We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
17
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areagreat locationhousekeepingmicrowavelobbywineriesbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 24 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We had to sadly cancel our trip to Yosemite and instead decided to explore some of the Napa area, so all a bit last minute and with sad faces. We managed to get booked into UpValley where Kelly and Sean really looked after us. The rooms are great - very clean with nice bathrooms - we have a double queen for our family which worked fine. We had some great tips from Kelly and Sean to visit a nearby park called Bothe where we did a lovely walk through Redwoods which made up a little for our Yosemite disappointment. We also visited Berryessa lake which is beautiful, we hired a boat from a great company there and had an amazing 2 hours on the lake. We are now off to Carmel to resume our plans but all agree that our stop off in Calestoga has been wonderful and that is partly to do with the kindess we received from Upvalley Inn. Thank you Kelly, Sean and David

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellageering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn P, Guest Relations Manager at UpValley Inn & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at UpValley Inn. While I can understand your disappointment about not being able to visit Yosemite, I am so glad that we were able to provide an excellent alternative. I’m happy you and your family were comfortable in our new rooms, and that our front desk staff was able to recommend some great outdoor activities for you to enjoy! I hope you and your family will think of UpValley if you are ever in Calistoga Wine Country again. Enjoy Carmel and safe travels! Cheers! ~Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Very peaceful place. Room was large, newly renovated, very clean and smelled good! Our room had a balcony. Pool with mineral water. Coffee maker in the room and complimentary coffee in the lobby. The reason of my 4 / 5 is that no restaurant on site, no breakfast. There is a microwave in the lobby, but with a toaster, it would be a good thing to make our breakfast by ourself.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Helene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn P, Guest Relations Manager at UpValley Inn & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thank you for the great review! We love hearing that our guests like our new rooms and the rest of the amenities we provide. While we don’t serve breakfast, our staff is happy to recommend local favorites, and we will consider adding a toaster to our front lobby for guest use. I hope we will have the privilege of hosting you again! Cheers ~ Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights due to its proximity to the wineries that we were interested in visiting. The staff was amazing: so friendly and helpful! When we entered our room, it was clean, organized, and very comfortable! The bed was something special. The mineral pool and steam room put the icing on the cake. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you’re in the area. You won’t regret it!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn P, Guest Relations Manager at UpValley Inn & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you for the amazing review! We’re so happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay during your trip to Wine Country. It was great to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, especially the new beds, and the newly renovated steam room and sauna. I hope you will visit with us again next time you are in Calistoga Wine Country! Cheers! Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

Calistoga is a nice town and this is a perfectly suitable accomdation. Just a little out of downtown. Newly remodelled with a mineral water pool. AC worked great and the bed was comfortable. The front desk guy was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I prefer off of the street though it is not a busy street.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn P, Guest Relations Manager at UpValley Inn & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. It was so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I’m glad our staff was able to provide you with great customer service and that you were able to enjoy our 100% mineral hot springs pool and hot tub. I hope you will think of visiting with us again next time you are in Wine Country! ~Cheers! Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

UpValley Inn & Hot Springs is newly renovated just north of downtown Calistoga and offers easy access to Napa Valley (South on CA 128/29), and Sonoma Valley via Petrified Forest/Calistoga Roads. The main road through Napa Valley is combined CA 128 and CA 29, which split in Calistoga. Lincoln Ave is the same as CA 29 which is the Main Street in Calistoga for shops and restaurants. UpValley is about 1/2 mile outside of the downtown area for Calistoga, which puts you within walking or a short drive from all the shops and restaurants. Although we stayed in a completely renovated room, they may still be completing renovations in the south side of the UpValley Inn complex. There is ample free parking in their lots. I would estimate the clientele were 1/3 business and 2/3 tourists.

The rooms are nicely furnished with many great features including: excellent lighting, good shower, an excellent refrigerator, wine glasses, Keurig coffee machines, good air conditioning, nice shades, and a balcony with comfortable Adirodack style chairs with a table, and plenty of outlets for charging electronics. Everything is new and clean. Our room was on the second floor of the Lincoln Ave side of the building, which meant it was shaded in the afternoon, quiet comfortable, and actually relatively quiet.

The layout of the hotel is basically two sides of rooms parallel to Lincoln Avenue with a courtyard in the middle. On the north end is the office which also has a Starbucks Coffee machine for coffee, tea, or hot chocolate; they also have ice water and trays if you want to take refreshments back to your room or sit at the tables in the courtyard. On the opposite (south) end of the complex from the office is the pool and spa area. The spa area includes a small swimming pool and also a jacuzzi, both filled with local mineral water. There is a small area providing cool water for drinking, pool towels, and also a sauna and scented (eucalyptus or menthol) steam room. Since these are one common area, all these areas can be enjoyed with your partner if desired.

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We met Kelly when we checked in and she was fantastic in the customer service department. The other gentleman was named Sean (maybe?) was also very helpful.

UpValley Inn does NOT serve breakfast. Knowing this, we stopped and picked up snacks before we arrived. There is a Cal Mart about 1/2 mile into Calistoga, which is upscale grocery and provides deli, salad bar, and breakfast supplies. If you are coming north in Napa, Dean and Deluca in St Helena also has a similar selection. Both are upscale (selection and cost). Another suggestion is to stop at Safeway in St. Helena (two blocks north and east of Gott's Roadside) and you can get your supplies at a reasonable cost.

Like many small California towns, Calistoga rolls up its sidewalks early. Most gift shops close by 6 pm, you might want to get ice cream from the sugar train before dinner (closes around 8 pm,) and restaurants are done by 10 pm. In fact, the spa area is closed at 10 pm as well. This is good since the road traffic is light, the resort is quiet and you get a good night's sleep in UpValley Inn's comfortable beds.

Room Tip: second floors have nice balconies, Lincoln Ave road side balconies are cooler to sit out.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank puremichigan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn P, Guest Relations Manager at UpValley Inn & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

I hope you will allow me to apologize for the delay in my response, but I wanted to thank you for writing such a thoroughly detailed review about your stay at UpValley Inn & Hot Springs. Your response accurately captured a lot about both UpValley Inn and Calistoga, and we appreciate the time you spent, especially since future guests read comments when deciding where to stay.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and all of the amenities we provide, like our in-room Keurig machines with Starbucks coffee, and our pool and hot tub filled with 100% geothermal hot springs water. I’m so happy you found your room to be comfortable and quiet. Thank you for taking the time to recognize Sean and Kelly, and the great customer service they work hard to provide.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and compliments. I hope you will think of UpValley Inn on future trips to Wine Country! Cheers! ~ Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews