We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best I've been to!”
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best I've been to!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Of the many small hotels and B&Bs around the word I've been to, Cottage Grove in is the best. I could find no fault with any aspect, from the smallest detail to the general ambience. The hospitality, the food, the rooms, location, and the owner, are all the best!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We thank this guest for their kind recommendation, and we greatly appreciate terrypat taking the time to let others know how much they enjoyed their stay at Cottage Grove Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    48
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
408
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a great time staying at the Cottage Grove Inn in Calistoga. Wonderful room, nice breakfast. Enjoyed the wine and cheese snacks in the early evening. The fireplace was real, which was a nice surprise. Looking forward to staying there again when the weather warms up, and taking the complimentary bikes for a little ride.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerliliA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Oh yes, the Napa Valley in the Spring is a must! The valley is in full effect and the beautiful colors will only amaze you, guests really enjoy taking the complimentary bikes to a number of nearby wineries or downtown for a late lunch. In each cotttage you will also find a backpack which you can carry wine, glasses and delicious foods in and enjoy a fun picnic in the sun. We look forward to your return and the warmer weather too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary at the inn. Cottages are cosy, clean and very private. The detailed ammenities including fireplace and jacuzzi tub made the stay very comfortable.We enjoyed the breakfast though it was basic. They also have wine and cheese every evening and provide complimentary bikes & dvds. Staff is very co-operative. We had a great time. Calistoga is a very peaceful place and the cottages make the stay memorable. If you plan ahead of time you can get some good deals on groupon, yelp and even on their website.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Visiting the Napa Valley is just magical in the winter time isn't it !? There are so many fun holiday events going on and in the evening the valley is lit up with lights and festive decorations. The winter is also a great time to enjoy the fire place and the 2 person jacuzzi tub that is in each of our cottages. Enjoying a glass of wine or cup of coffe infront of your personal wood burning fire place is just the best.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your Anniversary!
We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The cottages are very cute and cozy. They are extremely clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was limited and the same everyday, but the service by the housekeeper was excellent.
Donna the manager is not very good at customer service, very disappointed with her and the only reason we won't stay here again, or recommend this Inn to others.
Prior to our visit we received two email offers, one for a 2 Night Romance Package and another for $100 off a night.
So I booked the romance package and one extra night. I asked them to apply the $100 to the extra night, and the person helping me said shed have to ask Donna, but didn't see why not as I was paying full price for that night. Donna called me back and said no we can't honor both offers. I asked if the coupon indicated this ie cannot be combined with another offer or one offer per stay, she said no but it's was their rule.
For some reason I still booked it! Upon checking out I discovered I was overcharged. I called Donna about overcharging me and she argued for a few minutes befor saying unopologetically, it was entered into the computer incorrectly. She is rude and has zero customer service skills.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Psalm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
With one reservation you could either choose the "Winter Romance Package" or the "Thank You Letter $100" for being a previous guest discount, per reservation. As all companies have their guests choose one or another.

Management did apologize for an inconvenience this may have caused and again we're terribly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went there late fall/ early winter for a girls weekend. The cottages are great. Big jacuzzi tub, fireplace, seating area and the details were appreciated (umbrellas for the very wet weekend, bikes, and a little picnic bag that even had a pouch for wine). It is expensive but the service was definitely lacking and there is a huge push for tips (as another reviewer mentioned). After we checked in, we were given a folder with lots of great information and that was it. Any other time I looked for help I felt I had to hunt for it. We went to the wine and cheese hour in the evening that starts at 5. We arrived at 5:15 and some of the varieties of cheese, crackers and jams were already out and were never replaced. The initial quantities also seemed anorexic at best (for example 2 tbs of each jam). Breakfast was also disappointing. The only hand made food item was a quiche that was never ready until a half hour after service started. There are waffles, but its like a Comfort Inn. The only difference is that you don't pour it out yourself. The breakfast pastries are store bought and only 1 variety of each yogurt was put out. I tried to get a second vanilla with no luck. The highlight of breakfast was the fresh fruit with a newspaper by the fireplace. I did get a deal through Vacationist and I did go off season, but I still feel it was a tad pricey. I thought Calistoga was beautiful, and I hope to return, but I will probably look into staying someplace else.

Room Tip: There are differences in between the cabins. We got one that had 2 twin beds for a girls weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joey1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
How fun, a girls weekend in the Napa Valley! We love to hear when guests appreciate the attention to detail that each cottage has to offer. The winter is a great time to enjoy the big jacuzzi tubs and the wood burning fire places to keep you warm.
Our lovely homemade quiche and pastries are made fresh at a Calistoga bakery, we always do our best to stay local.
We're glad you had the opportunity to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently returned from our third stay at Cottage Grove Inn. The cottages are lovely, well appointed and very well kept. We enjoyed both the evening wine and cheese reception and the breakfast each morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. The town of Calistoga provides a more laid back atmosphere in Napa valley, and we found many great wineries nearby. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyn1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Napa Valley in the Fall has to be my favorite time of year! The leaves turn such vibrant colors, its a little cooler in the air and it makes the wine taste that much better. We enjoy creating unique winery experiences for our guests, whether it be taking our complimentary bikes or taking a private wine tour we'll come up with a great itinerary based on your interests. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've been staying there for 10 years or so. We don't even look anywhere else. They are comfortable, have the best beds and pillows ever! All amenities that we like. They're friendly and it is not a typical B&B where you are piled into one house with a bunch. It's much more private and quiet.

Great concept, great execution. We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynewalker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
It means so much that you always return to Cottage Grove Inn each year!
We always enjoy having you and we hope that each stay brings you a new Napa Valley experience. We pride ourselves on making our guests comfortable in every way. We took our time researching all aspects of the sleeping experience and found the best bed/mattresses and pillows. Having a private cottage makes all the difference when you want to enjoy your Napa Valley retreat. Thank you for sharing and we will look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Property: Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a buffet breakfast of fried potatoes, frittatas, breakfast egg bagel sandwiches, homemade waffles, fruit smoothies, pastries, specialty coffee drinks, and much more. Sit out on orr patio, an oasis landscaped with fountains and birdhouses beneath towering elms. Linger with an espresso on your private porch or join friends in our sunny breakfast room as you gaze into our lush gardens. Looking for local activities? Grab one our complimentary bikes and ride to Napa Valley wineries along scenic roads, or stroll to nearby shops and tasting rooms. Then relax and restore in a geo-thermal pool at one of the local spas. In the evening, create memories at our wine and cheese reception, where guests mingle on our lovely patio as they enjoy carefully selected artisan cheeses and favorite local wines. For a private alternative, snuggle up in front of your own wood-burning fireplace for an evening of romance. Rest, restore, and remember at the Cottage Grove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing