We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solage, an Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

My husband booked three nights for us over my birthday weekend. It was our third stay at Solage and nothing compares to their hospitality. Our city-wearied souls go though a complete transformation during our stay here and we leave feeling refreshed, relaxed and rejuvenated. The service and hospitality is impeccable. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly without being cloying. The environs are soothing, the food DIVINE. The bed incredibly comfortable. I had a flawless hot stone massage (shout out to Peggy) and my husband luxuriated during his 'Solage' massage. The spa/ thermal pools are wonderful and the eucalyptus steam is invigorating. Our only complaint...having to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGoddess123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    146
    40
    27
    25
See reviews for
122
519
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Nicely located on Silverado Trail just outside of Calistoga center, Solage offers a fairly relaxing off-season environment, with all of the amenities you need. The resort was crowded during our first on-season visit and much less serene. Solage attracts a young crowd, which can occasionally get noisier than the more typical middle aged resort demographic. However, the units are spread out, and it's very peaceful in the rooms and their patios. The outdoor hot tub in our suite was a plus. Free (inclusive) wet bar was a special treat, but I don't think this applies to all rooms.

Service is generally attentive, rooms are clean, and spa treatments were good to great. However, the bus boy who showed us to our rooms via bicycle, seemed to be going through the motions when describing our room amenities - perhaps because we were returning guests. Our dinner at SolBar during our second visit last year was good, though the menu tries a bit too hard to be eclectic and exotic (pork belly, etc.) - not that we haven't been exposed to various cuisines before. During our latest trip, for lack of ANY traditional offerings at SolBar, we took room service - simple burgers and fries - and it's probably the first time I've had room service fries that were crisp and not soggy upon delivery. The gym is decent sized, with maybe 10 aerobic stations w/ TV's and a good selection of weight stations. There appeared to be an active series of exercise classes as well.

Solage is approaching a critical age at which it can begin to renovate and sharpen its attention to detail or let things slip. We hope they maintain the former route. But so far so good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JorjeJaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

The service was great across the board- in the spa, restaurant, front desk, concierge, housekeeping... Food was fantastic in the restaurant and we ate every meal there- morning, noon, and night. We ventured into the town of Calistoga for food once and had an awful meal so figured we might as well spend the rest of the time eating well and only went to SolBar (the hotel restaurant/bar). We read other people's reviews and ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes for breakfast. Delicious ! We are from the San Francisco Bay area so we have been wine tasting a zillion times but still managed to hit a few wineries. The B winery is across the street which makes getting there from the hotel very easy. Unfortunately, most of the other decent wineries are a bit of a drive, so it was nice to be able to walk to this one from the hotel. I have only great things to say about the place, if I were trying to find something negative, I would say the room that comes with the fireplace and soaking tub were a bit of a disappointment. The fireplace is ok, the only time you can see it is if you are sitting in a chair directly in front of it, it would be nice if you could lie on the bed and be able to see it too. The soaking tub is small, room for only one, two if you squish in. So if you want to have a romantic bubble bath with champagne for two, you might be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfbaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Stayed here in August, so the details are slightly fuzzy. From what I can remember, however,everything was perfect, and the spa was magnificent! I went with a few girlfriends, and this is the best place to go for complete relaxation and rejuvenation. The grounds are beautifully decorated, and they provide free bikes to take into the city or any of the surrounding vineyards. The pool area is beautiful, service was exceptional from the moment we checked in, to the end of our stay.

The room we stayed in was a Vega Studio with two queens, each studio comes with its own semi private patio area. It was so quiet we often wondered if there was anyone else staying here with us! I love the pebble stone showers, and the fact that they refill large bottles of bath amenities. We ordered room service the first night, it was prompt and delicious. If you don't want room service, the Solbar is an excellent choice for meals, although their menu is limited, they only use fresh locally grown ingredients which is lovely.

We got spa treatments, I opted for an Eminence Organic Facial which was nice but next time I think I would like to try the Kate Somerville facial. Us girls also did the mudslide treatment which was lovely, even though we had to apply the mud ourselves. We indulged on someone else's expense, so whenever I save up enough money I would definitely love to come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I recently took my wife back to Solage for a second visit as a surprise treat for her birthday. It was every bit as good as we remembered it from the first time.

I think the most useful thing for other TA users I can say about Solage is that whilst its not cheap (where in the Napa Valley is?), it does represent value for the money it costs compared to other Napa Valley resorts.

The spa facilities, rooms and restaurant are all first class. The beds are really comfortable, and the resort is so quiet at night that you can't fail to get a good nights sleep. The service is truly excellent and attentive, without being intrusive. The concierge is knowledgable and efficient. They even loan Mercedes Benz cars to guests for free - we borrowed a convertible for cruising around the vineyards with the top down which was a lot of fun.

Our only gripe about Solage is that it's so good, you don't really want to leave and go off wine tasting, or to experience the Napa Valley. You could easily spend your whole time on the property, using the pools, the spa, relaxing and eating at the excellent SolBar. But then you pay the high prices because you're in the Napa Valley, and not experiencing what the area has to offer would be a bit of a waste, so it becomes a bit of a balancing act to get the best of both worlds.

Tip 1: Book the B&B rate if it's offered for the dates you're there. The breakfast at SolBar is worth it on its own, but the rate also includes use of the thermal pools too.

Tip 2: The rooms are comfortable, and spacious, but the various room types are all exactly the same size, they mostly all have the same king beds (though there are some with 2 queens), same outdoor patio areas, they are all well spread out away from other guests and peacefully secluded, and all have identical amenities. The differences are that the least expensive Vega studio doesn't have a bath or fire in the room - so is actually the most spacious as a result; the next priced room, the Mira studio has a fire; and the most expensive Adara studio has both a fire and bath (there are also some suites which are the only larger room type). Depending on when you're planning on staying you may not ever use the fire, and whether you want to pay extra for the bath is up to you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

What a hotel! I stayed a night with my wife and loved the place. I wish we had more time there. Beautiful facilities, friendly staff, and great gourmet food made for an outstanding time. The night we had was a wedding gift from my sister and her husband otherwise the price would've been prohibitive for us. I hope we strike it rich someday so we can stay there again.

Well, if I struck it rich, I'd buy a home in Napa and pay for day-use of the facilities!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nakaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Had a great time at Solage with a large group of girlfriends for a birthday weekend. Lovely grounds, very clean and relaxing atmosphere. Service is great, from the spa staff to the restaurant waitstaff.

There were only a few bumps in the stay, but not enough to lower the rating: We booked our girl's getaway months in advance, yet they couldn't get us into rooms that were remotely near each other. We had four people in a room, but there were only two bikes assigned to each room. Even though it looked like very few people were using them, we couldn't get any more for the group.

We booked the girl's getaway package, which included the 'mudslide' treatment - interesting and fun, but i'm not sure i'd pay for it if it didn't come included. I did like that we had our own individual mud buckets rather than soaking in a tub of mud that hundreds of others had already soaked in.

Room service was lightning fast - good food, but very expensive. The restaurant was great - helped that we had breakfast vouchers for $25 per person - needed considering drinks (i.e. an orange juice) was around $10. But the food is excellent and the service deserves the Michelin star that it got. Definitely a highlight.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katastrophe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
16.9 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
10.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
16.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
16.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solage, an Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage, an Auberge Resort

Property: Solage, an Auberge Resort
Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515-1100 (Formerly Solage Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solage, an Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage, an Auberge Resort brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Solage, an Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing