We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT B&B!”
Review of Wine Way Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Way Inn
Ranked #5 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
“PERFECT B&B!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a perfect place to stay for our Napa getaway! My wife had been to Napa before, but I hadn't, so we stayed in Calistoga based on her prior experience (more quaint town and more affordable than Yountville/St. Helena/Napa). I couldn't have been more pleased in following her recommendation.

When we called to inquire about booking, Nick (proprietor/innkeeper) was incredibly helpful, informative, and resourceful. While we didn't book on that initial call, as soon as my wife hung up, we knew we would be staying there. The rate was competitive and the location superb. Our flight got in later than the normal check-in time, and Nick had no trouble helping make arrangements for our late arrival (even though we ended up early).

The Inn exceeded our expectations. It is a very cozy, warm home with a unique feel to it. Exactly what I always envisioned for a B&B. The first floor is the common area and dining room. There was a bottle of Nick's own red wine and some sherry waiting for us. Chocolate, scones, and tons of information about the Napa valley (and lots of board games!) were there for embellishment. Nick showed us around and up to our room. There are 5 rooms on the second floor and a small fridge with cold water (nice touch in the heat!).

Our room was a bit small, but we knew this as it is one of the cheaper ones. It does have its own small bathroom (with shower) which was a big plus. Bed was firm and comfy. Road noise was somewhat loud with the window open, but again, more of a evening/morning thing.

Breakfast is served every morning at 8:30 (coffee at 7). This is where Nick goes above and beyond. If I could give the breakfast 10 stars, I would. Nick has a "nobody leaves hungry" policy and he means it. The food is gourmet quality and there is plenty of it. Don't like what's available? That's fine...Nick will quickly scramble up some eggs, pop some toast, or whip something up from his garden. To be honest, I would imagine paying $40+ for that breakfast and coffee with my wife if we went out to a restaurant for it...so if you take that into consideration, it is superbly affordable for a night's stay!

In short, if you want a cozy, classic B&B atmosphere with world-class hospitality and gourmet breakfast, this is the place for you. I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone, and am already looking forward to returning some time next year!

Room Tip: All but 1 room have en suite restrooms...highly recommend that. The Napa has a sliding door access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    73
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
313
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Calistoga Wine Way Inn. Great location. No problem with road noise (it is on the main road). Comfortable bed. Wonderful breakfast. Very clean nice room (we were in the Yountville room). While it is still more than I usually pay for a room, it's actually a pretty good deal for the area. Thanks for a lovely stay. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruadh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Your host Nick goes out of his way to share his passion for celebrating what can be created with locally grown produce and a flair for experimentation. Breakfast is a unique experience and is shared with excellent company, in a family atmosphere. Rooms were tastefully furnished and having our own patio added space to enjoy the complimentary wine. Nothing was too much trouble and our first time "Inn" experience will be very hard to beat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've stayed at the Wine Way Inn twice now and would highly recommend it. It's in a great location, has beautiful rooms and fantastic hosts. The breakfasts are to die for! Don't miss out on this place - it's great value and really delightful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaJFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Gillian was incredibly helpful and accommodating, the bed was fantastically comfortable, the bathroom was wonderful and the breakfast is terrific. It's a very short walk to Calistoga town with plenty of bars and restaurants on offer. We will definitely stay here again if/when we return to Napa Valley

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoonyspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Wine Way Inn was one of the best Inns/Hotels/BBs I've ever stayed in. Accommodation were great. Very clean. Great location in town. Nick (the Inn Keeper) was very friendly and helpful.

By far the best feature, the breakfast served at the Wine Way is absolutely amazing.

Will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineWayInnOwners, Owner at Wine Way Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for staying and for such a nice review. Hope to see you again when you are next back this way.
Regards,

Nick and Gillian Kite - Innkeepers/Owners

Contact: Wine Way Inn at:
1019 Foothill Boulevard - Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone: 707 942 0680
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Wine Way Inn. Nick was a great host and the breakfast was fantastic every day. In fact, I bought Gillian's cookbook and made the Cowboy Breakfast when I returned. I was very excited to consume the berry and coconut muffins...they did not disappoint. The baked goods, fresh fruit and hot meals were better than any we’d had in town on a prior trip. The Inn and owners are charming, but I must admit it is the food that would entice me most to return. Yum! We stayed in the St. Helena room. It was quite clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The gardens and split level decks with fire pit and gazebo in the back are lovely. I highly recommend the Wine Way Inn and would gladly return.

Room Tip: We had the St. Helena room right near the stairs. It was quite quite inside the house. There is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzehq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineWayInnOwners, Owner at Wine Way Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the Blueberry Coconut muffins lived up to expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,

Nick and Gillian Kite - Innkeepers/Owners

Contact: Wine Way Inn at:
1019 Foothill Boulevard - Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone: 707 942 0680
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.1 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Way Inn

Property: Wine Way Inn
Address: 1019 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Way Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We looking forward to welcoming you to our historic Calistoga bed and breakfast. Choose between charming guestrooms or our new luxury suites. Enjoy waking up to a fabulous breakfast each morning, and being just a short walk from dining, tasting rooms, and shopping in downtown Calistoga. The Calistoga Wine Way Inn offers the perfect blend of charm, value and location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Way Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing