We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was extraordinary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Staff was extraordinary!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel primariily because of the terrific reviews on TripAdvisor, and secondarily because of the low price we negotiated. We were there for 3 days to explore the wineries and great restaurants that make this area so appealing.
First we have to give credit where credit is due. Sean, the manager on duty, was outstanding! I don't think "no" was in his vocabulary. He did everything to make sure we were accommodated in every way. If Comfort Suites execs are checking these reviews, please make sure to give this manager the credit and money he deserves!
Now, on to the review. For the price, this hotel ticked off all the boxes. Close to town. We did walk to breakfast. Very comfortable beds and bedding. We actually bought pillows they were so great!
Clean and well maintained. We reported a shower problem and it was corrected when we returned the same day. Quiet. Good water pressure. Good breakfast with eggs, sausage and made to order waffles.
The reason I gave this hotel a very good, rather than an excellent is because it is not a place you want to spend much time in other than sleeping. But, the point of staying in this area is to be out at the wineries, little towns and restaurants, so this hotel fits the bill. I just think Comfort Suites could have built a better looking, less cheaply constructed place. The pool area is quite small and the common areas are dreary, including the view off the balconies. This is a shame, because with some improvement in landscaping and architectural details, this place would be so much nicer. Decking the courtyard, adding a fire pit, new outdoor furniture, lush landscaping and improved lighting would go a long way. We would have spent more time in these areas, drinking our wine and picnicking if these improvements were made.
I do recommend the hotel for the price, comfort and excellent staff for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main road if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    182
    62
    24
    19
See reviews for
103
193
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked for two nights for our famiy of two adults two kids (12 and 9) and enjoyed it so much we added another night as we couldn't bear to leave. Really clean and comfortable with a homely, hospitable feeling. Great rooms, really great breakfasts, lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room which were equally enjoyed by kids and adults. Great position for town whilst really quiet as on the edge of town (5 mins walk to centre). Fantastic value for money and incredibly friendlyhelpful staff. Can't praise it highly enough; the best place we have stayed in the USA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

affordable, clean, well kept! they have one of the few mineral springs water pool left in the calistoga area. the complementary breakfast is substantial: eggs, breakfast meat, fruit, waffles, assorted breads, yogurt, cereal and juices. it helps for a big family travelling for the summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latinforthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We love staying here. We've probably stayed here 8-10 times over the past 6-8 years when we travel to the area. The staff have always been super courteous. In fact, we've requested a specific room we like each time and have always been able to get it. They really take care to try to work with that stuff. One time the air unit wasn't working well and the young desk person Shawn took a few hours to find a fan that would work to help us. They are a great group. The room has always been very clean and bed is super comfortable. It is a nice quite place too, not many children. This past time though I thought the hot tub could be warmer. The pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna are all fantastic at the end of a day or break in between. Breakfast is really pretty good. Maybe a bit small but why waste a huge meal then with so many fantastic places to eat in the valley through the day? All you need is a small bite before the wine tasting begins!! Location is terrific, quieter.... just outside of town...very walkable which we do every morning to Calistoga Roasters for their super coffee. Mostly, you can't beat the price for that area!!! The one thing I would say negative is they have gone to more of a "enviro" friendly air control system. I like to be able to get my room down to 60...58 degrees if I want to sleep. Not sure that will change and won't affect me from going back but I wish they hadn't done it. You don't need a fancy place out here with all there is to do and this fits the bill perfectly...why spend $300-500 a night????

Room Tip: 216...on top floor and backside away from noise....bigger too....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHISKEYTIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Night help not helpful. Day help very helpful and courteous. Clean comfortable room, good bed and convenient to town...not located in downtown.
First place not inundated with young children in pool after 8 pm.
Jacuzzi not very hot.

Room Tip: If you cannot do stairs...request first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCalistoga, General Manager at Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We always strive to provide a welcoming, helpful, and accommodating style of service for our guests as many of the reviews on this site can attest to. I apologize that in this instance, this was not provided to you. I can only say that we will continue to strive for perfection in this area. As far as an elevator on site, along with every other hotel in the town, there are no elevators provided as all lodging facilities are two stories or less.

Safe journeys!

Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was very pleased with our accomodations at the Comfort Inn Calistoga. Very clean, comfortable bed, spacious room and lots to do within a small radius! An economical way to enjoy Calistoga wine country! The staff was very pleasant and helpful in giving tourist guidance for their visit. The breakfast bar was a nice spread and we were able to find healthy choices. We enjoy the pool which is fed by a mineral spring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a great stay for the money. As someone else mentioned Comfort Inn usually isn't anything special, and this place exceeded our expectations as well. It was quaint and tastefully decorated which gave it a cozy feel. It was also "very" clean which is our #1 priority. We received very friendly service which included a good recommendation for breakfast. For the price, it was a good find and we are definitely staying here when we come back to Napa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.1 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Property: Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Address: 1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary healing of Calistoga's geothermal mineral hot springs as you soak in our outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, followed by a relaxing turn in our steam room and dry sauna. Get your mornings started right with our fitness room and follow up your workout with our complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage and biscuits. We also offer offsite spa services and packages at a renowned Calistoga day spa, as well as meeting and events space for groups and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs Of The West Hotel Calistoga
Clarion Collection Calistoga
Clarion Collection Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing