We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a lovely,quiet resort..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hideaway Cottages
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Calistoga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a lovely,quiet resort..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

This has to be the most quiet place in all Napa Valley.Consisting of 18 cottages, each with kitchens and picnic tables right outside or a separate porch, p[erfect for an evening cocktail and Go and try it yourselves. !protected from the hot dry summer sun by big shady trees. Since they do not accept pets or children it is really quiet and oh sooooooooooooooo relaxing and only 1 block from downtown with its restaurants. The staff is kind and helpful and it is the perfect place for an extended summer vacation. Highly recommanded!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    14
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We found this to be a nice place, but short of outstanding. The accommodations were nice enough and the wireless internet worked OK. The grounds were generally attractive with an outdoor pool and spa. It was clean and quiet, and an easy walk to the interesting shops and restaurants of downtown Calistoga. We paid $198 + local 12% Transient Occupancy tax and thought it was somewhat expensive for what it was.To be fair though, just about every place around here is comparatively expensive and the cost might be compensated for some by the fact that the units have kitchenettes. For ourselves, we’d hate to miss trying the local restaurants. (Skip the Mexican place though!)

We'd rate this a "needs improvement". Frankly, it's looking a bit frayed these days (with the broken asphalt, etc.) and is beginning to show the signs of neglect. It has real potential though if restored to what was once its glory. At this point, it wouldn't take that much to do it. We'd recommend the owners take an objective look at how customers see the place. Customers paying room rates this high deserve basic maintenance and attention to detail.

  • Liked — Easy walk to downtown Calistoga
  • Disliked — The beginning signs of neglect
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at Hideaway twice in 2006 and loved our experience. This time we were not so happy. We had to change rooms because of an uncomfortable bed and the room we were moved into, Madrid, had a bed that was just as lumpy. Also, the staff seems to have changed. We remember a really helpful woman from New Zealand who was super friendly and gave us a lot of advice about restaurants. The new manager seems super stressed and wasn't very helpful. The tote breakfast is sweet but could they please get some new beds? Please?!?

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Spookygrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

Hideaway Cottages is a collection of small cottages located in "downtown" Calistoga, just a block off the main street. It's an easy walk to restaurants, shops and mud baths. We spent two relaxing days here. There are no pets or kids allowed, and they are located in a residential area so it is QUIET! The cottages are nicely appointed and ours had a real, working kitchen. There is a nearby grocery store, wine shops and a bakery, so we were able to stock up and then spend our time around the pool, reading and relaxing. The TV in the sitting room had real cable with a ton of channels, but we never used it. Everything was clean and there is daily maid service. This place is a find for an old fashioned relaxing summer get away.

  • Liked — Relaxed pace and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

Our cozy cottage was perfect for a relaxing weekend! Bedrooms are nicely decorated in a modern farmhouse style with high quality linens. The cottages have small kitchens and guests can pick up a takeaway tote containing a breakfast of freshly baked pastries and juice each morning. We also enjoyed having our own private patio area - perfect for sipping an evening glass of your favorite wine from that day's vineyard tours. Easy walking distance to excellent downtown restaurants and spas, and the service from the staff was uniformly friendly and accomodating. Hideaway Cottages was the perfect place to fully relax and feel right at home in Napa Valley!

  • Liked — Fantastic Location, Nice Rooms, Relaxing Ambiance
  • Disliked — Loved it All!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BritgirlOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

We could not have been more pleased with the accomodations. We spent time trying to find a place to stay that would sent a laid-back, calm and relaxing tone for our trip. We found it.

Compared to most hotels/motels/B&Bs in the area, these cottages are conveniently located. They are just two blocks from the main street. (Calistoga only has one main street with one red light.) It was a very easy walk to the far end of town. If you need supplies, the grocery is on the corner. Because you are off the main road, the area is quiet and peaceful.

The cottages are dated. Built in the 40's. Think 50's ranch house for interior, especially kitchen and bath. This is not a sleak, modern hotel. It's a charming alternatives to the motels and B&Bs in the area. We stayed several days and found the cottage quite comfortable.

Our room had a kitchen, bath, bedroom, and a den with couch and TV. Plenty of room.

They are very clear that the office will not be staffed overnight and that they routinely walk the property. If the staff has to leave the property for any time, they post this information. They even put a note on our door that they had to leave early due to illness. Honestly, once we checked-in we did not need the staff until check-out.

Parking is not adjacent to the cottages but is very close. With rolling luggage, this really wasn't an issue.

They do not have phones in the room. They do have wireless internet.

Breakfast is delicious - fruit, juice and pastries from a local bakery. The coffee in the room is from the local coffee house and is excellent. Most mornings we took our breakfast outside. They provide outside table and chairs for each cottage.

The staff was very helpful. Great resturant and winery recommendations. Even gave us discount coupons.

This is the "sister" property to Dr. Wilkinson's (best massage in Calistoga) and is an all-adult property. That might have added to the peaceful nature of our stay.

Our room was close to the pool. The pool area is lovely. The only complaint we had was that the maintenance shed was next to the pool and the grounds keeper and housekeeping started early - before we wanted to wake up. Given how clean the place is and how comfortable the beds are - this is a small inconvenience.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Early maintance crew
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

Called Dr. W motel and referred here because they were full. Traveling with my mom for wine country visit. This hotel has lovely grounds, comfortable beds. We paid $205 (I hope) for a one night stay this past weekend. We had a one bedroom unit with a living area and full kitchen.

We liked:
*comfortable beds, nice bedding
*free wireless internet (call desk for password)
*very well kept and clean
*didn't use the pool/hottub, but it looked very inviting

We didn't like:
*erratic furnace--two speeds: high and off
*not staffed at front desk a lot of the time, couldn't find anyone to check us out, hence I hope I was charged the quoted $205
*can't park adjacent to cottages, although this did enhance the overall ambience of the grounds--made loading and unloading a little difficult
*no phone, which, if you have a cell isn't much of a problem I suppose

I'd stay again, but probably not for just a one-night visit. You hate to pay for amenities you don't use, such as the kitchen. But this hotel was competive price-wise with regular motels in this area. Breakfast is included, but you have to walk to the front office and pick up a bagged assortment of rolls and juice. There's a coffe-maker with one bag of coffee included. Closest restaurant about 4 blocks and there are several nice ones within 4-5 blocks. No vending machines or gift shop, so be sure you have everything you may need before settling in for the night.

Would recommend for a family, a group of friends, anyone who wants to save a little by preparing some meals. There are a few steps up to the front door--I'm not sure if every unit though, so ask if accessibility is an issue.

  • Liked — Although only a twin, the mattress was really good with choice of pillows.
  • Disliked — But sleep interrupted when it got too hot, had to turn furnace off, then too cold in a.m.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skipaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.0 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
4.3 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cottages

Property: Hideaway Cottages
Address: 1412 Fairway, Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Resort Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing