We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wine tasting”

Castello di Amorosa
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Trolley and Castle Tour
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 136,000 square feet, the authentically-built 13th-century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours, food and wine pairing tours and a cheese and wine tour. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award-winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone," the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points. The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Los Gatos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wine tasting”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautiful castle! poor service:(. We paid $18 to tour on our own and wine tasting for each adult and $8 for the children for water. They don't have enough helper on the tasting room. We had 6 adults and 4 children. I have to wait forever just to get water for the children. Bad bad service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dwbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,510
    941
    388
    150
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Step into a real Italian castle and have some excellent wine.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is really amazing. We were treated to a tour and wine tasting at this castle in the Napa valley. Our guide was so fun and took us all around from the production facilities to the dungeon. The wine tasting was just wonderful and of course the gift shop has everything. Try the Fantasia wine. A sweet, fruity, red.
There is no place to eat here but there are lots of cafes in town.
If you dreamt of going to Italy you can get a preview here. It is gorgeous and authentic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was easily the highlight on our trip in napa valley.
Great atmosphere, nice location, extraordinary wine, genuine Italian staff, fantastic scenery.
It was very hard to though. We had to do 4 u turns before we found it.
But it was so worth it!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjeff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangevale CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must see during your trip to the wine country”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've been to the Napa wine country numerous times but this is the first time to Castello di Amorosa. We rented a limo in the valley for 6 hours. It normally takes less than 2 hours to get to Calistoga which gave us 2 hours for wine tasting and touring. Due to road construction it took almost 2 1/2 hours to get there which limited our time to only 1 hour at the castle. Not enough time to see everything. We wine tasted first and that took almost an hour. It was one of the best tastings I've been to. We sampled almost a dozen wines and I thought each one was exceptional and ended up purchasing a case of mixed wines. The structure was stunning with what appeared to be authentic details. The grounds were amazing with numerous photo ops. Would strongly suggest either renting a limo, bus or having a DD.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mackimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wine tasting in a castle.....say what?”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I drove up to Calistoga with my cousins and we went wine tasting at the castle Di Amorosa. We paid $18 to tour on our own, and that came with wine tasting. (5 wines) There is also a tour you can take with a guide for $33 per person. We walked around the castle which was cool, and there are some beautiful views and photo opportunities. The woman who served us wine was very nice, and she explained the different types of wine and the foods you could serve with them. It was a really nice experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank losinginla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing