We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlin Country Cottages
Panama City FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice stopover, great location”
Reviewed May 21, 2005

Cute little cottages in wine country, clean and quiet. Hot mineral pool was a plus. Nice friendly town to visit. Owners very pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
5 Thank CatPanamaCityFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    14
    11
    15
See reviews for
29
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2005

This place is immaculate! This is a small simple property of connecting cottages. It is arranged around a small pool and spa, which we really enjoyed during our time there. The proprietors are friendly and helpful and quickly responded when we had a key problem. Our group of four had the largest cottage which had a queen bedroom and two twins in an open area, as well as a full kitchen, bath and living room area. The one criticism I have is that there was a strong musty odor in the cottage and it seemed to aggravate my allergies. Also, my pet peeve: why are strictly non smoking rooms sprayed with eye and nose irritating "air fresheners"?

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leslie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2004

We don't understand how anyone could rate Carlin Country Cottages anything less then great!! We had a wonderful stay! We were entertaining quests from New Zealand and booked a three night stay at Carlin's Cottages in Calistoga. Our experience was warm and wonderful right from the start. The front desk clerk Lori was very friendly and helpful and the managers were warm and welcoming. The four of us stayed in a one bedroom suite. The large bedroom offered a king bed and the livingroom had a pull out queen size sofa bed very comfortable. The out door mineral pool and jacuzzi are just a few steps out your front door. The pool temperature is lovely and the same with the jacuzzi.
Our suite was complete with a fullly equipped kitchen and there is a barbecue area with picnic tables open to all guests. What a value this place is very reasonably priced for all that it offers! The rooms are very clean and the grounds well maintained a very comfortable atmosphere. We loved it and we'll be back.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2004

I don't understand how other people could have given this place an OK review, but we were worried when we first drove up to the place. It was kind of creepy looking with a pool area right in the middle of the parking lot!! This is Calistoga where I would imagine most people expect something a little more relaxing than cars driving around them while trying to relax in the pool or hot tub. We should have been suspicious when they demanded full payment for the weekend during check in as opposed to check out and unfortunately we didn't check the room before checking in. When we got to the room, a one bedroom suite with kitchen, the paint was peeling off of a very water damaged front door and as soon as we opened the door we were greeted with a combination of cigarette smell and cleaning products (I'm sure to try and cover it up!!!). While standing there trying to figure out what to do, one of the people in our party used the bathroom and had to flush the toilet 3 times to get it to flush all of the way. Fortunately, we called some other hotels right away (it was 8:00 at night) and found the only other room available on a busy Friday night in this resort town. When we went back to the front desk, the clerk called the manager to ask what to do and she was told to go to the room and check for the smell. When she came back, she said it didn't smell like cigarettes (surprise, surprise) and when we asked about the toilet, she just said we would have to hold the handle down for a while to get it to flush properly!!!! She told us that they would not refund our payment. Anyway, we left vowing to take the matter up with our credit card company and went to another hotel (Best Western Stevenson Manner) which was VERY nice. I would advise that no one stay at this place, it is just horrible!!!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank southpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calistoga hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2004

This is a no frills, great value, very clean place to stay. It has a mini refridgerator and a coffee pot. The tv has cable. We brought our dvd player to watch movies but the tv was not equipped with an rca jack to hook up the dvd player. We stayed in the jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi was a large two person mineral jacuzzi tub. We were a bit taken back by the smell of the sulpher in the mineral water. It smelled like rotten eggs. We had never experienced a mineral water bath before and probably will not again. On a postive note about the jacuzzi experience, it left your skin feeling smoother. There is a bath/shower combo in the next room that has regular water from the city. We will stay there again when we visit Calistoga but not in the jacuzzi room because we would not use it. The office staff is very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 10, 2003

A great value. We stayed here for two days while visiting Napa and wished we would have stayed longer. A nice quiet location, close enough to walk to stores and restaurants. The hot spring mineral tub was so relaxing after a long day. The other guests were so friendly and helpful. The kitchen came in handy to heat up meals instead of going out all the time.Will definately go back and recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.4 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.4 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlin Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlin Country Cottages

Property: Carlin Country Cottages
Address: 1623 Lake St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1329
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlin Country Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carlin Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlin Country Cottages Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing