We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty disapointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlin Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlin Country Cottages
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty disapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was appalled at this cottage. It was not in a good neighborhood and when pulling in, I felt as if we were pulling into a shady outdoor motel location. It was very run down in the room. When I opened the mini fridge to store drinks, there was melted ice cream all over the fridge. I picked this place because of the "mineral jacuzzi tub." I turned on the water and it stunk of rotten eggs. I then activated the jets and black particles shot out from the jets. It was disgusting. The room smelled of rotten eggs the rest of the night. The bed was hard as a rock. When I complained to the front desk the next morning, they said I should have told them and we could have switched rooms. Problem is that the front desk/office closes at 9pm and this occurred at 9:30pm. They also said they had "never heard of this problem before." I find that hard to believe when the jets in the jacuzzi tubed were caked in black grime. This was a MAJOR disappointment when I was seeking a romantic night in Napa Valley. The only plus to this place was that it was close to Castillo Amorosa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napacali, Owner at Carlin Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Our apology to dirty disappointment. We are sorry she did not enjoy her stay. However may I explain the Jacuzzi room experience. The water that fills the jacuzzi tub is straight from our hot springs. Hence the rotten egg smell. The dark specs from the jets are dried mineral deposits from the water.
There are instructions in every room that give detailed explanations on how to use and what to expect from the use of these tubs. If the water did not smell like sulphur that would mean it is not the real thing (hot Springs).

The "ice cream" found in the refrigerator is very unusual for Carlin Cottages housekeeping. My manager offered a new refrigerator but the guest turned him down. All our beds are 1-3 years old.

I hope this clears up a few things and I want the guest to know that their comfort is our first priority.

Our office hours are 9am to 9pm, but, we live on the property and a call to the front desk is alway answered and assistance provided. Our outdoor pool and hot tub are also hot spring fed mineral water. These pools do not give off the sulphur smell. We also offer rooms with full kitchens that may better accommodate this guest. We thank you for visiting Carlin Cottages and hope you will return and enjoy our full service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    13
    9
    13
See reviews for
25
42
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clean, quiet stay in Calistoga. Located just off the main drag and close to restaurants and shops. Great headquarters for a few days in upper Napa Valley. Very close to dozens of award- winning wineries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livinthedream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Unfortunately, we were disappointed with our stay here because we felt the lodging was more of a motel than what we expected. Everything was fine but not what we expected for the money and value- we did not think that this was going to be like an old motor lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a very nice alternative to a regular hotel room. The cottages were immaculate with a very nice kitchen. Very good value and location. Loved staying here! I traveled solo and was very comfortable staying here. The outside grounds were well kept and the flowers added a nice touch.
2 large grills were available along with picnic tables.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

There were 3 families and we rented 4 rooms and everyone of us loved our "cottage". This probably was a motor lodge but they have refurbished it and it really is a quaint and lovely place to stay. Nice, large, clean rooms, most have kitchens, microwave, refridgerator. Each cottage has an outdoor area where you can sit outside sip your coffee. Our group of 10 people had lunch in their outdoor area, and played a couple of games. This place is really a gem. Close to town, the market. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeenichka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Carlin Cottages is located in Calistoga, close to a market and the main street. You can easily walk or drive to downtown. The cottages are clean, quiet, have everything you need for a comfortable stay. We rented 4 rooms and they have a great outdoor space to hang out and relax, eat lunch and then we played some games after swimming. If you are looking for posh decorations this is not the place for you; if your looking for a clean & comfortable place with large rooms & kitchen this is the place for you.
Our room was the king size spa roome and the spa in our room was large enough for both of us (my husband is 6'3").
We will come back.

Room Tip: This place is located in a residential area so it is quiet but there is a school across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZinJohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Back in time review says it all. Good value, great place to have as a meeting place for friends. More DIY, but comfortable & near everything. Rent a bike @ Calistoga bike shop, stop by Calistoga Roastery, hope on the wine shuttle....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
0.7 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlin Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlin Country Cottages

Property: Carlin Country Cottages
Address: 1623 Lake St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1329
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlin Country Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Carlin Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlin Country Cottages Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing