We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty”
Review of Barolo - CLOSED

Barolo
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fairway
Description: Located in Calistoga in the heart of California's world famous Napa Valley, Barolo Italian Kitchen and Cocktails offers the best in contemporary Italian cuisine with a focus on local, seasonal and organic ingredients in a fun and eclectic atmosphere. Inspired by the traditions and cuisine of Italy, Chef Vince Sanchez is turning heads with his modern take on Italian classics. His cuisine incorporates local, seasonal produce, his fresh take on Italian comfort food is sure to delight. Urban sophistication meets Napa Valley sensibility in this unpretentious local gem of a restaurant. Alongside our abundant cocktails, we offer great local and imported wine selections at reasonable prices. With many drink specials, wine by the glass, bar bites and good times to be had, Barolo is surely the place to be. Looking for an inspired Italian menu for your birthday, wedding, company retreat dinner or private party? Barolo is a great location for intimate Italian dining or a vibrant Napa Valley after party. Please contact us for more information.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Unpretentious service and good food. Our pastas and fish were delicious, cleanly made with excellent ingredients. The red neon lights are rather distracting, but other than that, no complaints!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmericanQuixote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    76
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Quaint Italian Bistro”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Barolo was recommended by our hotel. It is small, so very intimate. There was a variety of locals and tourists dining. We sat at the bar, and our server recommended a lovely Riff Pinot Grigio. The thin crust pizza was yummy, and totally hit the spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A fantastic find! Truly great food and wonderful service. We were seated promptly and given a moment to review the menu before our very knowledgeable server Matt helped guide our dining journey. Matt began by helping us decide on a wine first asking our preference then giving us bit of a blind tasting to let us discern our preference.
We tried the corn on the cob as an appetizer, amazing flavors, I can't wait to steal it and try it at home.
We dined on the the ORECCHIETTE and CAVATELLI; both were wonderful, but the Orecchiette was a complete surprise with soo much flavor and contrasting textures.
I really look forward to dining here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allenhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian Bistro”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great food, in a modern classy place.
Friendly and attentive staff who were outstandingly helpful.
Good wine list, and outstanding value for money

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nice atmosphere. Pricey. Decent food and wine.went there because we were trying to experience a number of Calustoga restaurants.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crosebriwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barolo also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing