We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway at the end of the school year.”
Review of Hideaway Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hideaway Cottages
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Beautiful Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway at the end of the school year.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The cottages are so cute and the kitchen made it possible to save some money for spa days! Clean, cozy and private. Also, this property is 18 and over which is perfect for our annual getaway. The breakfast tote was carb heavy but tasty! Good coffee too. Nice pool and also a short walk to the main street of town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBeachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave the great review. We make every effort to create a quiet and friendly atmosphere at Hideaway. Although only two blocks away from historic Lincoln Avenue, the property does have an intentionally "rural" feel to it! On your next visit, please let us know and we are happy to make your breakfast tote less carb heavy, perhaps adding more organic fruits in place of the carb heavy, but yummy pastries.

We thank you and hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    14
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved Hideaway Cottages! The cottages are super clean, well maintained and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and so nice to be able to relax in your cottage with a cup of yummy coffee. Hideaway is just two blocks from the main street so it was within walking distance of restaurants, spas, etc.. A charming place to unwind!

Room Tip: Just remember to ask if the cottage you're getting has doors on the bedroom, especially if snor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your very kind review! We make every effort to maintain a quiet and peaceful atmosphere for our guests.

As we do not accept guests under the age of 18, the grounds, as you stated, are usually very quiet and rleaxing.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at the Hideaway Cottages about two week ago with my girlfriend, Emily. We loved the place. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The lawns and gardens were well maintained. It was two blocks from the main street so there was no traffic, and it was a quick walk to all the restaurants and bars. Day and night, it remained quiet and peaceful. Because of the weather, we didn't use the swimming pool but we did enjoy the hot tub. I also enjoyed the no kids policy. Five stars, will recommend to friends and return in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend the Garden Fronts, best view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IRockHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hideaway Cottages. The grounds are very relaxing and the pool area was peaceful and well maintained. If you want slick chrome and steel modern rooms, this is not for you. We very much enjoyed the modest but very clean and comfortable cottages. Only a couple of blocks from restaurants, it was a pleasure to walk to and from dinner. This is a great option for a family reunion or a group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSB018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

After years of staying at Hideaway Cottages, I will NOT go back again. The draw for me was the "peaceful" grounds and pool. I was willing to pay, up to and above, $200 for the "peaceful" atmosphere, but it is anything but peaceful! The pool area is a bit rundown, and has neighbors that are quite loud. Both sides of the pool area had kids in yards that were very loud, and a another bordering property had a very yappy dog.. I understand that the owners, and managers can't control the neighbors..but I think advertising as a "peaceful" place is deceptive! There was limited management on site, and we had neighbors in adjacent cottages that sat outside at night and were very talkative. Bottom-line, it's not peaceful and not worth the price!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Elysed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markwilkinson, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Elysed,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a long time guest, we especially value your feedback. With respect to the noisy neighbours, we try to address any and all noise issues. You are absolutely correct that we have no control over our neighbors but had you let us know, we would have given them a call and asked them to keep the noise down. We have been in contact with the owners of the "yappy" dog. We are available 24/7 for any situations , as posted on our guest information sheets. Again, had you let us know, we would have contacted the people staying in the adjacent cottages and asked them to be more discrete.

Unfortunately, we cannot change things after the fact. As a long time guest, you know that Hideaway Cottages is usually a very quiet place. We truly hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Delightful cottages from the thirties, spotless and well maintained with good air conditioning and excellent beds. The tiny kitchen and living room area made this ideal for families or groups who want to hang out together. The brown bag breakfast had four stars only in that it wasn't hot food, but it was generous, delicious and fresh, with fresh baked muffins and granola, fresh fruits and juices, and other things. Front desk was gracious and responsive, and we were warned before arrival that an antique car race would be making noise one night of our stay; it did not bother us. Lovely pool area with tables for picnicking and a gourmet grocery store two blocks down the street. Stayed there with three girlfriends from high school, all four of us were delighted with the place and will return with spouses. One morning we awoke and went outside to find colorful balloon rides landing in an adjacent feel. Rural small town feel and total charm. Set in a residential area but two blocks to the main drag in Calistoga with shops, restaurants, etc. Pool area looked lovely but I didn't try it so can't describe further. A delight!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markwilkinson, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear FoxVoyage,

Thank you for the pleasant review. I am thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed the old world but updated ambiance of Hideaway Cottages. We strive daily to maintain a quiet and serene atmosphere and I am happy that you had a chance to enjoy the tree shrouded grounds and relaxation areas. Next time, please enjoy the pools! They are wonderful on a sunny afternoon or a starry Calistoga night.

Hope to see you again soon!
Mark Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at The Hideaway Cottages(bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and full kitchen) in Calistoga, California. Very charming, quiet, and relaxing place with beautiful grounds, swimming pool and jacuzzi. Reminded me of a place out of the 50's. Easy walk to Main street to check out shops, restaurants, etc. We're headed back next July to catch up on wineries and fine dining.

Only concern are the thin walls. Probably not the best place for newlyweds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowhite732937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.9 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cottages

Property: Hideaway Cottages
Address: 1412 Fairway, Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Resort Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing