We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to live here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I want to live here”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Solage - Wow! Where to start? Firstly, this is one of the best resorts we have ever stayed in, hands down.

Secondly, if you are travelling to San Francisco from Australia and want to include the Napa Valley on your itinerary I cannot recommend enough that you hire a car and drive up to Calistoga for a few days and that you stay at Solage. It will beat any day trip that a travel brochure will describe.

Okay, let's break it down.

Arrival/Check-in
Seamless, friendly, professional. As soon as we parked our car we were greeted by a bellman who ushered us into reception and offered us cold towels and water (it was hot out). We already received a pre arrival email from the spa and concierge so made bookings for treatments and dinner prior to arriving which were confirmed at checking. The same bellman then asked us to follow him as he cycled to where out studio was. He helped us unpack, talked us through the features of the room and resort and suggested some places in town for dinner.

Our Room
We booked a Vega Studio which was perfect - very close to the fitness centre and spa. The room was very modern - king bed, locally made amenities in the bathroom, large double shower, great selection of tea and coffee and an outdoor terrace that opened onto a large area of trees. Also worth mentioning the free, resort wide wifi coverage as well. Perfect for seamless connectivity whether you are in your room of by the pool. We had daily maid service and an evening turndown service. Again, a lovely touch in that the bottled water provided are in reusable glass bottles and are flavoured with citrus and cucumber. We loved that each room came with two bikes to use - we really only used them to circle the resort a few times but we did see people using them during the day to tour wineries and get into town at night for dinner.

Resort Grounds
Stunning! Perfectly landscaped for the climate. Sunset at Solage is divine. Relax with a glass of wine and soak it in. The whole resort is laid out like a village with pockets of housing and pathways with centred around some truly original sculptures. The resort is also pet friendly and it was fun to see lots of people walking their dogs.

Spa
The Spa is how we heard about Solage as it was recently voted one of the top Spas in America by Conde Nast Traveller. The Spa is located together with the fitness centre and set out across four pavilions. The main pavilion includes the Spa check in/shop, locker rooms and waiting lounges. Across from this area is the fitness studio and next to that is the pavilion where group classes are held each day. Further across is the bathhouse area which includes a bar for light meals and refreshments, treatment rooms, outdoor gender separate clothing optional areas (features hot spa, cold plunge, steam and deck chairs) and a central pool with more chairs and private cabanas. We both booked in for massage and agreed that they were possible the best we've ever received. Lots of couples were also doing the Mudslide treatment but we already had another mud treatment booked at Indian Springs so didn't partake (next time). I cannot recommend enough that if you are coming to Solage, you book in for a treatment.

it's also worth noting that the pool in the bathhouse pavilion is much more relaxed (piped music, quieter crowd) than the main, family pool area located over on the other side of the resort near the restaurant.

Fitness Centre
Free classes are held every day ranging from high intensity stuff (i.e. Spin) to calmer stuff (i.e. Yoga). The Fitness Centre locker rooms open early in the morning at the same time as the fitness centre (5am) and include a steam room if you can't wait for the bathhouse to open. There is lots of well maintained equipment for cardio, weights and stretching. A really impressive setup.

Staff
Every staff member that we encountered was courteous and friendly. It's worth mentioning this because everyone, grounds staff to waiters to spa staff always smiled and said hello. A really slick operation with some great management.

Dining
Our only disappointment was Solbar. We were excited after everything people had been saying and from the look of the menu. Don't get us wrong, the food was amazing but the service really let the whole experience down. Maybe they were having an off night but here's how it unfolded - the greeter seemed to come across as though she has a better place to be. There was zero consistency in service all night - every order taken and every plate bought to the table was by someone different. There was supposed to be a Sommelier but he didn't visit us (shame because the wine list was amazing). I did want to make a special mention of an AMAZING desert that I had though. Stout (yes, Stout!!!) ice-cream with pretzels and burnt caramel sauce. O.M.G. Sounds crazy but it was one of the most perfectly unique things I've ever tasted.

In Summary.....
It was tough leaving Solage and it certainly a place we will make time to visit again. There are so many wineries around this area that it would be very easy to come for a week, hit the wine trail every morning and lounge at the spa every afternoon. Get here soon people - it truly is a five star deal.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the Spa and Fitness Centre book a Vega Studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    150
    42
    26
    25
See reviews for
130
533
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

What a beautiful, clean, and tranquil facility. We LOVED the Solage and will return again. The rooms were amazing. On the smaller side but VERY nice. The shower was our favorite. Very modern and relaxing. We would recomment this location to anyone. Not too far from Napa but just far enought to feel secluded. Very friendly staff. Bocce ball courts were a nightly favorite for us. We even had our own personal breakfast buffet and personal crochet match with couples on our trip. Bikes were neat. Spa was amazing. Very nice pool with food and drink service during the day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikmtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a fabulous time at Solage in June. The weather was hot, but we enjoyed sitting at the family pool and using the spa and gym. The gym is really terrific, and I loved the mineral pools. My husband had a good facial and mud treatment. Our cottage was nice and cool during the hot days, and we loved the cool shower with the stone floor.
There was a wedding taking place at the resort when we were there, and while they did dominate one half of the family pool area, they were pretty mellow. It actually made for great people watching while we ate our fish tacos!
It is a shame it is so expensive. And sadly, it's one of the most "reasonably priced" resorts in Napa- which is a terrifying thought. But they seem to be able to fill the $500-600 a night rooms, so I suppose we're stuck with our infrequent visits.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The food, accomodations, spa, and pool are wonderful, but they had a large wedding the weekend we were there, and I thought I was back at a frat party while sitting around the pool. The football throwing in the pool didn't allow us to swim, caused a racket, and splashed us as men ran the sides and dove for throws. Such a classy resort should have stepped in. We finally left the pool area because we felt like we were at a municipal pool, not a first class resort.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WHY49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the moment we step foot onto the property at Solage Calistoga, we knew we were in for a real treat. After checking in at the front desk, the "bellman" (or should I say, "Bikeman") showed us our way to our very own bungalow. We stayed in the Vega, 2 King suite and loved it! While there was not a bathtub, the beautiful shower and large room made you feel like you were on a gorgeous retreat.

The pool/spa were so beautiful, impeccably well kept and tranquil. From the sunset over the mountains, steam rising from the warm hot tub, to the mud baths at the spa, everything was amazing. We also loved the 2 "old" style bikes that came with each room. How much fun it was to ride around town on your charming little bike!

Our favorite part was breakfast at Solbar. After a day of wine tasting, the next morning we were in the mood for something hearty. The Shrimp and Grits, Lemon Ricotta Pancakes and Cheese Spoonbread were all incredible!!

I highly recommend the Solage. You're missing out if you're going to the Valley and staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimebrochu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Solage several times for a quick getaway. We are never disappointed. In a word it's blissful.... the architecture and decor, the well maintained grounds, the pool, the spa, the delicious on site food and good service, the nicely appointed rooms and the cruiser bikes at every cottage door.... make it hard to leave the resort! We usually stay for three nights, and leave wanting one more. The only negative would be that although the rooms are nicely appointed they are bit small, but it never seems to be a problem, and I am complainer when it comes to hotel rooms. We have also stayed at the Calistogo Ranch, which I believe is their sister property, but found their recently increased rates ($1200 plus per night) not worth it with the Solage as an option and we prefer the proximity to town the Solage offers.

Room tip: call the property and request a room near the oaks behind the spa (might be a higher category room). These rooms have patios that look over a ravine with oaks that are home to red tailed hawks that we've watched hunt, granted hawks can a bit loud! Also, we find these rooms are more private and lend themselves to walking or riding our cruiser to the main area of the resort. Additionally like all seasonal areas the room rates fluctuate with the seasons... I would guess from $350 pn to $700 pn. our rate this last stay was somewhere towards the high middle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThereDoneThat740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This resort is simply amazing. We splurged and opted for the stand-alone cottage and it did not disappoint. Everything about the room was fabulous, including the private back yard and hot tub. The furnishings were neutral and felt very inviting. There was a nice bathroom with separate shower and tub, separate living area with kitchenette. The bed was amazingly comfortable and we didn't really want to leave the room. But, the outdoor part of the cottage was so nice. We loved the beach bicycles. I took a stroll around Calistoga and that was fun. I really love the resort property. It's big. You can park your car right in front of your room/cottage and you feel like you are the only people there. We also ate dinner at the restaurant, which was phenomenal. The food, service, dessert....all amazing. We really loved this place and will definitely go back. As an added benefit, the hotel sent us a letter inviting us back for an additional stay, at a discounted rate. They really know how to run a resort. Nice touch. Our only regret is not staying longer. Like another guest commented.....can we move in??

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding and have a high degree of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
16.9 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
10.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
676 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
17.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
887 reviews
16.8 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solage, an Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage, an Auberge Resort

Property: Solage, an Auberge Resort
Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515-1100 (Formerly Solage Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solage, an Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage, an Auberge Resort brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Solage, an Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing