We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, Charm, Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fanny's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
the bay area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charm, Charm, Charm”
Reviewed June 27, 2007

I don't know where to begin. Everything about this place is just so perfect. So for now, I'll just forget about cute rooms, the charming front porch swing, and everything else and talk about the innkeeper. Fanny's is named for Robert Louis Stevonson's wife, and operated entirely by a kind woman named Deanna (a former restauranteur),
with help from her resident dog and cats. She has an incredible amount of infromation to share about the valley and it's history. (she has lived there for 25 years)

Alright, back to the rooms. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the size of the rooms, because I booked the adjoining room w/ 2 queen beds. Both of the rooms were individually decorated with new and old antiques. Also left in the room upon arrival were 4 magazines for my enloyment.

Now on to the breakfasts which were plentiful and delicious, so I had something to look foreword to when I woke up. It was entirely different both days I was there. Peach Strudel, Cheese Fritatta, Vegetable Omlete, Lemon-Blueberry Waffles, washed down with fresh squeezed juice, tea, and coffee, enjoyed in the dining room, in the company of Deanna and the many guests that I had the oppurtunity to become friends with.

The only thing that I didn't like was that I had to leave, but I hope to go back again someday.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — that i couldn't live there!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abs0lute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    14
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Stayed here in 2004 but just had to remark how romantic this unadvertized B&B is. Rooms are a bit sparse but clean and they had a TV upstairs in the common area. The parlor downstairs is a hoot with all the antiques and old books. The front porch swing is a great place to make new friends with the cat. The hammock in the yard is inviting for staring up into the trees and falling asleep. Breakfasts were huge and delicious.

This is a place unaffected by time or tourism.

  • Liked — Romantic decor
  • Disliked — Sparsely furnished smaller rooms
  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank DickieRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary last year and absolutly loved it. The owner was very friendly and spent time at breakfast to sit down with us and create a map of the best wineries in the area with no cost tasting and fun atmospheres. She was very informative and a wonderful host. Her breakfasts were filling, healthy and enough to fill you up. Our room was well decorated and comfortable. We look forward to going again.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the owners
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhowardhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Stayed here with the family July 2006. The owner is helpful, friendly and informative. Breakfast was more than enough. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — clean
  • Tips/Secrets — some houses on the block are ramshackle but it's safe and secure
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wocaplel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#5 of 27 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pink Mansion
The Pink Mansion
#9 of 27 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanny's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanny's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fanny's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1206 Spring St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1637
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fanny's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Fanny's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing