We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Castle but wasn't amazed by the wines”

Castello di Amorosa
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 136,000 square feet, the authentically-built 13th-century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours, food and wine pairing tours and a cheese and wine tour. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award-winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone," the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points. The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Mclean, VA, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing Castle but wasn't amazed by the wines”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The castle itself is very impressive, but it was too much like Disneyland than it was a winery. It is VERY crowded and it is very huge. It is meant to be a replica of a Tuscan castle and it is amazing. It is good to go see once, but I don't think I would go back. Not to say that everyone wasn't friendly, they were very friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank phillip_norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,469
    922
    381
    149
    100
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Music at the Castle”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a very nice venue, but was marred by squeaky tent lines over the performers. Very distracting for the musicians and audience. Outdoor music has its challenges, but this was annoying.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick & Fun”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were only going to be at Napa for half the day because we had plans in San Francisco in the evening.

This is a fun quick all around tour. We didn't pay for the actual tour, just for the wine tasting. The decor is beautiful as we don't get to see castles often.

The wine tasting was fun & they have a lot of goodies to buy. We ended up buying 5 bottles. They don't sell them in stores.

If you are a wine snob, this may not be the place for you. Just keep an open mind while you're there. Our wine tasting guy was extremely fun and informative. I think he was French.

We went on July 4, around 12pm... It was HOT and CROWDED. I'm surprised I was able to get a few decent photos.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Castello di Amorosa”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

An Italian Castle with wine tasting...worth spending a couple of hours there exploring and tasting their wine. Staff there from many different countries and it was interesting talking to them about the soccer world cup ; )

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lasting impression”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a must stop if you are in Caligosta, Ca. This winery does not distribute to stores. Feel like royalty when exploring this castle. Wine tasting will have you buying bottles of wine. Nothing compares to this place. Be sure to also visit V. Sattui in Napa.

Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing