We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic architecture, medieval experience and wine tasting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Amorosa

Castello di Amorosa
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Trolley and Castle Tour
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is the one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 136,000 square feet, the authentically-built 13th century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours,food and wine pairing tours and a cheese and wine tour. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone" the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points. The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic architecture, medieval experience and wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great fun seeing a serious reproduction of an Italian castle, complete with a chapel, execution room and replica of the famous painting by Ambrogio Lorenzetti "Good and Bad Government in the city and country." Rudy Giuliani had this painting in his office when he was mayor! Delicious wine, great venue for wedding or festive event!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeemCreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,296
    893
    368
    143
    98
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I WAS IN A CASTLE ENJOYING WINE AND CHOCOLATE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is amazing! A beautiful Tuscan-styled castle for wine-tasting. The people who work here are amazing and super friendly! My friend and I explored the gorgeous castle and were amazed by its architectural glory. The history behind the castle made us appreciate it a whole lot more. Hard work and perseverance with years of building and tons of work for the wine led to an amazing place with excellent wine. After exploring, we went downstairs for wine tasting. Our tickets entitled us to 5 free wine tastes but our wine expert decided that he wanted us to try every single wine on the tasting list. Their range of wines is impressive from whites to reds to dessert wines to rose. Think about it. Drinking wine in an amazing castle with friendly people! This winery is a gorgeous place with an excellent and friendly staff and wonderful wine!

Helpful?
Thank OliviaT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Feel Royal for a Bit & Enjoy Some Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great stop while in the Napa area. The drive up to the castle is beautiful & the view of castle at the top of the hill is stunning. Although not actually "old," the castle was built to reflect the era of castles long ago, with much attention taken to the details & building practices. The tour is well worth the money, with insight into the making of the castle & its experience, taking you on a winding journey through the caves below, the crush pad, a barrel tasting & of course the full tasting! For those interested in white & dessert wines, this is also a great stop. The owner wanted the wine to not be "stuffy," & wanted it to appeal to wine drinkers of many levels & tastes. Great wine, good prices & fun tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShamrockB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cool place, good tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

An amazingly accurate European castle built in the middle of wine country complete with a torture room with an Iron Maiden. It was a fun and interesting tour of not only the castle but also where the wine was being made. The tour ends with a tasting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BWK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
715 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Rainy wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in Napa for our honeymoon and had a rainy day, so we decided to check out the castle wine tour! We were not disappointed! We did a chocolate pairing with our wine tasting and it was fabulous! We ended up buying two bottles of wine to take home with us. I will say, I was a little disappointed because I had read about a carriage tour on the grounds of the castle, but in the weeks leading up to our trip, I couldn't find that information any longer. Regardless, we had a great guide and enjoyed our time on a rainy day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing