We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting for Pure Relaxation and Experiencing the Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We had been wanting to go here for a long time and finally did so. Our high expectations were met and we cannot wait to return someday and stay longer than the 3 days we just did.

The Ranch is built into the side of a gently sloping hill and is very beautiful and peaceful. You get the sense you are really able to enjoy the outdoors but it comes with an amazing room and great service to boot.

The service at the Ranch is top notch. The staff at the poolside bar and restaurant are very friendly as was everybody else we met. The concierge was very helpful with our wine tastings and dinner reservations. There were nice added touches throughout, such as jelly beans left on the bed one night, or a surprise bottle of champagne and a piece of cake that came complimentary as we were celebrating an anniversary.

The room was terrific. We had a one bedroom oak creek spa lodge. The bedroom and living area are separated by a large deck with a hot tub. The deck was perfect for enjoying the early morning sunshine or for lounging in front of the indoor/outdoor fireplace late at night after a great meal. We also loved the bathroom and in particular the outdoor shower. One suggestion for them on the room would be to have some more selections in the mini bar. What is in there when you arrive is complimentary which is great, but some liquor would have been a nice touch. To their credit they are very efficient with room service requests for things that aren't already in the fridge.

The pool area is pretty nice, not amazing. It's a smaller pool and the ranch does seem to be popular for families with babies and small children so keep that in mind. You will probably hear kids having a good time enjoying the pool if you go. The pool does get great sun all day long and is a very nice setting, as you views of the surrounding hills and nearby vines.

The spa is on the small to medium side but very peaceful just like the rest of the place. They have a couple of heated pools and a steam room that we didn't use.

The food at the lakehouse restaurant was quite good. It's a lovely setting as well, set up on top of the hill with gorgeous views of a lake and the tree-covered hillside. If you dine as the sun is going down you may see the resident deer that make the place home, including a little one if you're there soon. Like the rest of the ranch the restaurant has an indoor/outdoor atmosphere, but they do have heat lamps setup for when it gets chilly. As for the food, we are lovers of great food and they had some awesome dishes on the menu. The best was an egg yolk pasta with mushrooms and braised rabbit. Frankly amazing.

Some other recommendations for your time in Napa: one of the wineries we visited was Swanson, which we really enjoyed. It's a smaller place where we had a more one on one tasting with a woman that has worked there for many years in a really cool room. You have to experience it. We also love Shramsberg, the sparking wine maker. They have a great tour that we've done a couple of times now. And do try to dine at Auberge one night, the most fantastic view we saw all weekend was from their terrace.

Though we were here for a short while we were both very sad to leave. This is just an amazing and beautiful place and I can't wait for our return trip. Calistoga Ranch whatever you are doing please don't stop, keep it exactly the same.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bullet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 752 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2010

This place is just amazing. I came with my husband for a short honeymoon and the experience was perfect. We stayed at an Oak Creek Spa Room and it was incredible. The room was so clean and the staff was amazingly helpful and willing to help with everything. The concierge, Gloria was superb. She helped us get into the French Laundry and organized an amazing wine tour. The food at the ranch was amazing and the room service was tasty and prompt. The spa was pricey but worth every penny. To sum everything up it was an amazing honeymoon experience and I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a special weekend. My only word of caution is that the ground and rooms are so wonderful you won't want to leave. We stayed on the resort property for the majority of our stay and I cried tears when I left. For those looking foir rustic romance I cannot recommend the Calistoga Ranch enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahybarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We spent four nights at the Ranch celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel is described elsewhere and we agree with all the complimentary reviews. The concierge staff arranged a daily itinerary which ran from ballooning to the French Laundry. Wow, I hope we can do it again in another 25 years. ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Our third time to Calistoga Ranch, this time with my husband and a friend from New York. We stayed on one of the Oak Creek rooms, that has a hut tob, and can accomodate a third person (in the pull out couch in the living room). We just love this hotel, and now that all the construction is completed, we no longer hear trucks moving outside the rooms.
The Ranch has done a wonderful job of integrating the little cottages into the environment. You feel like you are at a very luxurious camp in the woods.
Service is great. Efficient, and not obsequious.
Breakfast at the Lakehouse Restaurant is glorious.
The spa, and the pools at the spa, are just great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

A unique and wonderful place! The Calistoga Ranch is understated, serene, and exceptionally welcoming. It is situated in a breathtaking and private canyon and it provided instant relaxation the minute we stepped foot on the property. We were greeted with champagne and the attention to service and detail continued throughout our stay. This is by far the finest accommodations we’ve experienced in the Napa Valley and as far as my husband and I are concerned, the only place to stay when visiting the wine country! Every detail is thorough and gracious without ever being intrusive. The spa was lovely and the masseurs were very experienced. The stylish and spacious suites incorporate the beauty of the outdoors and are exceptionally comfortable with every amenity. The Lake House Restaurant and lounge offer some of the finest cuisine we’ve experienced in the Napa Valley. Steve the bartender was certainly a highlight with his easy-going personality and unpretentious knowledge of fine wine and spirits. The Calistoga Ranch does not miss a beat… Our experience from beginning to end was as picture perfect as the setting!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intoowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I have to say that it's very hard for me to give a "5" in anything but Calistoga Ranch takes the cake in terms of the best service, luxury facilities, food, spa, and ambiance.

We stayed in a spa lodge and everything from the indoor/outdoor fireplace to the turndown service to the yummy snacks (free of charge) in the fridge was delightful.

Be prepared to spend a lot for this place and come with some small bills- a mistake I made when I needed to tip our driver. Who was expecting a driver to your room?

Another thing to be aware of- this location is tucked away and sometimes hard to find. Give yourself a little time to get there. But go- it's worthwhile!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainview29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We just stayed 2 days at the Ranch and had a wonderful time! And we also celebrated the new years with them and had dinner at the lakehouse and was not disappointed! This is our 2nd trip to the ranch and like the time before we had a hard time leaving! We really enjoy staying there and have a hard time leaving. It is like camping with luxury all rolled into to one! They are always willing to accomodate and leave you some thing at turn down service each night. Do not miss staying here!!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank crisdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
8.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
731 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,326 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
23.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,064 reviews
14.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: $811 - $4,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 50 Free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing