We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect few days in wine country”
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
middlebury in
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect few days in wine country”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had 2 cottages in July at cottage grove. Donna and her staff are perfect. Any questions, they had the answer. Breakfast was I clouded as was wine and cheese in the evening. Both were wonderful.
The cottages were perfect. Very quiet and lovely!! Each one s different and all our beautiful. Could not have asked for a more relaxing few days for my family!!
Please don't miss this wonderful place if you are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you boxwiley for sharing your perfect review with our future guests!
We're so glad to hear that everything was perfect for you and your family members, it was such a pleasure hosting everyone! Each individual cottage is uniquely decorated with carefully selected fabric patterns and matching theme giving each cottage that home away from home feeling.
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Best,
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    48
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
408
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

we spent 3 nights at the cottage grove in and it was phenomenal. the rooms were immaculate and spacious and had any commodity you could ever want in an accommodation. the employees were super friendly and helpful. i would absolutely stay here again...in fact, i'm not sure i'd stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcandashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Wow, marcandashley!
"Phenomenal" is more than we could ask for, we are thrilled that you fully enjoyed your 3-night stay with us! Visiting the Napa Valley in the summer is truly a special opportunity and we're so glad you had time to explore and indulge in all that is offered. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we will look forward to your next stay with us!

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you want a place to escape from the hustle and bustle, this is a perfect spot - especially for couples. The cottages are clean, nicely decorated inside and out, and we liked everything about this place. The included breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit, cereal, waffles, juices and coffee/espresso drinks. The staff was friendly and helpful. Take advantage of the bicycles they have available and go for a ride around town, or take a short walk up the street to the downtown area. Many good wineries only a short drive / bike ride away. Pick a DVD and watch a movie in your cottage with nice sound, or simply stream some background music while you enjoy your little home away from home. If you want a pool / fitness center, then look elsewhere...but for relaxing this is one of the best places we've ever stayed anywhere.

Room Tip: the most interior cottages, adjacent to the office, offer the best afternoon shade, but the entire p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much TXRocker for taking the time to share your "couples" experience with our future guests! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all the Cottage Grove Inn has to offer. We couldn't agree with you more that we have the best place to relax and unwind. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Best,
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised to find CG listed under B&Bs on this site, but I suppose due to its size it makes sense. I usually think of B&Bs as rooms with a larger house where you inevitably run into other guests and the owners. You have much more privacy here due to the freestanding cottages & can take your breakfast (which actually is great) back to your room on a tray. There is also a decent wine & cheese hour, and again, you can indulge on your private porch. Love, love, love this place to be honest--almost as if wine country is an excuse to stay here & not the other way around!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much KMartinez for your kind comments and taking the time to review Cottage Grove Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your individual cottage and the privacy that comes with it. Take care and we hope to see you again!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Absolutely amazing stay. Just a few blocks from downtown Calistoga, Cottage Grove Inn felt very secluded, peaceful and unbelievably relaxing. Spent every evening on the front porch enjoying a bottle of wine with my wife. The cottage was very clean and it even had an entertainment center that you could stream music through. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had. Waffles made to order, cappuccino machine and all sorts of fresh goodies. Not a single complaint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyVegas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
And we look forward to your return MattyVegas1!
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Cottage Grove Inn, and thank you for sharing your thoughts and wonderful photos with our future guests. Sitting on the cottage porch is also one of my favorite spots to enjoy the evening breeze and sip a glass of wine.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved our 2 night stay at Cottage Grove Inn and will definitely be back! Quiet, relaxing cottages and inn - all very clean, well maintained and very nicely furnished. The breakfast and wine and cheese gathering in the evening were wonderful - we so enjoyed sitting out on the patio planning our day, sipping wine, reading. All the staff was gracious and friendly. Even though we didn't have time to take the complimentary bikes out for a "winery tour" ride - we loved the idea and hope to take advantage of it next time. This property is a little gem!

Room Tip: Cottages are along either side of a curved drive. "Interior" cottages as compared to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julespro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Julespro,
We appreciate you taking the time share your thoughtful comments and review with our future guests. The complimentary bikes are definitely a must during your next visit. We're always happy to create an itinerary for your biking adventure to the nearby wineries. Each bike comes with a helmet, lock and there is a backpack in each cottage that you can pack a picnic in. Riding around the vineyards of the Napa Valley is absolutely magical.
Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again!

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. The bed was like a nest - we never wanted to leave it. The staff were lovely and accommodating and the cottages had everything you could want. Spotless!! Great 2-hour wine and cheese and terrific breakfast. Only complaint was the shower which was dingy and had an awful rain shower head. But otherwise this place is just awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdmjrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you Mdmjrs for taking the time to share about your stay with our future guests.
We had just installed the new Shower Heads and have had great response to them. I'm sorry you did not enjoy them. We do however have a Hand Held Shower Nozzle available in Cottgae 17 if that might fit your needs a little better. That shower is a lot larger as well.

Thank you again for the positive comments and I hope you had a nice time visiting everyone while you were here.

Take care,
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Property: Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a buffet breakfast of fried potatoes, frittatas, breakfast egg bagel sandwiches, homemade waffles, fruit smoothies, pastries, specialty coffee drinks, and much more. Sit out on orr patio, an oasis landscaped with fountains and birdhouses beneath towering elms. Linger with an espresso on your private porch or join friends in our sunny breakfast room as you gaze into our lush gardens. Looking for local activities? Grab one our complimentary bikes and ride to Napa Valley wineries along scenic roads, or stroll to nearby shops and tasting rooms. Then relax and restore in a geo-thermal pool at one of the local spas. In the evening, create memories at our wine and cheese reception, where guests mingle on our lovely patio as they enjoy carefully selected artisan cheeses and favorite local wines. For a private alternative, snuggle up in front of your own wood-burning fireplace for an evening of romance. Rest, restore, and remember at the Cottage Grove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing