We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bergson
Nearby Hotels
$189
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
EuroSpa & Inn(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solage, an Auberge Resort(Calistoga)
$495
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort(Calistoga)
$1,100
$1,000
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$369
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa(Calistoga)
$215
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort(Calistoga)
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
278
183
40
17
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
183
40
17
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden pationapa valleygas fireplaceyogurtcontinental breakfastjacuzzi tubhard boiled eggswine countrywithin walking distanceb bwine tastingqueen roomroad noisefree shuttlesitting areabed was comfortablecastello di amorosa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 541 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend inSeptember. We had originally booked Sunday night and got a good Internet price. We subsequently decided to stay Saturday as well. This cost almost double the Internet price.
The location was great for downtown. The place is charming. The room was small but comfortable and nicely decorated. The only downside was no bedside table on one side.
Breakfast was simple but quality good. Cookies provided daily are delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakesale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a really good option if you're looking for an affordable place to stay in Calistoga. We booked a basic room and it was large and clean. They made a real effort to make the stay special by providing plenty of spare towels and extras. The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the centre of Calistoga and there is plenty of parking. The breakfast that is included is great with a selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast and pastries. The only negatives are: the proximity to a main road, it is located next to an old petrol station, and the carpets are extremely grubby,

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingScotsman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Here is the good stuff:
Great location, just around the corner from downtown Calistoga.
Good continental breakfast including strong fresh coffee (very important) fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, pastry and breads, boiled eggs, OJ/milk.
Friendly staff.
Adequately clean bathroom.
Really nice garden patio area to have breakfast in or just chill. I really liked that communal area it was beautiful.
Here is the not so good stuff:
The decor of the room is dated and looks shabby. There was pink carpeting which might have been clean but had spots and stains that were in the room and also in the hallway.
The sham on the bed and the folded sign stating to conserve water by reusing towels/sheets both had some reddish spot on them. Not sure what it was and we just moved it off the bed and did not use. The sheets and pillows smelled nice and clean though.
Bed was a bit soft for our liking.
Bottom line: A cute place that could be better with a bit of updating. I would stay here again if the room was a bit cleaner (the sham and sign) and the carpet was replaced with tile/wood or new carpet. I would recommend this place only if those few things were addressed because for the price of the room that would have been beneficial.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a renovated room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabella345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Isabella,

Thank you for your review, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff appreciated your kind comments.
We have recently completed remodeling two of our guest rooms and will finish all rooms soon. Décor, carpet, and bedding are being updated to go along with the several upgrades we have already completed. We are committed to relentlessly improving our guest experience at Christopher’s Inn.
We look forward to your return!
Best,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This Inn was cute and close to downtown calistoga. The room was a little bit run down, but it was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and had a pillow top - we slept like babies!. Our jacuzzi tub stopped working toward the end of the stay but we still were able to enjoy it. The main lobby was very nice and they always had coffee and tea and a snack available at all times. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us with granola fresh fruit and yogurt and pastries. The staff were very friendly. It was perfect for us and we really enjoyed our stay. I took one star off the rating because the rooms do need some updating.

Room Tip: Walk to downtown Calistoga.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megbass26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. Our staff was very happy to read your comments and I am glad you had a great time.
After 20 years of operation, we recently took ownership of Christopher’s Inn and have been steadily making improvements ever since. We will complete our room upgrades this year and will continue to look at how we may improve your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again!

Best,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The ambience of this property and room was very nice, however the bed was way too soft and badly worn. The plumbing was not much better with a toilet that wouldn't stop running and the shower water fluctuating between hot and cold every minute or so. If the bed and plumbing were good I'd give this place 4+ stars.

Room Tip: Check the bed and plumbing before selecting your room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Stan,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room setup and ambience of our property. We have been steadily making improvements since we took ownership of Christopher’s Inn and will continue to upgrade our amenities with the help of our guests’ feedback. We immediately corrected the plumbing issue in you room and checked to make sure this was an isolated incident. Our beds do come with feather tops, which may be removed upon request. Thank you Stan and I hope to see you stay with us again soon!

Best,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews