We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vincenzo”

Castello di Amorosa
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Trolley and Castle Tour
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 136,000 square feet, the authentically-built 13th-century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours, food and wine pairing tours and a cheese and wine tour. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award-winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone," the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points. The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Plantation, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Vincenzo”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was impressed from the moment I saw the Castle with animals in the surroundings it was like being transported back in time! They have a fiery brick oven and large eating hall with a water well inside I felt like a King and this was my domain! We than went down to the tasting room were we meet Vincenzo with his warm smile and effervescent personality he seemed to truly see into our thoughts and presented to us the perfect wines, with each one better than the last, until we could not taste anymore and decided to make a purchase of our first case of wine! I can't wait till they arrive to us so we may drink and feel transported back in time in our own Castle in Florida
.Thanks Vincenso and Castello di Amorosa

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gditz0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,536
    954
    395
    150
    104
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tuscan Castle brought to Napa”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

As you approach Castello di Amorosa you can easily picture yourself in the Tuscan hills. It is built according to the designs of the old Italian castles. The outside terraces provide a good feeling of open terraces but also provide excellent views of the vineyards and countryside. The expanded tour provides a guide (ours was Sean), who knows the history of the castle and founder. He also knows the subtleties of the wines. He provides a good tour through the courtyards and down through the armory and dungeon. (Okay these are on the small side, but give you the definite taste of the old authentic castles. The tasting room is definitely designed to entice one to buy the wines. The wines have a range, but include some of above average quality. You exit through a gift shop that is priced as most tourist attractions are. You then exit the Castello to see their collection of animals. not your standard winery visit and tasting, but certainly worth a visit when in the Valley.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GATraveller60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great winery in castiloga”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

On the up side:
small family owned winery
wines here are unique and can only be bought in the castle
underground shop was pretty big and had allot of excellent selections of wine and kitchen items.
great animal farm and excellent feel of a genuine castle

On the downside
Always full and attention from the wine tasting employees will be a bit fast and quick
Pricey!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun for Photographers”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We signed up for the tour of Castello di Amorosa and really enjoyed ourselves. My husband and I are avid photographers and this tour gave us plenty of opportunities. The tasting was also good (We did the private tasting), however every time they poured a glass they reminded you it was on sale or how much it was (Made it feel very pushy and just selling the wine instead of getting time to enjoy it. I am guessing they make commission). But overall the favorite side trip from Napa!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disneyland, Tourist Trap Feel, but a Fun Visit!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

First of all, if you can accept the castle for what it is, then you can enjoy it. It is a fake tourist trap that is a slap in the face to the more authentic, classy, and sophisticated wineries in the region. BUT, we are tourists, and of course we went to see it and taste the wines. The castle itself was built by John Daryl Sattui, who legally changed his name to "Dario," in an apparent effort to fit into his Tuscan castle fantasy life. The castle is beautiful and very Disney-esque, and has Disney prices to go along with it. The tour was fun, complete with a torture chamber. The wines were OK - not overly impressive. The gift shop was, of course, elaborate and enjoyable in a kitschy way. I wouldn't say it's a "must see," but I would also not go so far as to say "avoid." It just is what it is, and can be a fun visit with the right, easygoing mindset.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MPuzziferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing