We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christopher's Inn is simply the best!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
South San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Christopher's Inn is simply the best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed at Christopher's Inn for our honeymoon. When we mentioned to Adela (the owner) that we were on a honeymoon, she upgraded our room to a honeymoon suite and for free!!! Wow, that was really nice!!! Adela is such a wonderful person and gave us an exceptional customer service! She even took time to show us the Map of Calistoga and gave us tips on what's the best place to visit and tour around. Because of her tips we've seen the best wineries and even the ones that were hidden! The honeymoon suite was cozy and beautiful, we felt at home!! We are looking forward for our next vacation at Christopher's Inn!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaMoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    168
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
41
310
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Wanted to stay and successfully made a reservation on-line. got a cancellation notice a few hours later. The web site is NOT in sync with the real reservations. Call directly to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christophersinn, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Some weekends do require a two night stay with a Saturday night stay in our busiest season. This is clearly stated on our website to avoid confusion. This guest was very disappointed and truly wanted to stay with us as she had heard so many good reviews about us, but as we had such limited availability on the Saturday night she wanted to stay, we could not fulful her wishes. We try very hard to work with our clients, and offered many other options, however, none of the choices appeared to work for this guest who indicated she would post a negative review about us unless we offered her the specific room night on the date she wished. Unfortunately this option does not work for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyvale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Quaint and comfortable, great location-1 block from downtown Calistoga. The room was soo cute and romantic. The bed was to die for, we actually sunk into a luxurious feather pillow top and slept like babies. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, grounds well kept. Everything was great, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilibear92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else...I was totally unhappy with this place. Dusty, dusty, dusty. Probably because the location is right off of busy Foothill.

Management can blame the cleaning staff, but who's in control there?If you WANT to stress out in Calistoga, then this might be your kind of place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christophersinn, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Our rooms are cleaned and dusted daily, but as the manager, it helps to know which particular room these guests were referring to. Had the guest let us know there was a problem, we certainly would have moved them, rather than have an unhappy complaint. We do everything we can to make our visitors comfortable and assure them of a wonderful time here, as evidenced by the past reviews we have received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We found this place by complete accident. It was one of the only places in Calistoga with availability on Valentine's Day weekend. It couldn't have been a more perfect accident. The exterior is charming and quaint. The Inn keeper was friendly and gave personal to attention to each guest. This did mean having to wait a bit at times to speak with her, but her hospitality and knowledge of the local area was well worth a few minute wait. We had a couples massage in a quaint little massage room with professional staff, candle light, and soft music. Our room was beyond expectations with a fireplace, jacuzzi for two, comfortable bed, and sitting area all in romantic decor. Breakfast for two delivered in a basket to the door was the perfect touch to really make for a perfect end to a fabulous weekend. The location made for an easy walk to anything on the main road, and we were given more information regarding wineries and other fun things to do than we knew what to do with in a days time. We will most certainly be back and have already told all of friends about our great experience. We feel fortunate to have found stumbled upon the Christopher's Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ancama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Selva Beach
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

This was our third time staying at Christopher's Inn at Calistoga. They may be right off the main street but the Inn is quietly secluded. The rooms are very romantically appointed. We love the large jacquzzi bathtubs in the rooms. The beds are super comfy and down comforters to keep you toasty warm. Fireplace in the room. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is tasty and fresh (pastry, yogurt with fruit and granola, cheese, coffee or hot water for tea if you prefer, orange juice), delivered to your room between 8-8:30 AM outside your door. There are plenty of local wineries to visit if this is your persuasion, if not the art work at the wineries is fun to see. Great local color to see. Lots of local restaurants to enjoy with great food just a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidtmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

My fiance and I decided to take a somewhat last minute trip to Napa for the weekend. Without having any knowledge or experience of where to stay, we researched a few places and came across Christophers Inn in Calistoga. This Bed and Breakfast was great, clean and really comfortable. We didn't realize it was a little bit of a drive north of Napa, but we were not disappointed once we arrived. The location ended up being great, because we were able to walk to the center of town in the evening for dinner/drinks. We enjoyed it very much!!

The breakfast in the morning was perfect; it was a nice and light beginning to the day. The delivery is a nice touch. I'd say the biggest impression was the kind woman who greeted us when we arrived. She was a wealth of knowledge and have her to thank for making our Sunday so much more enjoyable!! She recommended so many different places and even shared a little story as to why we should visit them.

Overall, we had a great time...thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
5.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing