We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basic OK lodging in upper wine country” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Basic OK lodging in upper wine country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here as there was not much else available on short notice in the Calistoga/St. Helena area for a cooking class at the nearby Culinary Institute of America.
The property is not very big, basically a motel in Calistoga. Similar to those other motels in smaller towns that offer free internet and the basic breakfast options (continental, some egg/sausage product, waffles), but with rooms that are rather worn.
Our room had no view (on the ground floor, so kept curtains closed), and was rather cold in February (particularly the bathroom) unless we kept the heater on, which with the fan shutting on and off was somewhat annoying (unless you set it to continuous fan, which I did not).
Did not partake of the mineral pool etc.
Overall, OK place to sleep a night, but I wouldn't consider it great for a real vacation unless you're really on a tight budget or have few other options.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    172
    61
    21
    15
See reviews for
97
181
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We have stayed in about 5 of the hotels in calistoga and our favorite is still the Indian Springs. BUT... It cost about 3 times as much as the Comfort inn and there is no breakfast (where the comfort inn had very good waffles). The people where fantastic and the rooms and bedding was great. It's a small walk to town but after drinking wine all day very necessary. We got an amazing deal with winter wine passes and went back to the same hotel 2 weeks later and used the passes some more.

Tips: get the waffles. turn the fridge off. try to not be a room by the pool. they stop serving the free breakfast at 10am. there is no snack machine, so bring snacks. Ask the front desk about winery deals.

All in all this place is a great deal in a fantastic town. WE LOVE CALISTOGA. so a room is a room pretty much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddSFBay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I'm always torn about how to review hotels that I visit on a special. Do I judge them based on their standard rate, or should I review them based on what I actually paid to stay there? I lean towards the former, and so I will judge this property based on it's advertised rate. On that scale I think it falls short. Admittedly it is an expensive area, but the property is dated and generic.

The hotel is functional, the staff is polite. It's within walking distance of downtown, but be aware that for half of that distance there is no sidewalk, there is just a very wide shoulder on the road.There is a complimentary breakfast, but on the morning I was there the lobby was so packed with guests it was a hassle. The coffee was so bland that my companion and I drove into downtown Calistoga to buy more acceptable coffee to start our day. (and I wouldn't consider us coffee snobs) The wood in some areas is showing it's age. A couple boards in the stairs were flexing quite a bit and a board on our balcony made me wary of standing on it. Speaking of the balcony: it was cute but it fronted the main road, so the main view was of cars and the glass didn't do much to block the sound of traffic, even at night.

Speaking of noise, the walls are very thin. While we couldn't make out words (thank goodness) we could tell every time the people in the room next to us were talking, or snoring.

The cleanliness was less than hoped for, with multiple hairs on the wall in the shower. It took almost 10 minutes for the water to turn warm in the morning. When we turned the heat on at night, the obvious scent was of barbecue sauce.

None of this would have mattered at a cheap motel. But for a Comfort Inn that charges this much per night, it was surprising. I wouldn't stay here at their listed rate.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CAScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent the night at the Comfort Inn January of 2012. Sean, the receptionist was friendly and helpful, the lobby was well lit and welcoming. Room was fine, with warm colors and comfortable bed, but the next morning when the pool was finally open (9:00 am opening is kind of late since checkout is 11:00) we trekked down to find the pool (which Sean explained was kept at 90 degrees, and the hot tub which was set to 104, were both much cooler. We huddled in the mineral water hot tub while staff turned up the heat. The entire pool area is in need of updating and cleaning. Mineral pools are hard to keep fresh looking, but these pools looked a little shoddy. Breakfast was average, checkout was easy. Would we go back? Probably not.

Room Tip: This is on the quiet end of town. Rooms are pretty quiet in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisefromnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel was clean, good variety for the free breakfast-we had a room in the back to avoid the street traffic noise-and it was quiet. Hotel is out of the hustle and bustle of downtown areas-
the front desk, Sean Sullivan, was extremely friendly and helpful. We would go back- and we got a senior rate of $98 + taxes.

Room Tip: Go for a quiet room in the back-
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We arrived after dark. The desk person made a dinner recommendation for us and it was wonderful. She also printed out our route to our next destination. We didn't have any time to spend in Calistoga but it looked very cute and would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaverfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great location, great price and surprisingly good ammenities. Mineral pool, whirlpool, dry sauna and steam room. Like a mini spa within a comfortable hotel and at the end of Lincoln Ave. so it is quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the setting is nice and quaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the road. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Property: Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Address: 1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary healing of Calistoga's geothermal mineral hot springs as you soak in our outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, followed by a relaxing turn in our steam room and dry sauna. Get your mornings started right with our fitness room and follow up your workout with our complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage and biscuits. We also offer offsite spa services and packages at a renowned Calistoga day spa, as well as meeting and events space for groups and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs Of The West Hotel Calistoga
Clarion Collection Calistoga
Clarion Collection Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing