We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely New Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
“Lovely New Resort”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed here for our anniversary getaway. We took our 3 year old son. The grounds and the cottages are very, very nice. I read nearly all the reviews prior to booking our reservations. I noticed that most of the negative reviews were from the resort's first guests when it opened nearly 2 years ago. Now that the landscape has matured somewhat and the staff and service have been fine-tuned, I think many of those who were dismayed with their stay would find a different experience altogether if they were to give it another chance. It is a mite on the pricey side but there are definitely a lot of perks to staying here. Besides the gorgeous grounds, facilities and attentive staff, they supply complimentary cruisers, free wifi, iPod dock, and porches with each cottage. The food was good although, again, pricey. We didn't use the spa, opting for something more affordable at Lavender Hill. The gym is very nice. Our son loved the kiddie pool and the bocce courts and just wandering around the grounds. It's a really beautiful place and perfect for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugBitten99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    151
    42
    26
    25
See reviews for
135
542
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Va
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

The staff at Solage Calistoga is excellent. I started my visit with a deep tissue massage at the Spa and follow that up with a relaxing dip in the hot mineral pool. After my dip in the mineral pool, I had the most delectable shrimp and lettuce wraps at Solbar. After lunch I had the most wonderful facial ever ! I can't say enough about the staff at the Spa, they are very professional and knowIedgable about their individual craft. They never kept me or my friends waiting. The spa facilities are cozy and relaxing. When I returned to my room I was able to have a relaxing moment on my private patio. I had a large eco-friendly room and the bed was very comfortable. I really like the fact that they had a top-notched gym on the property, however, I only visited the gym, I did not work out. I also like the idea of riding bicycles on and off the property.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, mo
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

The Solage is definitely an upscale resort, yet the atmosphere is relaxed and casual. We loved both the rooms and the grounds. The pool is beautiful, the fitness room is large with state of the art equipment. It is close to the main street of Calistoga. We enjoyed riding the bicycles (2 are provided for each room) through town. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Pros: It's very sunny up in Calistoga, so when you go up in Sept, Oct, November (yes, even november, you can hang out by the pool). The pool is the best part of the hotel. It's spacious, generally quiet (except on Saturdays), really great if you are a lap swimmer. Try ordering the sliders and french fries as a snack in the afternoon. They are delicious. The gym is also excellent, spacious, has all the machines you need.

Cons: Expensive. The rooms go for over $550/night and these are the basic rooms without bathtubs. The showers are also very questionable. There isn't enough water pressure. Insects, yes, they are a problem. One night I woke up to an itch and turned on the light finding a very large insect on the bed. I think they come in from the front door which isn't sealed completely.

Overall: I really like this place, it is very relaxing. The food is good. Service is sometimes inconsistent especially in the restaurant. I've been there a couple times when it was pretty empty and I would have to stand waiting to be seated for over 5 mins because the manager is chatting with someone or just can't figure out which of the empty tables to seat us in.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We had the most wonderful time at Solage! We arrived super late one night after hitting traffic coming out of SF. We were saying silent prayers the whole way up hoping they were still serving dinner as we were starved! We got there around 9PM, and greeted by a wonderful receptionist who alerted the kitchen we were coming! We had the most spectacular meal at their bistro, the Solbar...truly the best of our trip (separate review).

The room was super comfortable and we had a heavenly night’s sleep. The fireplace warmed us up wonderfully. My husband was delighted with the fact that you could make your own strength coffee (they provide the coffee grounds versus prepackaged amounts). I loved the Sumbody amenities and ended up buying them at the Spa to give my best friend for her birthday. I wished we had stayed longer to use the bicycles, but what a lovely touch!

We did stay for breakfast the next morning which we have to say was the absolute highlight of the entire trip (another separate review). All I will say is try the made to order cinnamon sugar donuts - oh my goodness!

This is a gem of a hotel and we will definitely be coming back with friends to visit the wineries surrounding the area. This is a much better location than staying in Napa. We had stayed at the Carneros Inn the week before and we definitely prefer Solage.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed. Sadly we only stayed for two nights but the room (each is a separate single storey bungalow), food, surrounding and facilities where perfect. Bikes are supplied and once you have mastered no brakes/pedding backwards to stop they are great fun. The Sterling vineyard is in walking/cycling distance and worth a visit. The main town was a little disappointing and, if you stay for a few days, you might find your choice of eating limited - but if you just want to get away from it all - this place is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANDG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We loved this hotel. My husband and I went to Calistoga for Valentines weekend this year and enjoyed every minute. Solage has great bungalow type rooms that makes it feel like it's your own little house. We had huge windows looking out onto a beautiful garden area. The room decoration is very modern and minimalist but it's exactly what we like. The spa and mud treatments were awesome and the mineral pool was wonderful. We even took advantage of some yoga classes. To top it all off it rained the whole weekend but we didn't really mind! It was a blast and we were lucky enough to get some rainbow views after the rain cleared. We will definitely return and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsomeday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
10.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
696 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
17.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
895 reviews
16.8 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solage, an Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage, an Auberge Resort

Property: Solage, an Auberge Resort
Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515-1100 (Formerly Solage Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solage, an Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage, an Auberge Resort brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Solage, an Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing