We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn, gracious hosts”
Review of The Craftsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Craftsman Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
1 review
“Charming inn, gracious hosts”
Reviewed March 16, 2009

The Craftsman Inn is a fantastic place to stay and we're sure to return. The rooms are comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Spring room, which was away from other guest, so it was very quiet. Be sure to wake up hungry because Gillian's breakfasts are mouth-watering and filling! Just the thing to get the day started. The innkeepers were very accomodating as we asked to hold our private (no guests) wedding ceremony at the inn. It was a beautiful setting for our special day. Thank you Nick and Gillian!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineLovers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    32
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
161
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA / NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

No doubt, we'll be back at this lovely b&b - hopefully sometimes this summer, but certainly no later than for next year's Napa Valley Marathon.
M&G - Los Angeles

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidozwicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVRamblers
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Jill and Nick know the ins and outs of the north end of Napa valley and are an invaluable resources. Need to know where to dine - no problem - just ask them. The inn is so comfortable it fits like and old glove or warm pair of slippers. The rooms couldn't have been more inviting and the hosts more helpful and friendly - enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

I needed a refuge and a trip to a place that would literally give me the experience of being somewhere totally different than where I work from day to day......a true stress reliever. My love of wine and the culinary arts made Napa Valley the perfert location and the Craftsman Inn the most perfect place to reflect, relax, and renew. The casual conversation with the owners on the deck after a day of wine tasting, the laughter when meeting new friends at breakfast or later in the evening on the deck and the element of privacy when relaxing on the private deck of the Spring Room made this the ultimate memory. The wealth of information and intelligence of the owners just added to the experience and I eagerly look forward to returning this April and have looked forward to returning since my first visit in June 2007. It is lush, eloquent and somewhat decadent to stay there and make it your base of operations for the entire visit of the valley. Carpe diem!

  • Liked — The casual eloquence and luxurious feeling of no pressure from the usual daily activities.
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay as long as I would have liked.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank malumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san mateo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to get away for a romantic weekend and chose to stay at the Craftsman Inn. The Inn is so cozy and has wonderful woodwork and a warm feel. We thoroughly enjoyed a long soak in our huge tub and fell asleep easily in their comfortable bed. One thing we really enjoyed was being able to walk downtown and have a fabulous meal (at the Calistoga Inn). One other thing to note, the Lavendar Spa's bath treatment is amazing! It's literally a stone's throw away from the Craftsman. Overall, a wonderful experience. Oh, and the breakfast was so yummy! Jackie was the inn-keeper for the weekend and she was so gracious and fun to talk to. Definitely worth staying here!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank max036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisiphus
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Our stay at The Craftsman Inn was a wonderful one! The owners and hostess were incredibly warm and friendly- their suggestions for places to visit in the area were also very in tune with what we were looking for. Our room was extremely comfortable with a spacious bathroom. We stayed in the Spring Room which has an adjoining patio out front, enclosed by curtains for as much or little privacy as you may need! We spent most of our time in our room on the patio enjoying Calistoga's wonderful wine! The breakfasts at The Craftsman Inn were ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! With plenty to choose from, and as much as you like of homemade foods, we were fully satisfied! We would recommend The Craftsman Inn to anyone visiting Calistoga- you will NOT be disappointed- and we will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Liked — See review
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brisiphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

My husband & I had originally booked an anniversary getaway at the Wine Way Inn, but the owners asked if we wound mind moving to the Craftsman Inn (at no extra cost) and we were happy to oblige. (The Craftsman is a bit more expensive than the Wine Way; the same couple owns both inns.) We were traveling during the off-off-season, and it was quite cold & rainy during our visit, but we still had a wonderful time. Gillian is the best host you could wish for and we enjoyed having a leisurely chat with her about the area & the history of the lovely home she and her husband remodeled into the Craftsman Inn. The inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas and looked so cozy & inviting! Gillian's breakfasts were splendid, especially the homemade granola and to-die-for scones. Unlike some B&Bs, guests here serve themselves, which I prefer as you can decide yourself if you want a lighter or heavier meal. There is a nice variety of hot & cold dishes. I've stayed in many B&Bs and this is one of the best -- we're already planning to return! I would definitely recommend the Craftsman for a romantic wine country getaway.

  • Liked — Cozy and inviting living room, big bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, comfy bed, high end toiletries, gorgeous furnishings
  • Disliked — Be aware that the inn is right on Rt. 29 - it's quiet at night but there is some traffic noise during the day
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loudfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craftsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craftsman Inn

Property: The Craftsman Inn
Address: 1213 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Craftsman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Napa Valley's newest luxury Bed and Breakfast - The Craftsman Inn. Calistoga's largest and finest example of the Craftsman architecture style will bring you a lavish vacation experience to indulge your senses. Experience the sensuality of your own private candlelit Jacuzzi bath. Slip between the decadent 600 thread count cotton sheets and dream the night away. Indulge yourself with our gourmet champagne breakfast. Pamper yourself with a massage or a glass of wine in the oasis of your own private curtained porch. Let us welcome you as our guest and experience these and many other pleasures at The Craftsman Inn, a unique Calistoga bed and breakfast retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Craftsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craftsman Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing