We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good wines”

Frank Family Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Country Semi-Custom Limousine Tour
Ranked #7 of 68 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Consistently good wines”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We've been to Frank Family Vineyards several times. We had a particulary enjoyable tasting with Monty Hayward last week. The chardonnays have always been a favorite of ours as well as the cabernets. One new surprise was the petite syrah--excellent. This is one winery we bring out- of -towners to since we know it'll be consistently good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanJElDoradoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    58
    22
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Bum's Rush?”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Three of us scheduled a "classic" (e.g. $20) tasting at the Frank Family Vineyards. Arriving early, we had to wait for the tasting, which is not that unusual. Waiting, however, we saw that the party ahead of us was given a reasonably leisurely and chatty tasting by the fellow behind the bar. When we were told that we could begin ours, we had to wade through the previous party that seemed reluctant to leave. The bar person quickly poured a small measure of chardonnay -- the other pours were also rather miserly -- before he ran off somewhere. When he came back, we asked for some water between tastings. He came back with maybe two ounces of water in a glass and pointed to a water dispenser if we wanted more. There were no crackers or other palate cleansers. While we got one more pour than the advertised four, our sense was that we were being given a late afternoon bum's rush. All in all not a particularly pleasant experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arkcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,312 reviews
639 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Super Friendly”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This has been a favorite winery of ours for years. We arrived early on a Saturday morning. Things have changed since our last visit. You now need to check in and pay for your choice of tasting. One we got to our "bar" to taste, the employee (sorry I'm bad with names) was fantastic. He took a lot of time with us and let us taste extra wines that we were interested in trying. Super experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great wine!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wonderful wines, quaint tasting room, staff wasn't initially very engaging, but overall a good experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChelleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Above average wines, average tasting experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

No appointment needed -- contrary to a few years old Food and Wine article, there is a tasting fee ($15 and $20 based on the tasting you want). Still, very good for the valley!

Wines are above average, especially the reds. Liked the merlot and Cab, but too pricey for us. Grounds looked pretty but there was no tour, which is what we really enjoy. Picnic tables out front available. Took <1hour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bitterswtmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Family Vineyards also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Frank Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing