We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Chanric Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chanric Inn
Ranked #10 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We just returned from our second visit to the Chanric. We first came here in 2008 for our first weekend away together, and this time we got engaged!

Channing and Ric were very helpful when it came to making the arrangements for the surprise engagement. They arranged an appointment at a beautiful winery where my fiance arranged a picnic and proposed! It was really the perfect location! Afterward, Channing was great at arranging a cab at the last minute for our special dinner at Meadowood. He even called the restaurant to share the news, so they treated us with plenty of champagne! We were congratulated in the morning with a special mimosa and a great breakfast!

Both stays at the Chanric were excellent. There are no floral patterns, heart-shaped baths, or lace curtains at this place (thank God). Instead, Channing and Ric have equipped the space with simple, elegant, and sophisticated decor. Everything here is top-notch from the delicious three-course breakfast, to the decor, to the hospitality.

We will plan on returning for many special occasions. Overall, this place is a great find!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgallagher3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for The Chanric Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 378 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

I came across The Chanric Inn when looking for a place to stay near the Culinary Institute. The on-line pictures, description and reviews looked just too good to be true - especially for the price. So I decided to give it a try. What a wonderful find it was!

The Inn itself is impeccably maintained, super clean, and very comfortable. The bed was soooo comfortable and was adorned with high thread count sheets and very lush pillows. It was hard to pry myself out of bed for early morning classes.

I just had to skip the morning lecture once (or twice ...) to experience the three course breakfast. I cannot rave enough about the delicious food. Everything was prepared to perfection. Especially the poached eggs.

Ric and Channing were just delightful. In addition to hosting us, they helped us with dinner reservations and suggestions for where to go and what to do in our free time. They are two of the most delightful people you will meet. We felt right at home and very welcome.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We decided, spur of the moment, that we needed a romantic getaway. We called the Chanric on Friday night and by Saturday we were enjoying the most glorious romantic getaway package: an hour-long couples massage, a hot tub, fantastic wine, a cozy living room with a fire (it was raining the whole weekend but it was so lovely to sit by the fire with an antique cribbage set...), and the most comfortable bed. All of this was followed up with a divine breakfast (spinach and gruyere soufflet...oh my God). The result? We feel completely re-energized and happier than ever. Thank you Chan and Ric!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emincali1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Everything about the Chanric Inn is inviting starting with name of the dog, the beautifully appointed facilities. Most imporant was the hospitality of our host. The morning breakfast was exceptionally well prepared.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signaturewines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Chanric Inn for a romantic birthday celebration and we both absolutely loved it! It was the most relaxing weekend and The Chanric by far exceeded our expectations. The Chanric is so cozy, well cleaned and charming. It creates the perfect ambience for a romantic weekend. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are very well accomodated. Ric and Channing were the most gracious hosts and set us up with the best itinerary. We loved every spot they recommended and booked! The food is to die for!! Extremely fresh and just all around delicious. We've tried to recreate some of the dishes since we've been home but they just can't compare to what we had while we were there! Plus, we were lucky enough to get to spend some time with their dog, Dennigan, who is the sweetest lab. He is extremely well behaved and very friendly. He also knows some pretty impressive tricks! I highly recommend going with one of their packages which includes a massage. We were able to schedule a couples massage for the morning after our arrival and were so happy that we did! It was such a great massage...the perfect way to ease into our vacation. This vacation was so much more than we were expecting and I credit that to The Chanric. I can't wait until we can make it back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allicat03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Ric Pielstick, Chef/Co-Proprietor at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2010

Hi allicat03!

Chan and I are very happy you had such a romantic escape at The Chanric. If you’d like to learn how to prepare an elegant Chanric brunch, I recently began posting recipes on our Facebook site (more coming soon!) And, there is a video on our website of our winter signature dish, Truffled Parmesan Polenta with Sautéed Spinach & Poached Egg. It’s a clip from ABC TV’s View from the Bay program. If you’d like more tips, just send me an email, or give us a call! All the best to you and your boyfriend!

Best regards,
Ric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I just got back from a two night stay at the Chanric Inn. We started our stay with a couple's massage at the Inn! The massage was great. The brunch menu was phenomenal both days! There is such a wonderful atmosphere at the Inn- from the "come and go" as you please feel, to the lovely music, to the coffee waiting in the morning outside your door, to accommodating your last minute issues (we got moving for the airport a bit late and Ric was kind enough to get us checked in and ready to go!). There was also complimentary beer and wine offered throughout the day and evening (which my boyfriend loved). Can not say enough good things about this place, except to try it yourself if you are out that way!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Ric Pielstick, Chef/Co-Proprietor at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

Dear Eridge,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. It is very rewarding for me and Channing to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. I’m also happy to get your comments about the couple’s massage. We’re very proud of the quality of their service and will pass on your compliments to the massage therapists. We hope to see you again, soon!

Best regards,
Ric Pielstick
Chef/Co-Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We recently stayed at the Chanric Inn for 2 nights. The breakfasts were delicious (I don't usually like fritatta, but I liked theirs!), the decor was stylish (but still warm and inviting and not old fashioned like many other B&Bs) and the service was excellent. Ric and Chan were both so warm and friendly and Ric gave us some really good recommendations for wineries to visit.

Just a note to light sleepers - we stayed in one of the rooms facing the road and, although it was a fair distance from the road, had some traffic noise in the morning (from around 8 am) which woke us up. I might add that it was raining while we were there, so the traffic noise was probably a little worse than usual. If this is a concern for you, I suggest you book a room facing the back of the property.

Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Napa region.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmhmhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
9.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
961 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Park Cottages
Aurora Park Cottages
#8 of 27 in Calistoga
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanric Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanric Inn

Address: 1805 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1624 (Formerly Culver Mansion)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: $249 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chanric Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chanric Inn, recommended by Condé Nast Johansens, offers exquisite service and enticing packages. Focused on the discerning culinary traveler, indulge in a multi-course, chef-prepared brunch and complimentary wet bar, late afternoon hors d'oeuvres with wines, Schramsberg at night . Also, enjoy soul-soothing massage treatments in our tranquil spa, hot Jacuzzi and nice pool with view. Take advantage of special rates with our packages that combine all the best that Napa Valley has to offer. We adhere to an eco-friendly and green philosophy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chanric Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanric Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing