We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic escape to comfort and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Park Cottages
Ranked #8 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Idyllic escape to comfort and relaxation”
Reviewed July 28, 2005

We don't normally go to the trouble of writing reviews of places that we've stayed but our recent stay at Aurora Park inspired us to share our delights with others.
We were visiting the Bay Area from Philadelphia looking to see the San Francisco sights and check out the serenity of Napa valley that we've heard so much about. A friend suggested the Aurora Park Cottages to stay while on our Napa visit. Our stay there became a surprise highlight of our completely fantastic vacation to Northern Ca.
The cottages are tucked away and private yet within walking distance of the quaint town of Calistoga. Our cottage really couldn't have been anymore comfortable or pleasant. Spending the evenings on our private deck with our wine with complete silence surrounding us we both commented how this must be like heaven!
Our friend who reccomended Aurora Park will be our friend forever! Though we may never meet you the reader, take our suggestion and check out Aurora Park Cottages. You'll never forget the happy times that you'll have there.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
123
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LAKE WORTH, FL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2005

We stayed here as a part of our honeymoon for 3 nights and probably had the place a little too built up in our minds. The cottage we rented was the last one up the line, furthest from the entrance, and it was relatively quiet except for the rare passing car. Inside it was nicely decorated and appointed with a coffee maker, fridge, cable tv, AC, and VERY comfortable bed. The delivered breakfasts were a nice touch and the location is good for sight-seeing, wine tasting and visiting Calistoga's main street for food/shopping/spas. The owners were out of town when we visited (like the previous reviewer) so we never got to meet them but from what I understand they're very nice and responsive to their guest's requests.

In hindsight it was an expensive stay, even though the amenities were nice we didn't feel it was quite worth the price. Our main complaint was roaches in the room. The first night we only killed one little one so we didn't pay much mind to it. The next two nights we noticed that they were actually quite numerous and even got into our luggage (we found several in our bags when we unpacked at the next place we stayed.) In fairness it was summer and the cottages are surrounded by foliage so I expect some insects to get into the buildings but we felt it was a bit too much, especially at the price we paid. We never complained to the caretaker about the bugs, we just dealt with them and left when our stay was up. Please understand that our stay wasn't all bad and I'm sure that our experience was a bit unusual considering the other posts about this place are mostly very positive, so take the above with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MARKLakeWorth_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2005

If only the Aurora Park Cottages looked like they do on the Web site. Bravo to the photographer and Web designer who make this place look SO much better than it is! The owners -- who other reviewers raved about -- were out of town the weekend I was there. The fill-in innkeeper was basically absentee. The room was less than charming ... our toilet backed up in the middle of the night, and there was NO ONE on call who could fix it. We ended up going to the "bathroom" outside -- in the rain! When we told the innkeeper the next day, she said she'd send someone to fix it ... but there was no apology and certainly no offer to -- oh, I don't know -- take a little something off the price of the room for our trouble. I am amazed by the glowing reviews this place has gotten from others. I do not share their good experience.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2005

We stayed at Aurora Park Cottages the last two nights of our Wine Country vacation. The owner Joe is great (didn't get a chance to meet Celeste)! Very quick to give you advice when you ask for it and very welcoming. he did a great job of making our stay very personal. Our Cottage was very clean and comfortable. It doesn't feel like you're staying in a hotel, seems like your staying in someone's guest room. The beds are very comfortable and the showers are great! I loved the fact that the coffee in the room was ground, not the packets you get in other places. The Breakfast left at your door in the morning is a great touch. The table and chairs on the front porch were great to relax and enjoy the scenery. Don't leave without trying on the robes!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2005

The Cottages were private, comfortable and Cozy. The deck was great to share a bottle of wine in the evenings. I would recommend asking for Cottage #5 or #6, they are farther away from the street.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteandNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2005

Just spent a week in wine country and a couple of nites with Joe and Celeste at Aurora Park Cottages. Location is good as they are just a couple minutes north of Calistoga. They are helpful - willing to make recommendations and reservations as well as provide tasting certificates. It was our 25th anniversary and they had a bottle of champagne waiting. There is a porch with table and chairs, a great bed, nice bath, two cozy chairs and oh the bathrobes - so soft!!!! They weren't around when we got there but left a note and the key so we could make ourselves at home. They checked in the minute they got back, delivered breakfast breads and OJ in the morning, and made sure we were set when we checked out. Definately would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 8, 2005

My husband and I recently stayed at Aurora Park while visiting a friend in Calistoga. The purpose of our stay was not to be pampered, but to have a clean room with a coffeemaker! We were thrilled to have our own separate cottage, complete with luxurious down bedding and a continental breakfast of fresh-squeezed orange juice, assorted warm breads and fresh fruit delivered to our doorstep in the morning! We had our own coffee maker, of course, and fresh-ground coffee above our refrigerator.
The cottage was extremely clean and the decor was relaxing and simple...very Pottery Barnish, yet with more character! The overstuffed chair and bed were very plush and comfy...I was so content just sipping my coffee, eating a complimentary biscotti and reading up on local Napa fashion all afternoon. Meanwhile, my husband, while taking in the beautiful view from our private deck, initiated a conversation with the owners of Aurora Park Inn. They were an extremely friendly and down-to-earth couple...very knowledgeable, too!

I should mention that I am a very picky person...high maintenance when it comes to cleanliness and comfort. We did not intend nor envision that this little 2 night stay would wind up feeling more like a relaxing, luxurious escape from home...but it did. Great customer service and the privacy of our own cottage. Now we know where to go when we do finally plan that vacation getaway!

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#5 of 27 in Calistoga
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Park Cottages

Property: Aurora Park Cottages
Address: 1807 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Park Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Park Cottages is your private vacation retreat in Napa Valley wine country. Located in beautiful Calistoga - the spa capital of California - our peaceful, country haven is just minutes from world-class Napa Valley wineries, excellent restaurants, and quaint gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurora Park Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Park Cottages Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing