We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Street Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Washington Street Lodging
Save
You added Washington Street Lodging to your Saves list
Ranked #20 of 30 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Washington Street Lodging is several cottages set amidst towering trees with lovely grounds and only a few blocks from restaurants and shops. It feels more like a vacation cottage rather than a hotel room. Accommodations include a kitchenette, living room and large bedroom. Outside there is seating and a hammock for gazing at the stars or day dreaming under the towering trees. Beds, linens, and pillows are downy soft and oh so comfortable for a restful night of sleep. I appreciated the cleanliness of the room. You will be lulled to sleep by the crickets and awakened by birds singing. I loved staying here and will be back often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InternationalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

A quick getaway to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Frankly, by the name, I didn't know what to expect. Originally I booked a hotel down the block, saw the first night charges after reserving it and had second thoughts. After reviewing Trip Advisor and Yelp, saw some good reviews on this property, all very positive. I took a gamble, called and booked with Joan, one of the owners. Upon arrival, we drove into the drive way of a late 1800s era house, nicely restored by the way, and proceeded to the back of the property where 5 small 80+ year old cottages arranged around a nicely decorated dex patio area. All the cottages have been updated and are in very good condition. Each unit is air conditioned and jas full wireless throughout the property. Two of the units overlook the heavily shrubbed Napa River. Upon entry to our #2 unit, Joan came out and greeted us showing us the amenties. We had a nicely decorated unit with comfortable queen size bed, a seperate day bed in the small living room, fully stocked kitchen and full shower in the bathroom. Lots of storage space which included a walk-in closet. The country type decor reminded me of my cute grandmother's residenece. Very comfortable, quiet, only 3 blocks North of town and next to a quiet Monastary...dont have to worry about noise at night....however, there is a school on the other side of the river which will yeild sounds of glee during recess. Great place and very reasonably priced. Would definitely domit again. I may have hampered my future availability after this review! Good job!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A friend and I came up for the Wine Country Ukulele Festival and stayed in Cottage #2. Hosts Joan and Jim were very friendly and welcoming, as was their sweet dog Sophie. So cozy and comfortable, almost like being at home. Clean, well kept and inviting atmosphere. Small breakfast niche and kitchen equipped with full-size stove/oven and fridge, coffee maker and a jar of coffee, toaster, even utensils and cookware. Extra towels and supplies in the bathroom. Nice outdoor patio area where my friends and I played our ukuleles the first evening until it was time to go to dinner. Prices very reasonable for the area. Great location on a quiet street, but just a short walk from the bustling downtown area. Couldn't have asked for more. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Wine Country is a "couples" destination, so if you are not a couple, ask for cottage 1 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmadscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Friends and I stayed in three cottages over a weekend and enjoyed the homey, comfy experience. The lodging is 3-4 long blocks from the main street in Calistoga, which is a little middle-class town in the prettiest part of the Napa Valley (in contrast to nearby St. Helena which is very upscale). Each cottage has a kitchenette, with a jar of excellent Calistoga Roaster's coffee in the fridge, a selection of teas, serving dishes, and cookware if you want to fix your own breakfast or snack. Although the rooms are decorated in a maiden-auntish style with silk flowers, miscellaneous bric-a-brac and an assortment of furniture from chintz armchairs to rattan chests of drawers, they are spotlessly clean. Cottages # 3 and #4 have tiny decks that look over the Napa rivulet and the playground of a school, which I suppose could be a bit noisy during schooldays. On weekends it's rural and restful. The owner's dog Sophie is very sweet and docile.
Best of all, the prices are staggeringly reasonable for the Napa Valley, so book early during high season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 301Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redway, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I don't think I can improve on the descriptions below. It's funky, in the good sense. Joan was sweet. We usually stay at the Calistoga Spa on our occasional visits, but on a spur of the moment need-for-hot-water, we couldn't find boarding for our little dog. We searched for pet-friendly lodging near the Spa. Of course there's the Pink Mansion, but it seemed just a little too "doily" for us. And perhaps a little too pricey. WSL was perfect. We stayed in #2 which also has a little kitchen. The bed looked too soft, but I melted into it. Small flat-screen TV, myriad channels. Fresh coffee in a large jar in fridge. Home Sweet Home.

Only problem we had was that we couldn't hook-up to the internet. WIFI was working but ISP not connected. Turned out to be a good excuse to turn it off for a couple of days.

I highly recommend the Washington Street Lodging - esp for dog lovers.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightnin051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We come up every year between Christmas and New Years, and this is definitely the best place in town if you've got a dog. Joan and her husband are wonderful hosts, the cottages are basic, but well supplied with fresh linens and comfortable mattresses. It's nice to have a little kitchen where simple food can be prepared, and it's only a couple of blocks to the middle of town and the Calistoga Spa, where you can reserve day visits, or in our case, join as guests, friends without a dog. We've never been here during the summer, but can imagine how nice the outdoor patio would be for meals and conversation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin 1, where at least four people can sit around the kitchen table. Cabin 2's kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montandon94595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This is n excellent inn. We stayed here with friends last year also during harvest in the Napa area. Joan the hostess is very nice and attentive. The location is excellent about 4 blocks from downtown. Very easy to walk to breakfast and dinner. Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professoradams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 30 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Lana Bed & Breakfast
Casa Lana Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 30 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pink Mansion
The Pink Mansion
#8 of 30 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Street Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Street Lodging

Property: Washington Street Lodging
Address: 1605 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Washington Street Lodging Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing