We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Solage is a spa/resort where guests stay in their own separate cottages. I use that word loosely, as they are quite contemporary in both their furnishings and bathroom appointments. The room also contains a pot belly contemporary fireplace, upscale toiletries and great bedding and towels. Each family will find bikes in a bike rack outside their units for their use as desired. Their are beautifully landscaped sidewalks connecting the various cottages and main buildings. It leaves you with a nice feeling to walk the grounds.

There are maybe 60 cottages scattered over a beautiful piece of property, but all within walking distance to the main facilities. The restaurant on property is superb both in service and in the offerings. I would recommend trying at least once, the lemon ricotta pancakes with homemade blueberry sauce. Actually every dish is wonderful, so there are too many to mention here.

The spa services offered, although pricey, are also wonderful and whatever services you choose to entertain I have no doubt that you will feel as if you got very individual special attention!

They also have a nice pool, steam room and sauna. One note...the property is located on a large piece of property, with great vistas, so you don't feel as if you are crowded, i.e., one resort on top of another, as in Napa, or Yountville.

Lastly the service is excellent. The hotel staff is quite accommodating in every area whether it be in the restaurant, request for room service, the spa and the concierge. The classes for fitness, we took the yoga, was wonderful. The lady who taught that class was very involved in our experience...not just the usual non involved trainer of people she didn't know.

I would have no hesitation to recommend the Solage and will stay there again when I return to the Napa valley area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulu0_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    151
    42
    26
    25
See reviews for
136
542
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The Solage is not only a fantastic place for its architecture, the quality of its rooms and the world class level spa but the level of service and attention to details is very high, all in a very relaxed ambiance. We loved staying here 3 days and will come back. My only negative comment is about the dining room, beautiful but too dark. Into my opinion being able to see what you eat, by the way very good, is not an option, so do not take the 2 persons side tables that are very dark.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BenSoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to the Solage strictly for lunch al fresco at the Sol Bar and were THRILLED!! The food was excellent! From the fish tacos to the sun choke soup, everything was top notch. The staff was very attentive and the surroundings were oh, so pleasant. As you know, there can be a chill in the air in Northern CA, but there was a gorgeous "fire" feature to keep us warm on the patio. I would HIGHLY recommend trying the Sol Bar for lunch . . . even if you aren't staying at Solage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The only thing I didnt like is that I didnt stay longer, you have a bike out of your room, so you can ride to any vineyard around, also the service is great, we arrived very late, and eventhought the kitchen was already closed they managed to give us service.
I definitly recommend this spot in case you are thinking to come to Calistoga or Napa, its aso nice if you want to come for a couple trip, we came as a family trip and my kids were also very happy

Room Tip: We asked for a double bed room, they are really big and nice with your own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarciMaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This property was great! I stayed here with a friend of mine after we had not seen each other for over a year due to deploying back to back.

Facilities were absolutely amazing. Everything is carefully manicured and you can tell that a lot of hard work and thought was put into making this place a very serene getaway.

Room was phenomenal. We had a 2 Queen Vera suite. It had plenty of room for the both of us, comfortable bedding, and a huge TV to relax and watch when we were in for the night! The bathroom was amazing, huge and included a lot of awesome amenities (full size soap, shampoo, conditioner bottles), comfortable towels, nice magnifying mirror and great lighting when getting ready to go out). Room also equipped with VERY comfortable bathrobes. So comfortable that I even bought one to attempt replicating the experience at home! Also, coffee was delicious and they deliver water bottles with mint leaves every night during turnover service- tastes great!

Solbar- excellent food! We did experience some subpar service at the bar for dinner on the first night, but food was still excellent. Had breakfast there every morning, each breakfast was amazing.

Service- These people are truly professionals at their job! They must love working there because they always greet you, even if you are just walking to your car. All of the staff there were great, especially Jason the concierge. He was able to show us the wineries to visit in the area and they were all excellent choices! Definately would use him again for recommendations.

Spa- PHENOMENAL! I had the Solage Sampler which included their signature massage, body scrub, then the Mudslide experience. All services were fantastic. During the mudslide, the girl had forgotten about me for a few minutes, but she came back to apologize and took complete ownership for what happened. It did not detract from my experience, she even gave me a free glass of champagne to make my soak even better!

This place is a GREAT experience, we both felt completely relaxed and did not want to leave. We will DEFINATELY be back,

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vera suite which was close to all of the amenities. It looked like the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be part your reunion and for sharing your experience. I was thrilled to learn you found our staff to be professional and delightful. I have shared your comments with Jason as well as his director. We hold him in equally high regard. It is my hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The solage calistoga is a amazing hotel. We had a standard room, which was perfect! We had a fireplace, a tub, nice shower, Huge Tv, and very nice bed. They had two bikes for us to use, which we road around town in. The also have a mercedes courtsey car program, where you can use the cars for 4 hours at a time. This was a great perk! The breakfast was really nice at Sol bar, we were on package where we got 50 dollars for breakfast per day. This was necessary for two people, just keep in mind that 50 dollars is a bit high for breakfast. I can't speak highly enough about this hotel and their staff. We will be returning, no questions asked!

Room Tip: We had 58 which was nice, about a 3 min walk to the main area but very seculuded as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Solage is the place that we rate all hotels by -
This is our 6th+ stay, started coming here just after they opened.
Good location in Napa, quiet (harder to find in Napa/Snoma than you would expect), very comfortable rooms.
This resort has the best swimming pool and mineral pool we have expereinced.
The Solbar Restaurant and Bar are excellent.
The Spa is an indulgent expereince
The staff is the best we have encountered!

Room Tip: Never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SleeplessBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for once again joining us at Solage and for sharing your experience. I was thrilled to learn we were able to continue to exceed your expectations. I have shared your review with our entire team. We know you have a variety of options when staying in Napa Valley and I am grateful for your continued loyalty.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
10.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
697 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,302 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
17.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
896 reviews
16.8 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solage, an Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage, an Auberge Resort

Property: Solage, an Auberge Resort
Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515-1100 (Formerly Solage Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solage, an Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage, an Auberge Resort brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Solage, an Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing