We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are you kidding?..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #2 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Are you kidding?..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place is AMAZING!
I can't imagine where the others must have stayed but it couldn't have been here, this is the most wonderful and inviting B and B we have ever stayed in.
The breakfast is a 5 star meal.
Please enjoy this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
359
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I would not recommend this place. I have traveled extensively and stayed at many B&B's. Chateau de Vie hosts were not around during our check in time (5 PM). When they did show up (we had to call and wait 20 minutes) they had no more than a few words to say other than handing us our keys and showing us our room. The "make yourself at home" welcome mat was not found here. Things seemed very unwelcoming. With all the other great places to stay in Calistoga, Sonoma or Napa I would not repeat my stay at this establishment. Breakfast was luck luster and hosts disappeared after landing a plate of Denny's Diner style food (never did return to say good bye or thank you). We were sure not to let the door hit us on the way out. Suggest the hosts travel to other b&b's to see how they can improve with guest services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeB3250, Owner at Chateau de Vie, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Our apologies for the expericence these guest had.
And we are a bit confused.
Our policy over the last 16 years is to always put our guest first, be more than gracious and always exceed our guest expectations. An Innkeeper is always on property and we go to great lengths to both interact with our guest and be antentive to there needs. Both our afternoon wine and cheese service in the afternoon and our breakfast in the morning is handled with great attention to detail in both it's preperation and presentation.
We have shared this review with our entire staff and are still left with the feeling that they may be confusing our property.
Nonetheless, we would love the opportuntnity to correct this with these guest and rest assurred it not our standard of service nor has it been in 16 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful B&B in Calistoga. The house is beautiful, the grounds are well manicured, and the breakfast rivals anything you can find in the top restaurants. We will definitely be back and highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franklin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our stay at CDV was a lovely getaway after a visit with our granddaughter. Our few days of quiet relaxation became so much more because of our kind hosts, Peter and Phillip. The room and amenities were outstanding, as mentioned by other reviewers, but the care and attention to detail of the innkeepers were exceptional. Peter was knowledgable in helping us make the most of our ( too short) visit by recommending sites and restaurants. Phillip prepared outstanding breakfasts. Our last morning when we sadly had to leave by 7:30, we were sent on our way with warm scones and fresh fruit salad and coffee. What a lovely way to start our hectic day! I cannot say enough positive things about our experience at CDV. We plan to return as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June and we couldn't have picked a better place! Our first impression was "wow, what a gorgeous setting!". The décor is very tasteful and gorgeous but yet you still feel comfortable. The back deck is set up so that you can sit with a glass of wine (always offered to you by Peter & Phillip) and look out at their vineyards. (BTW, the CDV wine is VERY good!) We were amazed at how they don't seem to miss a single detail. It is impossible to mention everything but to name just a few...there are CDV water bottles provided in your room. These can be filled with refreshing Calistoga water (out on the deck). Also on the deck is a small refrigerator with water and soda. They provide a bicycle rack (which came in handy for us) and Peter will gladly help you find some great riding trails/routes. The towels by the back door (for use in the hot tub & pool) are an extra nice touch. We were always offered a cheese/fruit tray if we were around late in the day. Peter & Phillip will gladly make any dinner reservations you like and if you're smart, you'll take their advice on where to go. When we checked online for a room, there was nothing available for our dates. But, when I called, we were able to be in one room for a couple of nights and then another for the duration of our visit. So, it's always a good idea to call if online rejects you. We were so happy we did, as we would have missed out on this gem!
I haven't even begun to describe everything, but as you can tell from the hundreds of reviews, you can't go wrong with this place! Now for the breakfasts..... simply put, they were amazing! They were so good that on our last day, we were facing a 15 hour drive home, but waited to leave until AFTER we ate so we didn't miss out. (They will also accommodate you if you want to eat earlier than their normal 9:00 breakfast). To name a few things we had.... always started with either scones, muffins, a gallete, or granola with yogurs and fruit. (Everything home made of course!). Then there is the main course of something wonderful.... our favorite was the green eggs & ham (poached egg over toasted crusty bread, topped with basil pesto and crispy prosciutto). There was so much food that I never finished a breakfast but wanted to!
We were so happy we chose this place and that Peter & Phillip welcomed us into their home for a week. Someday we'll be back and would stay no place else!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

CON - Phillip, one of the owners was extremely rude. He told us to make ourselves at home. We had asked when we arrived if it would be okay to play cards later on the back porch and he said it was fine and to completely make ourselves at home. Around 9pm we went out to the porch but it was completely dark back there. We turned a string of tea lights so we could see what we were doing. He came out and yelled at us! He told us there were other guests staying at the b&b and it was extremely rude to turn the lights on without asking. We tried to apologize, though we were not sure what exactly we did that was so awful. He would not take the apology but he continued to barrate us for another few minutes.It was bizarre and made us feel really awkward the rest of our time there. Needless to say we did not dare do anything after that! What a weirdo! If you are looking for hospitality this is not the place to find it. The owners never once thanked us for choosing their b&b or anything like that, no manners what-so-ever.

PRO - The location was gorgeous. The vineyard was small but nice to take a little walk around. The place is clean and beds were comfortable. While the breakfast was good, it was still awkward the next morning with Phillip and he was still rude to us. I will never go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kait F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeB3250, Owner at Chateau de Vie, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
As Innkeepers we are responsible for ALL of our guest. There have been times when it is our duty to step in for the safety and protection of them all, even if it turns out to not be the poplar choice when guests our enjoying all that the Napa Valley has to offer..... We wish these guest many SAFE travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I cannot tell you one thing that we did not like about this beautiful property (ok...maybe the little lizard-gecko things that ran around but nobody can control that)! We decided to splurge and stay in the carriage house. I am sure all the rooms in the main house are amazing but WOW...the carriage house was breathtaking. Both my husband and I said we could live there. It has a huge bed, a little bar area, huge bathroom and and enormous closet. The room was always impeccable as well as the main house. As a resident of the carraige house, we had our own little breakfast table which was fun. We aren't always up for socializing so it was nice to have our own area.

Now the best part. THE FOOD!!! I cannot rave enough about the food! It was fresh, unique and absolutely delicious. They catered to my vegetarian needs with no problems. We literally could barely eat lunch because breakfast is too big. Expect an "appetizer" of muffins or scones and then the main course. There is also wine available all day to sip on and don't be afraid to ask for a cheese plate, it is outstanding! They also gave us some pomegranate iced tea while we lounged by the pool. My suggestion, Peter and Philip need to put out a cookbook with all of their recipes. I would love to make some of it at home!

Take a walk in their vineyards while the sun is going down and take it all in. It is truly an amazing place to stay with outstanding innkeepers. Don't even consider anywhere else in Calistoga.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
7.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
5.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
2.2 mi away
Luxe Calistoga
Luxe Calistoga
#3 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Property: Chateau de Vie
Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing