We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Europe in Calistoga”
Review of Wine Way Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Way Inn
Ranked #6 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, WA
1 review
“A piece of Europe in Calistoga”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

It was my first time in the Napa area and my hubby did all the arrangements and I have to say I was not disapointed, this quaint B&B was very nice, very well located, walking distance to all amenities in Calistoga, very clean room and bathroom. Great hosts Nick and Gillian, I almost felt back in Europe. Nick made this amazing frittata and home made granola for breakfast and those scones! real yummy food. Bravo Nick! I loved the way breakfast was shared with the other guests around a big oval table. Overall a very nice place to stay that I would recommend.

  • Liked — Great hosts and very clean place
  • Disliked — A bit close to the main road but that made it convenient to walk to restaurants so no complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    74
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
314
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The Wine Way Inn in Calistoga was a fabulous place to stay in the best part of the Wine Country!

It's a lovely B&B with 6 bedrooms, plus a guest house where we stayed. The Guest House is a bit more sparse than the rooms in side, but we loved the quiet!

Nick Kite is the epitome of an Innkeeper! He has a great knowledge of the area, the wines, the restaurants, and is dedicated to ensure that every guest gets the most pleasure out of their Wine Country visit.

He and his family are also fabulous cooks! The breakfasts were superb- freshly made delicious bread pudding and local bacon one morning, and a frittatta the next, with freshly baked orange scones, fresh-squeezed juices, homemade yogurt, fresh fruits and homemade fruit compotes, and fresh French-press coffee or tea! The fruit is the best-quality local produce.

There are always a couple of bottles of excellent wine and Sherry any time of day, along with chocolate, nuts, fruits, and baked goods- Nick chooses interesting wines from local vineyards, many run by personal friends of the Kites.

The personal relationships make a huge difference- if you ask for recommendations or reservations, Nick is likely to know the owners personally, and will get special deals or free tastings and tours (Napa has gotten pricey these days- $15.00 tasting flights are commonplace at popular wineries).

Nick spends most of his time at the Wine Way Inn, while his wife Gillian manages the Craftsman Inn one block North, which Nick claimed was a more "upscale" B&B.

However, we as pampered as possible at the Wine Way Inn!

  • Liked — the Hosts
  • Disliked — It was hard not to eat too much at Breakfast!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Topanga_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelida
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We had a very nice stay at this B&B. Nick helped us to make our visit to the Napa Valley very interesting, with suggestions and recomendations. And Breakfast is delicious!

  • Liked — The place and the people we met.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Viatge2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

What a pleasant experience we had at the Wine Way Inn. The breakfasts were delicious and the wine/cheese/crackers in the evening were a nice added touch. Nick was very helpful in scheduling visits to local wineries as well as answering the typical tourist questions. Breakfasts were one of our favorite events since we got to meet all of the other guests and share experiences. If we ever get the chance to come back to this area we will definitely plan on staying here again. If you are looking for big rooms with TV's then this is not the place for you.

  • Liked — People
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My girlfriend and I drove up from San Francisco and it wasn't the weather that was welcoming and warm. Nick and Gillian, the owners, were not around at that time but their daughter, Kate, certainly lived up to the family's reputation for hospitality. She was accomodating and friendly; and her breakfast would have made Gillian proud. The breakfast spread was simply wonderful and that was concurred by the other guests we spoke to. We stayed in the Calistoga Room away from the main house. It was pretty and charming. We even had a private patio where we savoured local cheese and wine. It's easy to locate Wine Way Inn - it's right at the corner of a T-junction; you can't miss it. Kate was also very helpful and knowledgeable - her recommendations for restaurants and vineyards, as well as directions when we departed made our stay a truly memorable one. I would most certainly come back to Wine Way Inn and Calistoga.

  • Liked — Charming and quaint
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corondado, ca
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2008

charming and convenient - spotless, with professional, welcoming and very knowledgeable hosts - who are foodies- spectacular breakfasts, fresh baked pastries and cookies.

  • Liked — large, attractive and well decorated common areas
  • Disliked — rooms are stylish and comfortable - but small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank robeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2008

With a 40th anniversary fast approaching and no time to book a trip to Europe we opted for a long weekend in wine country. The area was not familiar to us, though it's only a two hour drive for us. On the basis of a few web articles, and TripAdvisor, we chose to stay in Calistoga at the Wineway Inn. It felt a bit like a "shot in the dark" since we saw a range of opinions (mostly good though). We phoned in and spoke to Nick Kite, who seemed pleasant enough for us. So we bit the bullet. Now that we have celebrated our anniversary, I must say that everything was very, very nice - we definitely have to side with the contented reviewers. Nick and Gillian are a very hospitable and hard-working couple. The rooms are small but well appointed and maintained and quite comfortable (Beds in good condition and the air conditioning was effective. Route 128 is nearby and some reviewers seemed sensitive to the noise, but we weren't bothered at all.) Breakfast was delightful. A nice homey atmosphere. The coffee was good, the food well-prepared with good fresh ingredients was delicious, and the company of the other guests was quite enjoyable and informative (especially for wine greenhorns like us). Nick also had some good tips for us and there was plenty of information available. We really enjoyed the whole trip. The Napa Valley and Calistoga are delightful places and we will definitely do this again.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank MV-FX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.0 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pink Mansion
The Pink Mansion
#9 of 27 in Calistoga
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Way Inn

Property: Wine Way Inn
Address: 1019 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Way Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We looking forward to welcoming you to our historic Calistoga bed and breakfast. Choose between charming guestrooms or our new luxury suites. Enjoy waking up to a fabulous breakfast each morning, and being just a short walk from dining, tasting rooms, and shopping in downtown Calistoga. The Calistoga Wine Way Inn offers the perfect blend of charm, value and location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Way Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing