We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy but a Yummy Lunch”
Review of Puerta Vallarta

Puerta Vallarta
Ranked #24 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: in the alley, next to Calmart grocery store
Restaurant details
Description: in the alley, next to Calmart grocery store
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy but a Yummy Lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service was good. Little ones playing were so cute too!
The enchilada was really good -- beef tender and moist. The rice and beans were normal fare found at any Mexican lunch spot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill_WilmNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Easy Affordable and Fresh”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I like that you get an easy simple no fuss great food
and a great price. If you aren't into or tired of the California spa food scene this is a down to earth place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 929DANR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A lot of potential in gynormous servings”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Would have like them to reduce the serving size by 30-35% and improve on their quality. The chicken tortilla soup used bullion broth (sad). Their burritos were smothered in sauce and melted cheese (should be called enchilada instead). Tacos were just the right sized portions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sweet Burritos are not my thing”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place was just okay. Based on the other Yelp Reviews, we were expecting a better meal overall. The burrito was quite sizeable but had a sweet sauce smothered all over it. I like my burritos spicy with flavor, but not a sugary taste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JULESVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great stop for Mexican”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food here is tasty but I rate it as average because it is pretty standard fare. When I am in Calistoga, I almost always eat one meal here. The service is great, the prices rock and it is consistent. Great choice when in the mood for enchiladas.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Vallarta also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Puerta Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing