We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveler rating
808
161
49
31
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
161
49
31
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolbar restaurantsol barmudslide treatmentmud slideexercise classescruiser bikesthe lemon ricotta pancakeswine countrynapa valleyspa poolmain poolturn down servicefitness centerprivate patiosilverado trailcomplimentary bikescouples massage
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here just one night as a base to explore Calistoga. Our main aim were the mud baths but since this place offers Michelin star restaurant, we decided to stay here.
Bungalows offer nice privacy, rooms are very modern and simple.
Staff were all extremely friendly. We arrived a bit earlier and they told us that room is not ready yet, so we decided to have some lunch at Solbar. It took only 20 minutes when reception guy showed up with our key saying that suitcases will be send from our car directly to the room. Next day we had a breakfast in Solbar using Rise & Dine package, which is actually a great deal - we paid 50USD more for the room+package but ended eating breakfast worth over 100USD. Lemon-ricotta pancakes here were probably the best pancakes I ever had.
The only bad point of this place is that in room dining ends at the same time as restaurant - 9:30, so if you come back late you'll end up with no dinner and no option to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UneCharogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at Solage last week, and I'm afraid that words will not do this property justice. It was a slice of heaven on earth! We had an adorable cottage with a gas fireplace, a shower with a pebble floor and a glorious soaking tub. The bed was so comfortable with premium soft linens that felt so great after long days of wine tasting and sight seeing! When we arrived, (at 2 a.m. after about 12 hours of travel delays) a bottle of wine was waiting for us!

We awoke each day to fresh air, sunshine and the sound of birds singing coming from our little private patio. Having purchased the "Rise and Dine" package we were soon off to breakfast at Solbar. Solbar. What can you say? Egg white omlette with goat cheese and fresh spinach, fresh fruit, double shot latte… and lemon ricotta pancakes that are just insane. I loved Jose and Chris. Although I'm sure they already have parents that love them, I confess that I just kind of wanted to adopt them both. How can such an outstanding restaurant still be so unpretentious and welcoming? Thank you Solbar!

Finally the spa. We had the most fantastic couples massage followed by the signature mudslide… a real experience to remember. As if that were not enough, we invited my niece and her husband to join us for massages on night #3 before heading out for dinner. Unforgettable and worth every penny. Goodness, they even make sure you have fresh water with lemon at all times.

I have to say that this was the most beautiful place ever and the service was impeccable. We loved it so much that we extended our stay, cutting our next stop short. I am so glad we did. Thanks, Solage!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doxygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I are huge fans of the designs done by the architectural firm Backen, Gillam & Kroeger, so when we recently visited Napa Valley we chose to stay at Solage, the newest resort for the Auberge Group. The Solage Resort includes cozy cottages with private terraces, fireplace and great bathrooms, as well as a 15,000 sq.ft. spa facility featuring geothermal baths and huge pool for guests.

The highlight is the Solbar Restaurant which serves some of the best food in the Napa Valley.

At the moment Solage has a sponsorship arrangement with Mercedes Benz and guests at the hotel have a first come first served opportunity to have the use of one of the two beautiful silver grey E 550 Cabriolets We took advantage of this and drove the car for four hours down to Cakebread for a wine tasting and then to sister Hotel Auberge du Soleil for lunch. Just great!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms close to the Spa as the property is spread out over a number of acres so some of the rooms are quite a distance from the main restaurant and spa area.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Solage during the month of November, 2010. This review is quite late but after staying at another of Auberge's resorts this week (Hotel Jerome in Aspen) I decided that I needed to write a review for Solage as well. We stayed for 3 nights for our 15 yr Anniversary. We did their couples spa package and they upgraded us our first 2 nights to an amazing room with it's own fenced back yard/deck and hot tub. We were also greeted with a wine, cheese and chocolate plate. We especially liked that we had 2 cruiser bikes that came with our stay. We cruised all over Calistoga and even visited some vineyards and wineries on the cruiser bikes. We also rented road bikes from a local bike shop in Calistoga and went on several bike rides but one memorable 60 miler with lots of hills and beautiful views. We earned our spa appointments and a dip in the hot pools. The Spa Solage is The Best Spa that I've ever been to. It's top notch in every aspect. The couples rain rooms is amazing! We ate breakfast and dinner at SolBar every day. It's a Michelin Starred restaurant and you won't want to go anywhere else. They grow a lot of their own veggies and herbs in garden beds right next to the restaurant. Four years later, we are still talking about our egg white, goat cheese omelets and lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberries...oh and the fried chicken for dinner! The work-out facility is fabulous and yoga class was relaxing and fun. The resort is landscaped with rosemary bushes and olive trees. Every time we smell fresh rosemary it makes us remember Solage Calistoga and we dream about going back! Maybe next year for our 20th!

Room Tip: When you book a 'special offer' package you usually have a better chance of being upgraded. Even though we were upgraded for 2 nights to a suite and then had to move to a studio for a last night....it was WELL worth it.
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BrandieMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were there yesterday, so the "dead of winter." That meant it was raining some of the time and a little cool. While there was almost no one there (for example, we were all alone in the massage waiting room and the lockers), I think this should be the high season. The hills are so green in winter, the trees are covered in moss, and it's lovely to wade in the warm mineral pool while cool sprinkles of water fall lightly on your head. We had the most delicious lunch at their restaurant, then enjoyed a massage (perfect), a mud bath (a great couples experience), a soak in a tub, the spa chair with music (very ergo), then a soak in their mineral water pool. Very romantic, lovely afternoon. The service is also perfect; if you want someone, they're there. If you don't, they're not. The rooms are gorgeous, secluded, quiet, luxurious, and romantic. They know their stuff. Rarely do I stay someplace for a night and a spa visit and have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Everything was great.

Room Tip: We didn't hear a single peep from another guest from our room. In fact, I don't think we even saw another guest outside of the restaurant and just a couple of folks in the spa. So peaceful!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews