We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Picture perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picture perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This ranch is the definition of perfection! We made the unfortunate mistake of booking at a different near-by hotel, walked in to our room at 'the other place' and walked right back out to begin the search for what we had 'thought' we had booked. Searched for local places on tripAdvisor and came across the Calistoga Ranch. The reviews don't do this property justice. Seeing is believing! We drove up the drive without calling to see if by chance we could get into the Ranch. Anna at the front desk was so amazing and sympathetic to our mistake of booking somewhere else. Luckily there was a deluxe room available so we took it! First time ever being offered a glass of wine while we were completing the booking process. The rest....well, you'll have to discover on your own. Breathtaking views, 'Top-Chef' quality food and presentation, it can't be more apparent that the staff is there for YOU, and the Spa....oh the spa. Wow. Wish I would have gotten a 3 hour massage instead of 1! Thanks Anna for turning our - into a +!!!

Room Tip: We were up on the hilltop, the lower units were being renovated. Honestly, I don't think there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear MattW,

What an wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am over the top with excitement that we were able to fulfill your expectations and hopefully gain a new member of our CR family. What you experienced with us is the type of memorable stay that we strive to provide to each and every one of our guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Anna is such a treasure and I am so happy that she was able to touch your stay and make your getaway exactly what you sought. I am also thrilled that you were able to enjoy a treatment at the Bathhouse Spa which shouldn't be missed. Next time you will have to book our Calistoga Cure treatment for two and half hours of bliss. We will look forward to your return and thank you again for sharing your feedback with us.

Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    76
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
427
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are very fortunate in that we live a mere hour from Calistoga. This has become our "go to" place when we need a special treat and a weekend to decompress. We have been to Calistoga now four times and the only complaint I can think of is that the alarm clock went off on two occasions at 2 AM. This says absolutely nothing bad about the resort, my point being I can't think of anything else even slightly negative to say about this place. The room is ridiculously comfortable and the fact that the living area and the bedroom are separated by a beautiful outside deck with fireplace really make it special. The staff is delightful and the ground are breathtaking. Sure, this kind of perfection comes with a high price tag but we have never once regretted spending our money on this experience. When we are lounging by the pool it absolutely looks and feels like you are in Tuscany. I can not wait for spring to come so that we can escape again to Calistoga.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room right in between the pool and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HWY_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear HWY_71,

This is one of my favorite reviews. We love that you come to us for your relaxing weekend getaways! I hope that each and every time you visit us it is new and wonderful experience. Ours is a unique setting allowing every visitor from near and far to spend time in our luxurious bit of paradise. I do thank you for your feedback on the clock as part of our very thorough room inspection is to check the alarm setting.

We look forward to your spring visit and we are so happy you have chosen to make us your home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to share the highlights of your stay with us.

Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here while attending a friend's wedding in Napa, and my experience was so wonderful. The staff is so cheerful, friendly, and accommodating. I wish the normal breakfast place would have been open (closed when I stayed for renovations), but I was not disappointed with the room service or the pool breakfast area. The only odd things were that the bedroom and living room weren't connected and that the porch was pretty exposed to other people walking by. I didn't find it to be problematic, but I could see how it might be for some staying there on a romantic getaway. The outdoor shower was a nice touch, as was the fact that the pool was open 24 hours. If I ever have the money to stay again, I'd do it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Caty C.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us with the details of your stay. I am always eager to hear about each and every one of our guest's stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. I appreciate your feedback on the patio space of your room. We strive to make sure that each and every one of our lodges maintains a feeling of seclusion, so your comments will assist us in ensuring a serene and private stay for every guest. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we agree that the outdoor showers are amazing! We will look forward to your return and hope it happens very soon.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights in October at this amazing resort in a great location. Definately high end with superior service. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage. All of the cottages are designed for privacy, rarely did I see the other guests. I enjoyed the split living and bedroom concept. Outdoor shower was a real treat. I would definately upgrade to room with hot tub if available. We did do the longer hike on resort property which ended with a beautiful view of the valley. We took advantage of the convertable Mercedes which was fun. Only complaint would be the restaurant on resort. Very exspensive with only marginal quality of food...Breafast in room was very good. Overall this resort was worth the money and we will return. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Ann K,
We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your stay with us. We are excited that you were able to take advantage of the hiking experience and the Mercedes program, both providing a unique Napa Valley adventure. We are eager to hear more about your experience at our restaurant as your input is very valuable to us. Please do not hesitate to contact my office so that we may discuss it in more detail. It is our commitment that each and every element of the Ranch experience meet the expectations of all our guests. I look forward to speaking to you and welcoming you back very soon.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Experiencing the abundance and culinary delights of Napa Valley through the lens of our accommodations at Calistoga Ranch was truly remarkable in so many ways. Service at the Ranch is truly five star. The staff at the front office are exceptional and catered to our every need, aways with a cheerful demeanor. The design layout of the living spaces was brilliant with suites at either end and the common areas - outdoor and indoor living rooms, kitchen - situated beautifully in the center to service all in our party. As well, the positioning of the lodges themselves vis-a-vie our neighbors was extremely well thought out for maximum privacy.

Costly indeed, however a magical location for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopangaMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear TopangaMalibu,
Thank you so much for your wonderful description of your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are so fortunate to be set in such a remarkable and unique part of the Napa Valley. It is a perfect retreat and all of our staff strive to provide a magical experience for each and every guests that visits us. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us and we will eagerly await your return.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a sublime property! We stayed in a two bedroom lodge complete with outdoor living/dining room, indoor kitchen and dining room, indoor fireplace room and 4 bathrooms - lots of space, two beautiful master suites - deep tub, outdoor shower - all details very nicely appointed.
The food was healthy, creative and light. We ordered a dinner for 4 served in our lodge and the wait staff was excellent. Very beautiful surroundings, you know there are other people staying, but you never see or hear them unless you are at reception or the fitness center.
Great private hot tub, nice pool for all - go to the Lakehouse for any meals - fabulous setting with a nice view! Comfortable beds, pillows, fluffy towels - whatever you need, they have it!

Room Tip: Lodges and rooms are tucked away - you do need to walk a lot, but they offer golf cart service to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Daisy095,
Thank you so much for sharing all the wonderful details of your stay with us. We are delighted that your experience exceeded your expectations. We are also happy that your culinary adventure in your lodge was exactly what we envisioned for you. Thank you so much for choosing the Ranch for your getaway and we look forward to your return.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the time we arrived to the moment we left Calistoga Ranch, it was absolute heaven. Our room was perfect and felt very private. Dinner at the Lake House was incredible and exceeded all expectations. If I were to do this trip again, I wouldn't even leave the property, although the on site Mercedes Benz offered on loan to drive around made our trips through town really fun. The staff there is so well managed and everyone is very respectful of the guests privacy, while also being in tune to their needs. The second I fumbled with my bag, there was someone there to help me. The architecture and layout of the rooms throughout the property really compliments that nature around it. I love this place and I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaylieandRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear KaylieandRichard,
We were so over the top to read your review of your experience while staying with us. Your privacy is so very important and it is essential for us to balance this with quietly anticipating your unexpressed wishes and needs. Our staff takes such pride in creating a unique, tranquil and extraordinary stay for each of our guests, we are thrilled to hear about yours. Thank you for taking the time to share your culinary adventure, it is always a memorable time at the Lakehouse. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
8.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
23.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#5 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
23.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Property: Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 50 Free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing