We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #4 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I got a groupon for Cottage Grove Inn and just stayed there last week. AMAZING! Did Not want to check out! Charming,cozy cute and friendly staff! Breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon. We got there late the first night to check in and they even made sure we had wine and cheese in our room when we arrived! The jacuzzi tub was huge and a treat every night. We lite the fireplace daily and did not even want to leave our beautiful room for our whole stay! So quite, no children under 12 allowed to stay for all you folks without kids and want a tranquil quite get away!
So close to the Main St., nearby wineries. petrified forest and Geyser. Go try Solbar for lunch or dinner. We got a recommendation at the Calistoga olive oil company that proved to be the best meal ever! I am telling everyone who goes to Calistoga to stay at the Cottage Grove Inn. My brother lives in CA an hour away from here and we showed him the room and he and his wife were impressed and want to go stay sometime.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trula66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Near the center of Calistoga, close to Main Street you will find Cottage Grove Inn. Like Trula66 mentioned there are many Napa Valley attractions close by to enjoy.The private setting at Cottage Grove is one of many that sets us apart, its a getaway, your own spacious cottage to relax in, somewhere you want to stay for a long time.
Thank you for the review and for sharing your experience with your family, we look forward to seeing you all next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 560 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for our anniversary in December. The location was perfect - steps away from the "main" street which was full of great restaurants also only shuttle service and bike ride away from wineries. We got an in-room couples massage that left us in pure bliss. This was followed by a romantic bubble bath in their over-sized double-person soaking tub. Wine and cheese happy hour was great - a bit too quiet for our personality, but we just took it back to our cottage. The privacy of the cottage was great! The bed was SO comfortable. The morning breakfast is great!! Smoothies, oatmeal, fresh waffles - delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vannessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We couldn't have said it better our selves, thank you Vanessa! We feel very special when couples choose to stay with us and celebrate their special occasions, and for that reason we offer many different packages to fit the moment.
Maybe there is a proposal in the future? Or Honeymoon? We've created specials for these purposes that include champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries and a fresh bouquet of flowers upon check-in. A great way to celebrate and show that special someone how much they mean.
We appreciate Vanessa taking the time to review us and we look forward to celebrating another special occasion soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not sure how anyone could find fault with this B & B as it is perfect in every way. My husband and I have traveled extensively and this place rates near the top. I have many reviews on this site and cannot find enough adequate words to describe such an excellent Inn. The cottage rooms are warm, inviting, very well appointed with beautiful decor and amenities. Each cottage has a front porch with chairs, some have their own fountains and private sitting area. The fireplace inside is such a wonderful treat, as well as the huge jet tub. Wonderful interior canned lighting with dimmers, sky lights, quality linens, excellent bed pillows and mattress, nice bath products. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room. The list goes on and on. Owners pay attention to details including plush robes, slippers, umbrella, picnic basket, closet safe, mini refrig., coffee maker, great books and magazines, plus bikes to ride. They provide a nice wood tray to collect your breakfast if you want to take it back to your cottage and enjoy a private morning meal. The breakfast room is quite pleasant with a nice assortment of items including some hot food. They have a lovely gift shop in the lobby with great assortment of quality decor and gift items. Customer service over and beyond the call of duty. We forgot to put out our sign for service after leaving our cottage for the day. We called the office late in the afternoon and a cleaning staff made the room up, which was such a great surprise after coming back late in the evening to find a perfect cottage, rather than an unmade bed. They will put free postage on your postcards. The Inn provides discount coupons for local wine tasting and dining spots. Wine, fruit, cheese, crackers and spreads available in late afternoon. Honestly, it does not get any better than this place. Do note that if you have come to Calistoga for the mud bath, mineral water experience then you will not have it here, but otherwise there is no better place to stay in the area. Close enough to walk a few minutes to quaint down town main street. So much charm - just go there!!!

Room Tip: Cottage 2 and Cottage 3 have nice fountain and patio area in front of each unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We can not thank DMR enough for her amazing review of Cottage Grove Inn. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed another visit to the Napa Valley while staying with us. DMR touched on the many amenities that we offer and provide for our guests. Thank you again for sharing and we will look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a charming Inn with cozy cabins. Our disappointment was probably due to the fact that we booked it on Luxury Link where it was described as more upscale than it was. It was clean and comfortable and friendly. Calistoga is not an upscale area of Napa - at least not the downtown, which is where the Inn is. That is fine, but it was a very different experience than, say, Sonoma.
It depends what you want.
Again, nothing against this Inn which was cute and clean and friendly with a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, however LUXURY LINK is the name of the Company not necessarily the VISION of each property. We are located in a small quaint spa town of 4,000 people which would of course be very different than the big city of New York.
We're surrounded by beautiful country sides and vineyards, great wines and restaurants. We're two blocks walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants and spas that guests enjoy, they can ride bikes or walk safely around. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your pleasant comments towards the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here about ten years ago and hadn't realized it was taken over by new owners until this weekend when we made another visit. Night and day. Each cottage is immaculately maintained, down to the fire all ready to be lit in the fireplace. Lush bedding. A deep jacuzzi. Most amazing of all was the breakfast! Waffles, fruit, cappuccino, fluffy/creamy quiche, a huge urn of flavored waters for self serve (lime/cucumber on day, cantaloupe/orange the next). Great recommendations and itineraries for five days. All told, a great weekend! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were in Cottage 11 but they're all the same, methinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We're glad you had the opportunity to return to Cottage Grove Inn and see the changes made. We do our very best to think about every detail from when you first arrive down to the moment you unfortunately have to depart. They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we here at Cottage Grove Inn don't take that lightly. Our complimentary breakfast consists of a variety of healthy options to choose from along with made to order waffles, fruit smoothies, cappuccino and our guest favorite, the fresh local breakfast quiche.

In the evenings don't miss our complimentary wine and cheese tasting that is always a hit! Learn about the different wineries in the Napa Valley and make a plan to visit a few.
We appreciate Lesley Q. taking the time to share her experience and we'll look forward to hosting her next time - just don't let 10 years go by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It's become my new favorite place to stay. The front desk staff were over the top helpful by getting us into a cottage early, we arrived in a huge rainstorm on Sunday way before check in because we were worried about crossing over from Santa Rosa during the flash flood warnings. We were able to get into a cottage before noon and get out of our wet clothing which was very much appreciated.

When we got into our place we were very happy with the cozy surroundings, big chairs in front of a laid fire, beautiful deep soaking jacuzzi tub, nice big bathroom and super comfy bedding on the bed. Bath salts for the bath, lovely soft robes, slippers, a nice little coffee set up and a tiny stocking stuffed with Christmas chocolates. They even have a backpack for wine picnics and a big umbrella in the closet, I can't say enough about how they have made it all so homey, the attention to detail was amazing. We made a quick trip into town to pick up a few nibbles, came home and got into that tub with a glass of wine after lighting the fire, (which they make very easy), after that I didn't want to go out again for anything, not even dinner or the complimentary wine and cheese they host every night. I didn't want to miss any of the experience. We curled up in front of the fire until we finally fell asleep. The bed is also extremely comfortable and the sheets and pillows are soft. After coffee in the morning we went over to the breakfast room, where Tom had the best quiche he's ever tasted, as well as a freshly made waffle, I enjoyed fruit and a latte since I'm gluten intolerant, but it all looked and smelled amazing. We are definitely going to be back to stay here every time we visit the Calistoga area. It's a bit on the pricey end, but if you consider it includes WiFi, parking, breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening I think it's well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montecoreOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for the thoughtful review, we're so pleased to be your new favorite place to stay in Calistoga. We're glad you took notice of all the special touches here at Cottage Grove Inn and got to enjoy the jacuzzi tub. With room for two, a glass of wine and the bath salts provided what a way to enjoy a rainy day! We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Of the many small hotels and B&Bs around the word I've been to, Cottage Grove in is the best. I could find no fault with any aspect, from the smallest detail to the general ambience. The hospitality, the food, the rooms, location, and the owner, are all the best!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We thank this guest for their kind recommendation, and we greatly appreciate terrypat taking the time to let others know how much they enjoyed their stay at Cottage Grove Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Aurora Park Cottages
Aurora Park Cottages
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Address: 1711 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: $312 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a full breakfast daily and wine pairing in the evening of local Calistoga wines. Relax, Rejuvenate and Revive at Cottage Grove Inn on your next trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing