We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delightful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a day at this inn a couple of weeks ago. We took the room with the fireplace and Jacuzzi. It was a cozy and well made room. The jacuzzi was the one that you have step down into. Very romantic place. Walking distance to all eating places and wine shops. The staff was very friendly and professional. Will return again.

Room Tip: Take the room with the jacuzzi and dont forget to ask for AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    168
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
41
311
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

During our recent trip to San Francisco, we wanted to visit the Napa Valley area. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and the good price, we decided to book a room and stay at Christopher's Inn in Calistoga. We stayed in an upstairs room (3) across from the office. Check in was easy and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was nicely decorated with a more upscale feeling. It had a gas fireplace, extra heater, king bed, and seating area. There was plenty of room for our luggage. The bathroom area was very clean. The carpet was a bit stained.
The outside could use a little more cleaning and painting.
The breakfast the next morning exceeded our expectations with juice, fresh fruit, breads, and cereals on nice china. There was coffee and tea choices. The Inn is located within easy walking distance of the town, restaurants, an easy drive to vinyards and an old grist mill. I would have rated the Inn 5 stars except the traffic noise was a negative factor. We turned the window air conditioner fan on high which helped a lot. There isn't much they can do about the busy highway. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinagirl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was hesitant when I first booked due to a stay a few years ago. Due to the more affordable price in the area, I went ahead anyway. From the moment I walked into the office, there seemed to be something different. There was a few types of coffee available and fruit. The staff person greeted me with a smile and welcomed me. She checked to make sure the room was ready, and it was very nice and clean. Looking around there seemed to be changes. The morning breakfast is buffet but very nice with proper dishware. I spoke to the manager and told her there seemed to be a lot of improvement since the last time I stayed. Apparently, they are under new ownership, made the prices more in line, and are making more improvements. There are more improvements needed such as powerwashing, some new rugs, painting, and some repairs. However, it is a great location and a good value. I thought I would never go back but I am happy I did. V.Sattui still seems to be the most fun winery with somewhat affordable wine prices, very good wine, food, and fun atmosphere. Expect to pay $40-50 bottle a wine at most wineries and many have tasting fees of $15-20.

Room Tip: don't get rooms on the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonefishing85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

While working on a long-term project in Calistoga, I stayed at Christopher's Inn for over two months. Sandra and Erwin were fantastic and made my stay absolutely wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. Breakfast was perfect every morning. I can not say wonderful enough wonderful, things about the Inn and the Staff - I miss staying there already and it's only been a few days!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at this smaller inn. Great central location for wine tasting in several valleys. Check-in/check-out was a breeze with nice friendly service. Small parking lot but a very, very short walk to downtown Calistoga - cute town with many places to dine & shop.

We enjoyed a King suite with fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and patio (Room 12). Comfortably sized for 2, nice antique-ish furnishings. Located at the back of the inn and mostly quiet. Very clean and comfortable but as others have mentioned the stained pink carpeting needs to be replaced. Room backs up to a residence and both evenings the neighbor was working in the backyard. The lower fence around the patio could benefit from lattice for privacy as we felt the need to keep the drapes closed most of the time. The cute little fountain on the patio had a malfunctioing pump. Minimal noise heard from adjoining rooms.

Morning breakfast (hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, fresh bakery goods, cereal, GREAT coffee, juice) available in the lobby, we enjoyed ours back in our room. China and real silverware...nice touch! Cafe Sarafornia in downtown is supposed to be a great spot but we never made it there as we were completely satisfied with the inn's offering. Hot coffee, delicious bakery cookies and fresh fruit were available in the lobby in the afternoon. Wine & cheese reception held at the local Best Western was a waste of time...but made us thankful for the charming inn we had booked!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the inn's property are furthest from the highway but back up to a residence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Christopher's Inn. The service was very friendly and my room was immaculately clean and comfortable, despite being a bit on the small side. The breakfast was outstanding and included a healthy fruit salad, hard boiled eggs and a tasty chocolate croissant freshly baked by a local bakery. My only complaint is that the sound proofing wasn't as good as it could be - there was a faint sound of someone snoring in the next room that I could have done without. Overall an excellent experience and I would definitely stay at Christopher's Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogiCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is lovely, beautiful rooms, fire place, comfy bed, helpful and accommodating staff. The breakfast is awesome!!!! Really good location. Coffee machine a rarity at hotels and was excellent- Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.9 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing