We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and clean”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and clean”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Inn is conveniently located in Calistoga. The rooms are tiny, but clean. There is a decent breakfast included. The windows do not open in case you are someone who needs to sleep with an open window. It's an easy walk into town for restaurants. The service was good and the staff friendly. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which had a nice little private patio area. Very tiny rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    172
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
42
319
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This inn is wonderful. The room is exquisite, with antique and handmade furniture, lovely special touches, and a most excellent breakfast. We are in room 1 and with AAA discount it was under 115$. There are two rooms, my daughter enjoyed the entryway room and my queen bed sleep was wonderful on a lush pillowtop mattress.
If you are looking for lodging in Calistoga, I totally recommend this place as very reasonable and lovely. And right in town!!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a nice private outdoor area, and has a trundle bed as well as lovely queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Old Calistoga Inn, with charm and charachter.
Very good and plentiful breakfast included in room price.
Nice, friendly personel.
We stayed in room #10: it is away from the main street, has a nice private patio with fireplace, great comfortable bed, good bedding.
Recommend, would stay there again.

Room Tip: #10 is bigger and has a nice private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbit h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thank you Christopher's Inn! I was booked for three nights but ended up having a flight with Alaska Air cancelled and my flight delayed to the following day. Although the room was paid in advance and they have a stated No Refund policy, they were understanding of my situation and agreed to refund that first night. I really appreciated that, because flight cancellations are any flyer's worst nightmare, and it's even more crappy if you get stuck with travel expenses for things you never got to enjoy.

The property was also gorgeous, the room was clean, the breakfast was awesome... The staff was helpful in suggesting local activities, printing maps, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

With so many incredible choices in the Wine Country, you'll probably want to skip this hotel -- at least for now. Sounds like a new group has recently purchased the property so hopefully they will do the much needed improvements to the property and the overall management. The staff is friendly, but clearly missing direction from the top. The room we stayed in smelled so bad we had to keep the windows open - which caused significant noise from its close proximity to Hwy 29. The carpets are filthy and generally the rooms are just not well cared for. Such a shame because the actual property is quite nice. If the property isn't under new management then hopefully the existing management will at least clean the carpets -- if not replace them.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
I would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory condition of your room during your stay with us. We have taken immediate action and thoroughly deep cleaned the carpet. As you mentioned, we have just recently taken ownership of Christopher’s Inn. Our very first priority has been, and will continue to be, the cleanliness of our guestrooms combined with providing excellent customer service. Replacement carpeting had already been ordered as we are currently awaiting its delivery. We do have a new staff in place, and although I am glad they were friendly, we strive for much more than that. We appreciate your feedback and have been working with staff to improve and enhance their capabilities. While we would have appreciated the opportunity to address/fix your issues while you were staying with us, please don’t hesitate to contact us so we can do so now. Again, I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasdtone or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just spent 5 days in Napa, Calistoga and Sonoma. Staying in 3 different B&Bs and inns. This one was the most costly and in the worst condition. The advertizement on their web site is miss leading. We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Well I would say keep looking for a better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stathia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here on Friday night and were met by a friendly staff person who was happy to see us. The Inn is small with a tranquil garden setting and room (#12) has some charming elements including a full size fireplace, beautiful King bed, and an addiitonal day bed which we used to store our luggage. More on that later! The breakfast was more than ample with fruit, bagels, pastries, mini quiches, cereal and yogurt, but go early because by 9:45 am it was slim pickins. This property has been recently purchased by a new company and I'm sure they're aware of the "needs improvement items" and will make changes as fast as they can. Here are the things I would change ASAP. The lighting in the bathroom vanity area is too dark and the mirror is rusted so I had to put my makeup on in the patio area with a compact mirror. There's a privacy issue where the toilet is. The sliding doors are from a closet but are 4" too short on the sides and bottom of the doors. The jacuzzi tub is nice but the water pressure on the shower head is so forceful that it is like a fire hose. The shower curtain only came down half way, so the floor was sopping wet in about 10 seconds. I had to angle the shower head toward the wall to avoid a flood. The bed is beautiful but it's huge and right in front of it is a tv is on a huge cabinet. There's very little walking space bewteen the bed and T.V. There's also no place to stack luggage so we used the day bed. A mini-fridge would be a great addition! Again, I want to stress that this is a charming diamond in the rough, and I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
24.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing