We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Perfect Attention to Detail"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chanric Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chanric Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"Perfect Attention to Detail"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed with Jim and Joel in mid-October for 2 nights. I have been to many B&Bs but this one really stood out! Their hospitality, attention to every detail, bubbles at check in - brunch - after dinner, happy hour, gardens, pool, and a very clean room all were spectacular!! The brunch itself filled us up until dinner - great food and their homemade juice of the day was yummy. Their website doesn't do the inn justice. I plan to go back every time I'm back in Napa Valley and send all of my family and friends here! Thanks so much Jim and Joel - you have a unique and beautiful inn.
Sara and Liz

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street would be more quiet. There are rooms that face the pool -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Sara, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I'm thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and help make your vacation a relaxing and enjoyable one. What more could we ask for? We appreciate all your recommendations and can't wait for your next trip to Napa. We'll make sure to have some delicious bubbles, new recipes and delicious homemade juice waiting for you!

Best,
Joel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
276
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at the Inn in mid September after a last minute change in plans.

The Inn is beautiful, well maintained with every attention to detail covered. The room we stayed in had a large bathroom with heated floors and three sinks. The breakfast in the morning was so good and served perfectly. The patio was lovely and very relaxing.

If we ever get back to the area this is the place I would stay.

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1999MJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful feedback! Glad to hear that you loved your stay with us and that our breakfast was the perfect start to your day; in fact cooking and design are our passions! We appreciate all your wonderful recommendations and would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again!

Best,
Joel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Attention to detail is unbelievable. Breakfast alone is worth 5 stars. Wonderful 3-course breakfast, happy hours, fantastic service. Champagne on demand and great wines. Highly recommend. Thanks to Joel and Jim.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Roger, thanks for the kudos! We're glad to hear that you loved the brunch so much. we put a lot of passion in it and we appreciate the compliments. It has been a pleasure to share with you and your friends this beautiful house and we hope to have the opportunity to do it again soon!

Best,
Joel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Chandric in late September with two other couples. In addition another couple waited too long to book their stay. Joel helped to place them next door so they could still be close by and invited them over for breakfast. Very thoughtful. The rooms and common areas are beautifully appointed as well as very comfortable. Joel and Tim don't miss a thing! They spoiled us from the moment we walked in until we reluctantly had to leave. The grounds are beautiful and not to be overlooked including the pool/hot tub area. They kept us well hydrated whether we wished for coffee, water, champagne (even for our balloon ride!). And of course the breakfast is magnificent. The Chandric is fabulous.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Stephanie, thanks for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that your stay was so comforting. Isn't that what vacations are for? We're glad that you felt spoiled, that is exactly what we want our guests to feel like every time they stay with us. We love being an oasis for you and we look forward to helping you escape again in the future.

Best,
Joel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Chanric with two good friends September 24th thru the 26th. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Joel. It was a very easy checkin and the bubbly immediately followed. The grounds are beautiful with flowers and herbs growing all around. It has a very relaxed atmosphere, and Joel is always somewhere close by to attend to your every need. I had read so much about the fabulous brunch server each day, but was not surprised to find that it exceeded my high expectations. Wonderful combinations of taste and elegantly presented. We looked forward to this experience each morning like children on Christmas. I would go back in a heartbeat! Thank you all at the Chanric for such a memorable stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Tim, thanks for taking the time to write us some very nice feedback! Glad to hear that you loved our gardens as they are definitely a source of pride for us. I'm also thrilled to hear that our brunches exceeded your expectations. This is the part of the Inn we are the most passionate about and it pleases us greatly that it was so well received, but please, next time, do not eat the decor!!! We appreciate all your recommendations and hope to see you back again soon enjoying with your friends!

Best,
Joel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I along with another couple just spent four nights at the Chanric Inn. It was an incredible experience from start to finish. We arrived late in the afternoon and were greeted warmly by Joel, one of the owners. Wine and appetizers were offered every evening.

The absolute highlight of our stay was the 3 course breakfast. Every morning Joel and Jim prepared the most incredible culinary masterpieces. Each day was better than the last and we were in awe every morning of what they created.

The rooms are decorated with a minimalistic elegance. We stayed in #4 and our friends in #3. Do not get caught up in the views . It doesn't matter. Room #3 has very limited drawer space so if you are staying for more than a few days, you may want to select a different room.

There is a massage room in the Inn which is a lovely way to wrap up a grueling day of winery tours. :). There is also a hot tub and pool which we took advantage of several times.

Joel and Jim took excellent care of us and without question, we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
"It was an incredible experience from start to finish." — What a wonderful compliment that truly encapsulates exactly what we strive for with every guest, every time. We love to care about details, they make the difference between a place you go through and a place you are happy to stay at! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are also very happy you loved our breakfasts, which are also a highlight for us to prepare. Hopefully, we will get the opportunity to host you and B & D again soon, with new creations for the brunch! Take Care!

Best,
Joel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Napa for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and while planning our trip we spent several weeks trying to figure out where to stay. I kept seeing this place pop up, and it looked so nice and the reviews were great so we booked it. As soon as we drove up to the Chanric Inn, I knew we had made the right choice. It was picture perfect. Beautiful gardens, updated accomodations and our host Joel was wonderful. Breakfast was served each morning, and although we only ate once it was terrific...fresh ingredients, fresh squeezed juice...really nice. There was a nice view from the upstairs porch and it's very close to downtown Calistoga which is equally quaint. I could not have been happier with our choice, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the downstairs bedrooms, and I would probably recommend upstairs simply because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Kelly, thanks for taking the time to write us such a flattering review. I'm thrilled to hear that you decided to check us out and that you loved your stay with us. I'm also glad that you had the opportunity to try one of our signature brunches at the very least after your crazy program of wine tastings around! It's a part of the overall experience that we really enjoy providing for our guests. We appreciate your recommendations and we can't wait to host you again.

Best,
Joel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.0 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanric Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanric Inn

Property: The Chanric Inn
Address: 1805 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1624 (Formerly Culver Mansion)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chanric Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chanric Inn, recommended by Condé Nast Johansens, offers exquisite service and enticing packages. Focused on the discerning culinary traveler, indulge in a multi-course, chef-prepared brunch and complimentary wet bar, late afternoon hors d'oeuvres with wines, Schramsberg at night . Also, enjoy soul-soothing massage treatments in our tranquil spa, hot Jacuzzi and nice pool with view. Take advantage of special rates with our packages that combine all the best that Napa Valley has to offer. We adhere to an eco-friendly and green philosophy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chanric Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanric Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing