We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveler rating
808
161
49
31
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
161
49
31
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolbar restaurantsol barmudslide treatmentmud slideexercise classescruiser bikesthe lemon ricotta pancakeswine countrynapa valleyspa poolmain poolturn down servicefitness centerprivate patiosilverado trailcomplimentary bikescouples massage
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018

There is nothing bad to say about Solage. The resort is amazing. The staff is very well trained and very courteous. We were here for our honeymoon and couldn't have been any happier with our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank meechiect5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery P, Guest Relations Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear meechiect5:

Thank you for choosing Solage on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Calistoga. We were proud to read the notes you left about our well trained and courteous team members. We were so happy to be a part of your honeymoon! Warm regards!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Beautiful resort, great service, great location. Unfortunately on the fine line between relaxing and boring, they fall on the boring side of the line. Quiet and peaceful is nice, but with a with a lack of atmosphere, it just comes off as dull and unmemorable. We are in our late 40's and looking for a bit more lively atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery P, Guest Relations Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Clint H.:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you chose to stay with us at Solage. Thank you for your commentary about Solage being a beautiful resort with great service and location. We truly appreciate your kind sentiments. That being said, we were disappointed to read that you felt our relaxing and peaceful resort did not meet or exceed your expectations in terms of atmosphere. I would like the opportunity to speak to you in more detail. Please reach out to me at direct at avery.patentreger@aubergeresorts.com. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcome you back to Solage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Calistoga is way up the Napa valley. This slight bit of extra effort and distance has, perhaps, caused Calistoga downtown to remain less "chic-ified" than other wine country destinations, e.g. St Helena. You will meet Calistogans in the shops and restaurants on Lincoln. In St Helena too, but that's another (very positive - love St Helena) post.

The geyser activity and related mud bath-spa action is a big draw, maybe the primary draw for some. But this fine and lovely agricultural community offers contemplative vistas, hiking, great weather, and world/class dining and lodging options.

I stayed at Solage Calistoga with a gal pal, third week of July, for 4 nights. We each did a spa treatment called "Mellow me out" - terrific. We attended several exercise classes - spin and pilates, both excellent. We used the pool and were set up and attended to most gorgeously. We also had dinner at Solbar. Wonderful.

Room was spacious, beds comfortable, had a lovely quiet patio where we drank coffee in the morning. The shower and bath area was modern, spacious and easily accommodated 2 people. For those who like cold/dark rooms, the cooling worked well. The window coverings were pretty good and extra towels throw over the electronics darkened sufficiently.

Staff helpful and attentive, all the way through. Highly recommended.

Note: there's a Four Seasons resort and homes under construction right across the way. This did not in any way impact our stay (like, noise or dust etc) - but it might change the local character somewhat. Let's hope it's positive for the Calistoga community. Go to Solage Calistoga, now!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery P, Guest Relations Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Suzanne F for choosing staying with us at Solage. We truly enjoyed reading all of your wonderful commentary. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solage on your next visit! Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I couldn't wait to stay here after reading all of the wonderful reviews. Despite the fact that we have stayed in some wonderful, much less expensive places (Senza, Andaz Napa, Westin Napa, Carneros Resort and Spa), I was happy to splurge on what I thought would be a place that would exceed my expectations. But Solage falls far short of it's $1000+ per night price point.

The room was nicely appointed, comfortable, and clean, as were the hotel grounds. There were a few nice touches, like the flower decorating station or outdoor fireplaces, but overall there was nothing outstanding. Check in was underwhelming - we were offered a glass of wine but told nothing about the property or amenities. Perhaps it's because there were none. Service was not that great.

Other properties have free food and wine in their minibars or offer free wine tastings at happy hour, or free breakfast, or even spa access. I was disappointed to see our "free" minibar was only a couple of waters and sodas and a few nespresso capsules. There was nothing at the spa that was included. There truly seemed to be no benefit to staying here, amenity wise.

The pool was lovely and staffed by friendly teenagers. The clientele there seemed like they were better fitted for Cabo or Palm Springs, with one clearly wasted gentleman near us bragging about how he drank 11 beers in an hour (and he continued to be served by the staff). Another group discussed their botox and filler regimens while blaring their own music on a personal speaker, even though the pool had nice house music already. Honestly, I'm in my 30s, and I found the behavior highly out of place for such an expensive resort in Napa county.

My disappointment with Solage turned to regret as we checked out. This is when the desk enlightened me to a $30/day resort fee that would be added to the final bill. Honestly, in the $1000+ per night we were already being charged, couldn't you just fit that $30 in somewhere? A resort fee on top of the exorbitant costs is just insulting. Was that for the waters we drank?

In conclusion, Solage is a nice place with no glaring defects. It is probably one of the worst values in all of Napa county. I regret staying here because there are plenty of places in Napa county that are just as nice with better amenities and better service for a quarter of the price. Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery P, Guest Relations Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kels2003:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you chose to stay with us at Solage. Thank you for your commentary about our lovely resort hotel and well maintained grounds. At Solage, we pride ourselves on providing the best in food, service and hospitality. I do however regret to have read that we did not meet or exceed your overall expectations during your visit. I would like to connect with you directly. Please reach out to me at avery.patentreger@aubergeresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Having visited multiple times now, I would say this is my favorite resort in Napa Valley. Although a little longer drive from SF, the service, food and especially the pool really set this resort apart. Do not miss Solbar and especially the pool. The service by the pool is great and you can even reserve a cabana if you need.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PacmanSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery P, Guest Relations Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you PacmanSanDiego for staying with us at Solage again. We truly enjoyed welcoming you back. Your comments were very well received by our entire team! We look forward to welcoming you back to Solage on your next visit! Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews