We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy hotel, we enjoyed our stay.”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very cozy hotel, we enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed just for one night with my husband. The hotel is very cozy and parking is available on-site! We booked a room on the first floor with private patio and garden. We had a wonderful time. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. 5 minute walk from downtown Calistoga. Affordable price and nice hotel. We were happy with Christopher's Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V_TravelSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    175
    38
    17
    23
See reviews for
44
324
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is in general very nice and the room maids did a very good job.
Room was small but cosy and big enough for just one night.
But however, the carpet was that dirty that we didn't take of our shoes and avoided to run on it without shoes or socks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mossy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mossy,

Thank you for taking the time to review Christopher's Inn, Calistoga. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned, the carpets in some rooms are due for replacement. We recently acquired Christopher's Inn and have completed several upgrades with more to come, including new carpets to be installed this year. We have professionally cleaned all carpets twice in the past 6 months, however some carpet stains could not be removed. We look forward to another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The manager, Sandra, and her staff provided excellent customer services, attending to every
request, from early room cleaning, extra coffee, and use of the staff refrigerator. Our room was very clean and maintained that throughout our stay. Daily chocolate cookies were also a nice extra treat. There was no pool, so ignore the rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankdbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pretty little room, but clean, friendly and very centrally located. Free wifi and free breakfast. A good choice with a reasonnable price. Just 5 minutes walking distance to mainstreet Calistoga. The only thing I didn't like: the room was very hot, couldn't sleep very well. But hey - it's summer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was looking for a short getaway for my wife's 60 birthday. Found Christopher's Inn online and thought it looked interesting. Room was very nice and clean. I had a patio room but the patio was not very big. But what made up for that is that we had a great sitting room in front to hang with our friends and play games or just relax and not have to sit on a bed. Very close to downtown Calistoga and all the spas and restaurants were within walking distance.
In the morning we had a nice comfortable continental breakfast but a little more than coffee and a muffin. Lots of local pastries, cereal, hard boiled eggs and a nice espresso machine as well. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly even while they were training future hosts at the time. Sandra the manager knew all the good places to go and great attractions. She was a a wealth of knowledge and really seemed to enjoy her job and it showed.
All in all a great trip. Next time I will try and get cabin #10 with its huge patio for our use. It seems like the crown jewel:) Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is our second year we've stayed at Christopher's Inn , both times we only planned to stay one night as we were driving our car back to Vancouver, B.C. after returning from our California residence for the summer. Again, one night was not enough, the most helpful manager Sandra Cady told us no problem for us to have our room for one more night. She was always most helpful, remembered our names whenever we saw her busily working both at the desk and always being available to check on things around the property. All the staff were friendly, available, and helpful...we arrived later afternoon , in the lobby there were fresh cookies available, lemon/cucumber infused ice-water, fresh fruit, newspapers, and an expresso maker we could use whenever we liked...so welcoming. We have seen many of the rooms and suites, we stay in the small cottages, which are perfect for our needs as we don't spend much time time there so do not require much space...they are small, comfortable, all different layouts and very reasonably priced. The patio off the lobby with the water feature is lovely to enjoy the continental breakfast which was also just perfect...yogurt, fruit, fresh baking, juice, tea/coffee. The location is off the main road into Calistoga, but is quiet at nighttime.... a very short walk into the quiant town of Calistoga where we found lovely restaurtants and boutiques. We have recommended this hotel to many of our Canadian friends, who like us, travel to/from California seasonally, they also have found this hotel to be one of their favourites. Thankyou for providing us with such a lovely stay ...we'll be looking forward to being back in October once again! Debbie and Lane from Vancouver, B.C.

Room Tip: Could be advisable to choose a room away from the highway, however we only could hear the traffic in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingdebbie493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved Christopher's Inn! Our room (King Signature) was well thought out and huge. It was incredibly romantic. The staff was so gracious and helpful... and not just one... everyone for whom we came in contact. We will DEFINITELY be back. For those picky people and the Inn's owners, I'm an interior designer. The only improvements I could see would be: A. A towel hook by the shower/tub, B. Filling in the TV nook and mounting the new flat screens in front, or simply filling in the hole with a nice silk plant, and C. Cutting out the border, painting the area "white", and adding a piece of trim to resemble stacked crown molding. Instant update!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, or live in the country, select rooms toward the back of the property. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Kellie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I will pass along your comments to all of our staff. We have already added extra towel hooks in the bathrooms and have plans to remove the border in all rooms and fill in spaces where the old TVs had been placed. Your advice is spot on! We have other upgrades planned as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing