We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tasty pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Prima Pizza

La Prima Pizza
Ranked #36 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice tasty pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

La prima pizza does not pretend to be more than it advertises; a pizza place. The pizza's we ordered were hot, tasty and had a nice crust. The beer was ice cold, as we asked.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dutch170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always on the lookout for great pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our family loves pizza. We would eat it every day if we could. This place is very cute and a welcome stop while in the area but the pizza could be so much more. We are very picky about the crust. It's not just the bottom, it can have an amazing flavor. This one had no flavor. The margarita pizza we ordered was ok but in this area I'm looking for the food to be amazing. With so many chefs around they should hire one to create a better crust and teach them how to make the best pizza ever. This place has a lot of seating outside. During the harvest I can see this place being packed with people seeking out comfort food after a day of tasting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst pizza ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We were out visiting local wineries and saw this restaurant and had a taste for pizza. We ordered the Margherita pizza. There was very little, tasteless sauce and way too much tasteless cheese. The crust tasted similar to a store bought pre-made crust. It takes effort to make bad pizza and this was literally the worst we have ever had--and we eat a lot of pizza!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Calistoga - Pizza to Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We picked up 3 pizzas to feed a staff of 6 for lunch. It was the best pizza I have had in a long time. The Creamy Garlic Chicken and Margerita were different enough that we pleased everyone! Very convenient to Solage location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Aldo's Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a better than franchise pizza place, but not incredible either. The best thing on the menu is the Aldo's special. it has pesto, jalepeno, Linguisia Sausage and Salami. Stay away from the Clam and Garlic pie, the Pepperoni is my second favorite.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chef_Zeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Prima Pizza also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to La Prima Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing