We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2006

Just returned from a three night stay and overall I was extremely impressed. We had one glitch, which I will note below, but otherwise my experience there was superb.

Resort and Rooms:

I stayed in a deluxe lodge and I think I really lucked out in terms of location. The size of the indoor living space was a little small, but the large bathroom and outdoor living space more than made up for this. It is so beautiful there that you will want to spend most of your time outdoors anyway. The resort itself does an amazing job of making the most of its natural location and the outdoor fireplace and shower were a very nice touch. My lodge was located near the restaurant and spa which was great, because we could just walk to these places.

Pool area was another highlight of the resort. It was the perfect size. I never felt like I was at a mega resort although the weekend I was at the Ranch there happened to be a wedding and it became apparent that the pool area may have been understaffed. Otherwise the pool service was terrific and the lounge chairs were very comfortable.

Restaurant:

I only had dinner once at the restaurant and breakfast there once. The staff was very attentive, even bringing us free champagne when they heard it was my birthday. The portions at dinner are small but I found them to be quite filling. I am not a big eater and I can see where someone with a more hearty appetite might come away unsatiated. Breakfast was especially good and we also loved room service. Our deck was so nice that half the time we didn't want to go anywhere else to eat.

Spa:

I had the "Traditional" at the spa and overall I enjoyed it. The person I went with had the same and we both felt that the spa was above-average, although maybe not exceptional. I loved the indoor/outdoor treatment rooms and the view from the relaxation area, but I could see where the space is not that large and if it was fully booked it could become uncomfortable. Overall I would recommend a treatment there, just because if you are spending this much money to stay some place you might as well try the spa. It will enhance the experience.

Service:

Service was exceptional. Everyone goes out of their way to please you, except we had one glitch when we checked out. For the entire duration of our stay the men who escorted us to our lodge on the golf carts would always pull up the hill in front of our lodge and drop us at the stairs. They did this when they checked us in with our luggage and every time thereafter. On the morning of checkout they refused to pick us up on top of the hill and the individual at the front desk told me that the five other individuals that had been shuttling us back in forth the entire time were not supposed to bring the golf cart all of the way up and that they would not pick us up there. This may not be a problem for most people, but I was travelling with a senior citizen and we ended up having to carry most of our own luggage down the hill, because not only had they refused to pick us up at the top of the hill, but they seemed to forget that we were checking out even though we told them multiple times. I am not someone who expects staff to cater to her every whim, but at these prices I also would not have expected them to refuse to do something they had been doing along. I have to say I found the attitude of the individual at the desk that morning to be just not fitting with the rest of the staff at the resort, but I think that person may just have been an outlier. The morale of this story is if you are travelling with an older individual or someone who may have some type of physical disability you may want to double check the location of your lodge and both the number of hills and stairs to where they will drop you in a golf cart.

Other than that the trip was terrific and I really loved the Ranch. It is the perfect place if you want to totally get away and enjoy the vineyards or even just nature.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beachbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 747 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Simi Valley, CA
17
Reviewed April 10, 2006

Recently, two truly wonderful things happened. First, I married my very best friend and second, he took me to Calistoga Ranch for a portion of our honeymoon. To say that we enjoyed our stay is a massive understatement. From the minute we drove into the entrance of the resort, we knew our visit would be special and memorable. We were each greeted at the car by poised and friendly staff members, who explained that they would be escorting us to the front desk (with umbrellas, to keep us out of the rain), before returning to the car to handle the luggage. We entered the cozy reception area and requested early check-in. Again, another pleasant occurrence, as they suggested we warm ourselves by the fire and help ourselves to complimentary gourmet coffee, tea or hot chocolate while they attempted to accommodate us. Within minutes, they returned and requested help from the same staff members who greeted us in showing us to our lodge. With umbrellas, we were escorted to our enclosed golf cart (due to the rain) and driven up to our lodge. Our car had already been parked, and the luggage followed behind in another cart. On our way up, the driver gave us a quick tour of the charming property and explained that we had been given a very special suite that they nicknamed "Eagle's Nest". As we approached our suite we understood why. There it was, at the highest point, seemingly perched in the trees, with a beautiful view out across all of Calistoga Ranch. It was absolutely spectacular. As we explored the rest of the resort, we were only more impressed. The Bath House (or Spa) was the picture of relaxation, our treatments were noticeably better than those we had received at a number of other resorts, the food at the Lakehouse (and even room service) was truly delectable, there were hiking trails, tame wildlife, and everyone on the property regulary went out of their way to attend to our every wish. Our first night, we returned from dinner to find a bottle of champagne chilling and a wonderfully rich chocolate mousse dessert served on a plate that read "Congratulations" in chocolate syrup. Not a single detail was missed, and as we suspected, our entire stay at this resort was truly special. We spent a lot more time at the resort than we had anticipated, and therefore, a lot less time wine tasting -- but loved every minute of it. The pictures on the Calistoga Ranch web site do not do the place justice. There was only thing we didn't like about Calistoga Ranch ... having to leave!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Fantastic place, beautifully appointed, friendly, hard working and caring staff. The restaurant which the staff really pushed was worth the pushing food was dynamite. I took my wife there for her birthday we both can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2006

My husband and I went for our anniversary, it was a fantastic choice. The service was wonderful, we couldn't have been happier! It was hard to make ourselves leave the property because it was so relaxing and enjoyable. Overall it was the best hotel we've stayed in. We will def. return

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2005

My husband and I were looking to go to Napa and relax. Well, we did just that. The service was excellent, they could not do enough. The surroundings were peaceful and private.My husband loved the outside shower. The suite was spacious,the bed very comfortable. Mellow feel in the living room. Nice touch with the complimentary minibar and wine. great stereo system.
Concierge was very helpful! It was very hot- 100-110 everyday but the staff would always cool the car down before we got in, ice cold bottled water was waiting for us in the car, nice touch. At the pool, cold towels were served as well as their iced tea-lemonade concoction. Comfortable lounge chairs!
The restaurant was located in a tranquil setting- watch out for mosquitos(time of year)...
The food was great. Try the tasting menu.
I had a facial which was one of the best I ever had. My husband enjoyed plunging in the mineral springs water hot tub.
Very laid back understated class. I highly recommend if you want pure relaxation!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank oneLmichele1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
219
Reviewed October 30, 2005

This was our first visit to Napa, and our first visit to Calistoga Ranch. Both were wonderful. Trekking around the valley all day can be tiring and the Calistoga Ranch is a fantastic oasis to return to.

We had a great time. The suites are luxurious, comfortable and private. We had an Oak Creek suite which was very private. My sense is that some are considerably more private than others. The beds are super comfortable and we enjoyed three nights of blissful sleep.

The setting itself in the valley is amazing. The hills surrounding the resort give a feeling of isolation and remoteness from the outside world. The hotel has a hiking trail above the valley that is a MUST do! We were the only couple we saw using the trail in the 3 days we visited and we were so happy that we did it. Please try it, you will note be disappointed. The views are spectacular.

Service was good and the restaurant was excellent, although we found the wine list to be surprisingly light and very expensive. There are restaurants with much deeper wine lists in the area. They need to work on this point. The other problem we had, is that there is no area to relax other than your room. There is no lounge area to get a coffee or snack. You have to go to the small bar area at the restaurant. Not ideal...

All in all a superb resort. Well managed, well run and very quiet and private.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

We returned last summer for our second stay. The service has greatly improved from when it first opened and this past summer, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found that the open patio provide spaciousness (positive), but inhibited privacy (negative). I wonder why they didn't somehow build the patio in a way that provided seclusion. The outdoor shower is great and private! I would definitely come back; I think it's very comfortable and the service is great. The food at the restaurant is excellent; however, they were out of two of the bottles we requested. They took so long looking for both of them, that we finally just order a glass because the meal was half over. I guess the service could be improved at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
8.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
723 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,322 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
23.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
14.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: $826 - $4,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 50 Free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing