We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn”
Review of The Craftsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craftsman Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We just got back from 3 nights in Calistoga at the Craftsman Inn. Great location to walk into town for dinner. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing! We're still talking about it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I had lost our planned reservations, so we were referenced to the Craftsman Inn
by the local Calistoga Information Office. Much to our surprise Gilliam and Rick were very
helpful and our stay could not have been better.
The breakfast menu's were always excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and well supplied
with your needs plus homemade cookies.
It's a must experience to appriciate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willnz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The rooms were comfortable and immaculately clean. Gillian is an incredible chef. We even got a copy of her cook book. I particularly loved the pumpkin scones. The location is perfect if you want to go up and down 29 or get over to Silverado.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was a wonderful home away from home. I had never stayed in a B&B before so I was a little nervous, but I couldn't have asked for better hosts. The property is convenient to the town of Calistoga so you can walk to almost anything but still far enough away to not be inconvenienced. The attention to detail is so sweet. Enjoy a glass of wine before leaving for dinner, play some games with friends or savor some amazing cookies as a midnight snack, it's all there. NOW, the food...WOW. I tried to bring Gillian home with me, but she wouldn't budge. What a way to start your day of exploration in Napa. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancer118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I where staying at their second inn, the wineway inn, but we arrived a day early. So Nick arranged for us to stay here, the sister inn to wineway. The back room, with the private deck was awesome and again the food was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leelucier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Gillian was the best hostess.....our room was cozy and so convenient to walk into Calistoga. Our breakfast was sumptious...variety was great, could not have asked for more attention to details.
We would HIGHLY recommend this perfect B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back....away from the street. It was very quiet, however all of the rooms are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Symmes345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our second delightful stay with Nick and Gillian for what is likely to become an annual tradition of spring hedonism in the cozy spa town of Calistoga. Having stayed in both their properties now --the Craftsman Inn this year and the Wine Way Inn the previous--we can heartily recommend either as a comfortable, even luxurious base camp for your forays into the surrounding wineries, mineral baths, and world-class restaurants of the Napa Valley. Gillian's breakfasts alone are 'Vaut le Voyage' as Guide Michelin would say. On all mornings you'll be met in the warm, wood-paneled breakfast room with crumbly melt-in-your mouth scones of various stripes, rich press-pot coffee or a selection of teas, homemade granolas, seasonal fruits ranged along the built-in shelves. A varying main event ranging from custardy, brioche-based french toast through flaky quiches to a mound of perfectly fluffed scrambled eggs, all accompanied by savory local bacon or sausages is served from the sideboard.

After a noble breakfast, you can of course spring forth into your day of discoveries along the Silverado Trail. But I recommend retiring back into the luxurious cocoon of your room for a short nap as the height of hedonism. All the fixtures are new, or look like it; the beds are firm and fresh and the general furnishings in keeping with the overall arts & crafts feeling of unpretentious luxury. Original wood paneling and beams glow darkly in bright, fresh walls throughout and furnishings are a harmonious blend of victorian, craftsman, and early deco styles: some repro, some original. Also--in the best British B&B tradition--there is a welcoming parlor providing a common area to muster in or linger with a mid-day cuppa or late-after noon stem of wine and conversation with your fellow travelers. Not to mention the tray with sherry and homemade biscuits (cookies) waiting in your room.

While the accommodations are of course important, the true test of a B&B is the personal hospitality and "home-from-home" feeling created by the innkeepers. Nick and Gillian provide a perfect balance of accessibility and anticipation without a hint of intrusiveness. Both are deeply knowledgeable about the area and are worth consulting even if you have already planned your campaign among the tasting rooms of the valley. They will cheerfully do their best to accommodate special needs within the limits of their resources. A personal example of this was an upgrade from an upstairs room at the Wine Way into a larger, ground-floor room (Howell) at the Craftsman when I called a week before our stay to ask about accessibility after having ruptured my Achilles tendon. (NB to ADA travelers: most B&B accommodation, and also many of the older hotels, in this area lie outside of the Title III requirements due to excessive costs of compliance within older construction.) This was deeply appreciated; doubly-so as it was offered even after I'd made it clear that the lure of Gillian's menus and our previous experience with their hospitality would have had me baby-crawling up and down stairs regardless. Hence the title of this review.

Room Tip: As with most of the B&B accommodation in town, this property sits on the main two-lane highway t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motrengaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
5.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craftsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craftsman Inn

Address: 1213 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: $245 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Craftsman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Napa Valley's newest luxury Bed and Breakfast - The Craftsman Inn. Calistoga's largest and finest example of the Craftsman architecture style will bring you a lavish vacation experience to indulge your senses. Experience the sensuality of your own private candlelit Jacuzzi bath. Slip between the decadent 600 thread count cotton sheets and dream the night away. Indulge yourself with our gourmet champagne breakfast. Pamper yourself with a massage or a glass of wine in the oasis of your own private curtained porch. Let us welcome you as our guest and experience these and many other pleasures at The Craftsman Inn, a unique Calistoga bed and breakfast retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Craftsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craftsman Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing