We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Truly Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Truly Special Place”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've been going to Cottage Grove Inn every few years or so for special occasions since back in the days when the cottages had individual themes such as “Fly Fishing” (our first time was in that one!) While the cottages no longer have those cutesy themes (kinda miss ‘em, though!), each one has its own special character. Each cottage stands alone so you never share a wall with anyone. Each has a parking space directly adjacent or right across the driveway. Our cottage this time - #17 – provided another special experience with the amenities we’ve come to expect and enjoy: deep soaking two-person tub, shower (with a reliable supply of hot water for both), heat and AC as well as ceiling fan, small refrigerator, fireplace, full entertainment system with generous channel line-up, extremely comfortable king bed, two very soft and comfy lounge chairs with ottomans, smooth, warm-colored hardwood floors, warm, dimmable incandescent lighting throughout, a desk and chair, and a lovely entrance with chairs and extra firewood on the front porch. Beyond all of that are the small details that make this place even more special: they provide robes, slippers, excellent EO soaps and lotions, a fully-stocked honor bar, postcards with free postage, nice, understated décor, a picnic backpack with everything you need, a folder full of GREAT information about Napa restaurants, hikes and wineries, free bicycles for borrowing, and it's absolutely spotless clean. Not to mention the 3-4 wines and 5-6 cheeses along with several types of crackers you receive each evening FREE between 5:00 – 7:00 p.m., and the excellent FREE continental breakfast with seasonal fruits, homemade granola, toast, fresh-made waffles, hand-made coffee drinks (lattes, espressos, etc), infused water, milk, OJ, etc. Finally, the property is a SHORT walk to downtown Calistoga and right across from Indian Springs Resort and features very beautiful and well-maintained landscaping including 50+ foot trees throughout. 8+ foot partitions between the cottages, along with the lovely landscaping and smart layout, make this small resort feel miles away from civilization, despite the fact that it’s right next to Lincoln Avenue. Beyond everything else, we are always treated with the utmost courtesy by EVERYONE from the management to the breakfast attendants to the cleaning and landscaping staff. We even got a special bottle of sparkling wine for our 17th anniversary! We keep coming back because the folks at Cottage Grove continue to maintain a high level of quality and a personal touch that we appreciate, and we LOVE Calistoga and its quaint, quiet charm. It’s not cheap, but we always wonder why they don’t charge even MORE (hope they won’t!) as we believe it's worth it for a special occasion. There’s a reason that the ratings for Cottage Grove Inn are almost universally 4s and 5s and that the VERY few 2s and 1s are given for petty reasons that don’t have anything to do with the quality of the actual stay. We can’t recommend Cottage Grove Inn any higher.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jared G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Wow! Jared thank you for such a long and thorough review of Cottage Grove Inn. I don't think you missed one thing!
We're so grateful you come back and stay with us every few years and we're happy you had another wonderful stay in the Napa Valley.
Take care and thank you again from the bottom of our hearts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    47
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
405
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel does everything right. The rooms are immaculate, individual bungalows, nicely appointed with a wonderful bed and perfect bedding, a deep soaking jet tub, entertainment system, fireplace, and heat/a/c and ceiling fan.They provide a delicious breakfast, with a full continental breakfast ready to go, and staff in the kitchen to make waffles and smoothies to order. The wine and cheese offering in the afternoon was delightful, rounded out with fresh fruit, crackers, and some divine culinary jams and jellies. They even have a dvd library from which you can borrow freely. The location is quiet, yet close enough to either walk to downtown or hop on one of their loaner cruiser bikes, again included in the price of your room.

The staff was friendly and professional, and we will definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghuener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was me and my boyfriend of 10 years we stayed for one night and the place was absolutely fantastic, clean, the nicest people working and everything was romantic and calming. W drive in from San Francisco just for the night and this fabulous cottage with. All of the amenities made our stay fantastic, we will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Staying at a Bed & Breakfast/ Inn in the Napa Valley really adds to your entire visit; thank you Mary Anne for your thoughtful comments. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Cottage Grove Inn is a lovely alternative to a hotel. There are approx 16 free standing cottages with parking next to the cottage or very close by. The cottages are quaint and comfortable, very well appointed, nice and welcoming. We lit a fire in the fireplace with wood and starter paper supplied on our front porch next to comfortable chairs, opened the complimentary bottle of chardonnay, enjoyed the complimentary cheese and cracker plate and relaxed.
The comp. breakfast buffet was delicious. Choices of quiche, pastries, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit coffee, tea and more. Also available are comp. bicycles. There are designated smoking areas away from the cottages, they're cute little gazebos!! Birdhouses and bird feeders everywhere.
We will definitely be going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We were in cottage 7, but it seems that all cottages are in good location. It's a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised when we drove into Cottage Grove Inn. The cottages were so cute, and the staff was knowledgable. I purchased my stay on Groupon and am very happy we did!

The place is very clean, and beds extremely comfortable. I love the breakfast and wine and cheese they provide. The individual fireplaces and tubs are great!

The only thing they need to improve on is the decor. Giving the cottages a more updated look on the interior of the cottages would bring in more money.

Overall, great stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you Nicole for the kind comments and great review we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our French country decor was specifically chosen by our interior decorator, rather than a modern decor, to complement the architectural design of the cottages exterior.
Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit to the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for my husband's birthday. Have been walking by the property for years, and finally thought it was time to stay - so glad we did! It was definitely the best choice for us---quiet, private and friendly. Wine and cheese tasting was great, as were the breakfasts. Loved the wood burning fireplace and the down bedding ---- could live in the bathroom it was so big! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We're glad you stayed with us too! Cottage Grove Inn is such a unique place to stay in the Napa Valley, our guests really enjoy the individual cottages and privacy that you touched on Shrna.
The large bathroom with dual vanity and jacuzzi tub for two is also a big favorite among guests.
Thank you for taking the time to review Cottage Grove Inn and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

These cottages are so awesome. It was one of the best places we have ever stayed at. The cottage was most excellent. The evening wine and cheese tasting and the breakfast in the morning is so worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 166MarilynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you Mariyln for taking the time to review Cottage Grove Inn, we're so glad to hear you had an "Awesome" time. We know you have many choices to pick from when staying in the Napa Valley and we appreciate you choosing us! We look forward to your next "Awesome" visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
401 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Property: Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a buffet breakfast of freshly baked quiche, homemade waffles, fruit smoothies, pastries, and specialty coffee drinks on our patio, an oasis landscaped with fountains and birdhouses beneath towering elms. Linger with an espresso on your private porch or join friends in our sunny breakfast room as you gaze into our lush gardens. Looking for local activities? Grab one our complimentary bikes and ride to Napa Valley wineries along scenic roads, or stroll to nearby shops and tasting rooms. Then relax and restore in a geo-thermal pool at one of the local spas. In the evening, create memories at our wine and cheese reception, where guests mingle on our lovely patio as they enjoy carefully selected artisan cheeses and favorite local wines. For a private alternative, snuggle up in front of your own wood-burning fireplace for an evening of romance. Rest, restore, and remember at the Cottage Grove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing