We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Vie
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Solage, an Auberge Resort(Calistoga)
$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
EuroSpa & Inn(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bergson(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort(Calistoga)
$1,100
$1,000
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa(Calistoga)
$215
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort(Calistoga)
$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
497
8
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
8
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage houseb bcheese platethird floorhot tubsconesnapa valleyeach morningperfect hostsbed and breakfastnew york timesown winenever stay anywhere elsethe main houseamazing hospitalitycan't wait to go backgourmet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 510 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We arrived to CDV on a Friday, expecting to have a wonderful time in the Valley. Our stay in CDV was the highlight of the weekend, with a friendly service, good food, excellent and confortable room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseSanJuan_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

It is so hard to know where to start with CDV. We've stayed in some nice hotels in our life, but there is something very very special about this place. The area is stunning, the house and setting just beautiful, and the hosts - Peter & Philip - are too lovely for words. The place is spotless, and you feel like a houseguest... the breakfasts are beyond words, and to sit on the deck of an evening, glass of wine in hand, cheeseplate (with the most amazing homemade sun dried tomato tapenade) watching the sun go down with a view of vineyards and mountains - it is unexplainably lovely. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, it really should be at number one.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

What an amazing place! We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our recent stay at the CDV. Our room was in the carriage house had a private porch that was set right in the CDV's vineyard. A tray with a pot of the CDV's own blend of coffee was set outside our door every morning. What a lovely touch! Breakfast was served in the dining room of the inn the first morning of our stay due to the chilly morning. Breakfast was wonderful. Spectacular scones and that was just the first course. Whenever we mentioned where we were staying to the locals, they all mentioned Phillips's wonderful scones. The following 2 mornings we were able to dine outside on the deck enjoying the view of the vineyards. What a great way to start your day. There was a beautiful pool, but unfortunately the weather was too cool. We did enjoy the hot tub and were grateful for the big cozy robes provided in the guest rooms.
After a day of exploring and wine tasting it was nice to settle in on the deck to relax. Phillip would soon appear to offer a glass of wine and a complimentary cheese tray, just an example of the incredible level of personal service. We enjoyed sipping wine, reading and chatting with the other guests.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the CDV and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for a classy B & B with a very high level of service in a spectacular setting.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Wow! We've stayed at the Chateau twice (once in November, and once in April) and it's like staying at a five star hotel without the snooty valet and extra fees. This is not your lace doily and dusty antique filled inn with threadbare carpet and a lumpy mattress!

Everything about the facility is first class, from LCD television (with more channels than we have at home), fantastic comfortable bedding, new linens, exquisite bath soaps and other amenities to the stylish decor and furnishings. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the Jacuzzi and pool are clean and relaxing, even the patio furniture is beautiful (and all matches!). The views are fantastic. The carriage house is private and quiet, with a small deck overlooking the vineyards and a private outdoor table for breakfast in the sun. The cleaning staff would even keep my mother happy!

The innkeepers, Phillip and Peter, provide a warm welcome and have clearly thought of everything to make guests comfortable. If you need anything, they're available without hovering. The breakfasts are quite a departure from typical B&B fare....if you see a scone here it will be worth eating and likely in the company of an "over the top" gourmet breakfast. You won't need lunch reservations, but plan an early dinner instead!

Nigel, our Newfoundland Dog, is genuinely welcomed and enjoys his special plate of dog cookies at breakfast. There is no silly weight limit to the dog friendly policy here. If you stay with your pet, please pick up after him so this great inn remains hospitable to our canine friends. And ask to see the host's dog, Rocco, a charming Golden Retriever!

This is our new favorite in the Napa Valley!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Even though you do your research, you never know until you get to a place if it lives up to your expectations. I'm picky and not a big fan of B&B's (too beholden to the owner's quirks) but I have to say that Chateau de Vie exceeded my expectations. It's a beautiful and tasteful home, grounds, and surrounding vineyards. Plus, there's a superb attention to detail - it's obvious Peter and Philip know what they're doing and have refined things over the years - to their guest's benefit. We didn't get to meet Philip (did enjoy his great breakfasts though) but Peter was great - very service oriented (asked ahead of time for special requests -soy milk for my wife) and again, he paid attention to the details. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews