We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Christophers!”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This Inn was cute and close to downtown calistoga. The room was a little bit run down, but it was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and had a pillow top - we slept like babies!. Our jacuzzi tub stopped working toward the end of the stay but we still were able to enjoy it. The main lobby was very nice and they always had coffee and tea and a snack available at all times. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us with granola fresh fruit and yogurt and pastries. The staff were very friendly. It was perfect for us and we really enjoyed our stay. I took one star off the rating because the rooms do need some updating.

Room Tip: Walk to downtown Calistoga.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megbass26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. Our staff was very happy to read your comments and I am glad you had a great time.
After 20 years of operation, we recently took ownership of Christopher’s Inn and have been steadily making improvements ever since. We will complete our room upgrades this year and will continue to look at how we may improve your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again!

Best,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for The Bergson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The ambience of this property and room was very nice, however the bed was way too soft and badly worn. The plumbing was not much better with a toilet that wouldn't stop running and the shower water fluctuating between hot and cold every minute or so. If the bed and plumbing were good I'd give this place 4+ stars.

Room Tip: Check the bed and plumbing before selecting your room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Stan,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room setup and ambience of our property. We have been steadily making improvements since we took ownership of Christopher’s Inn and will continue to upgrade our amenities with the help of our guests’ feedback. We immediately corrected the plumbing issue in you room and checked to make sure this was an isolated incident. Our beds do come with feather tops, which may be removed upon request. Thank you Stan and I hope to see you stay with us again soon!

Best,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Inn was within a short walking distance to the main street in Calistoga. The room was clean and charming with a nice little garden patio with a fireplace. We slept soundly and had a room away from the road. The breakfast was lovely and adequate for our needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Upon arrival, the manager made reservations for us to tour a winery and brought us china plates and silverware so that we could have the lunch that we brought with us on one of the tables on the patio. Our room was bright and spacious. The location was perfect for visiting area wineries and we were given passes to use a local shuttle that dropped us off and picked us up from a winery tour. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, it was clean with plenty of room and had nice furnishings. There is no elevat...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

No complaints. A rather pretty setting. Room was rather small and a bit cramped but still cozy. Breakfast was exactly what I "needed". This was just a one-night stop-over so I had no reason to explore Calistoga. I'm not sure there's much to see if you aren't interested in the mud baths.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful Victorian style little inn tucked away around the corner from downtown Calistoga. We could walk to wine tasting, restaurants, shops, bars, and coffee spots. The bed was comfortable and the room had a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The carpet is a hot mess, I didn't walk barefoot. And the windows do not have screens so we had quite a few moths and spiders join us in the evening. Overall I'd say this is a nice hotel and in a great location. I would recommend it, the positives definitely overpowered the negatives.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy5258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is well located near downtown Calistoga and many wineries. The hotel is attractive from the outside and the lobby is well appointed. Our room was a little cramped for space as the furniture filled the room. The fireplace which was likely added after the room was completed, took up a corner of the room. The toilet/shower area were separate from the sink area and we appreciated this. It is fine for sleeping but you cannot expect to spend time relaxing in the room as there is only one chair. Sadly, the pink carpet is badly stained and could use a washing although if I were doing it, I would replace it with a darker, patterned carpet that would not end up looking so grubby.
We were happy to see glass wine glasses, coffee cups and drinking glasses as well as a wine opener. There was a coffee maker, shower cap and hair dryer. Breakfast consisted of orange juice, coffee, boiled eggs and pastries. There may have been more but it was picked over by the time we got there (our fault for being too late).
Christopher's Inn changed ownership at some point before our arrival so if you have previously visited, you may see a difference in care (better or worse, we don't know).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBN_Guelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: $180 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing