We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming diamond in the rough”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming diamond in the rough”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here on Friday night and were met by a friendly staff person who was happy to see us. The Inn is small with a tranquil garden setting and room (#12) has some charming elements including a full size fireplace, beautiful King bed, and an addiitonal day bed which we used to store our luggage. More on that later! The breakfast was more than ample with fruit, bagels, pastries, mini quiches, cereal and yogurt, but go early because by 9:45 am it was slim pickins. This property has been recently purchased by a new company and I'm sure they're aware of the "needs improvement items" and will make changes as fast as they can. Here are the things I would change ASAP. The lighting in the bathroom vanity area is too dark and the mirror is rusted so I had to put my makeup on in the patio area with a compact mirror. There's a privacy issue where the toilet is. The sliding doors are from a closet but are 4" too short on the sides and bottom of the doors. The jacuzzi tub is nice but the water pressure on the shower head is so forceful that it is like a fire hose. The shower curtain only came down half way, so the floor was sopping wet in about 10 seconds. I had to angle the shower head toward the wall to avoid a flood. The bed is beautiful but it's huge and right in front of it is a tv is on a huge cabinet. There's very little walking space bewteen the bed and T.V. There's also no place to stack luggage so we used the day bed. A mini-fridge would be a great addition! Again, I want to stress that this is a charming diamond in the rough, and I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    173
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
44
319
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is based on a stay in room 9. Great location, friendly staff, lovely landscaping, cozy gas burning fireplace. However, for $200 you get a room that is only big enough to fit the bed in and a "patio" that is really the landing to the room that is three feet from the parking space. For the money, try exploring any number of the great B&B's in the area so you won't feel so cooped up! Room was clean, but hardly luxury. I can't speak to the other rooms, but avoid #9!

Room Tip: call to check actual size and location of the room - varies widely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here about a month ago together, while on a trip to CA just the two fo us. WE were both very pleased with the location of the Inn, and even more impressed with the staff. Everyone was very kind, and gave of us tips of the best local places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived after midnight, quite exhausted, but found a very warm reception from the Inn keeper and an unbelievably clean and comfortable suite. The fire was burning bright and the jacuzzi tub was a welcome treat to our tired travel bones. I recommend Christopher's Inn 7 days a week on twice on Sunday!

Cheers,
Brian

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briguy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We thought this was a great place to stay when in Calistoga. it is not a spa but there are plenty close by. It is a little pricey but so is everything else in Napa Valley. The TV is not great but no one comes here to watch TV. I was very pleased with our location and accommodations and would have changed very little.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I arrived in Napa Valley as we do every year at this time to celebrate our anniversary. We pulled into the driveway and were immediately disappointed. The Christopher Inn in our opinion looked runned down from the exterior. When we entered to check in, the office smelled of burnt coffee and the Dixie cups full of pub mix was uninviting. We are not snobs by any means, but when you are going to spend $600 plus for two nights you should expect more than a Dixie cup greeting you. Adella was very nice and showed us three different rooms as our first one was dirty and had hair and mildew and a silver fish in the shower. The second room we viewed was better, but the wolf spider and the dirty Jacuzzi and funky worn and stained pink carpeting Along with cob webs in-between the TV and wall through us off. The third and final room was one of the suites upstairs from the reception desk and looked promising. By this time we were done and asked to be allowed to get a refund. Not to mention it is located directly on the Hwy. We were so disappointed as we were excited about staying. This place is in serious need of renovation.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Laurapear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

At first I was skeptical after looking at users photos but with a last minute trip we had no other choice! I was really scared to learn I was getting the same room, but was ever o pleasantly surprised. Warmed pastries, decanted wine and a roaring fire awaited me. The bathroom was mildew free , dated but reminded me of taking a bath at grannies house - the sounds f birds were amazing along with the fountain. As an avid bird watcher I was pleasantly surprised to see a varied thrush as well as an Oregon junko and humming bird all in one tree mean while a scrub jay and robin hoped on the ground ! I wanted to break out in song! The woman st the front recommended great spots that we could walk to so the night turned out great, I can't wait for my next day off especially when more if these flowers bloom! Love Calistoga

Room Tip: Book early for a jacuzzi tub !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
553 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing