clear of motels, preferring to step out of my room into a corridor rather than directly outdoors, however this was actually very good.

We ended up staying here, as many of the other accommodation options in the main part of the value were priced over the top. Calistoga wasn’t too far away from all of the attractions, but far enough away for the pricing to be reasonable.

The Lodge is walking distance (maybe 1k) to Calistoga town; so after spending a full day driving from Yosemite, we opted for that.

The room itself opened onto a court yard area, which meant that we didn’t have the issue of hearing cars coming & going throughout the night. Room was simple, but nice. King size bed, large TV and fridge.

Spring fed pool was great as it meant it was naturally heated. Free wi-fi available; was having some issues whilst we were there, so they gave us the login for the management wi-fi, which was great.

Complimentary breakfast was also a nice plus.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Traveled with my husband and his parents. Stayed for four nights. It was a little small for four adults with lots of luggage. But it was clean, had a great breakfast and refridgerator and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dduvernay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.8 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
22.2 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#27 of 30 in Napa
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UpValley Inn & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UpValley Inn & Hot Springs

Address: 1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1114 (Formerly Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: $182 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — UpValley Inn & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary healing of Calistoga's geothermal mineral hot springs as you soak in our outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, followed by a relaxing turn in our steam room and dry sauna. Get your mornings started right with our fitness room and follow up your workout with our complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage and biscuits. We also offer offsite spa services and packages at a renowned Calistoga day spa, as well as meeting and events space for groups and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your UpValley Inn & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs Of The West Hotel Calistoga
Clarion Collection Calistoga
Clarion Collection Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing