We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not my type of place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chien Blanc Bungalows
A TripAdvisor Member
“not my type of place”
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Unlike other reviews, our stay was bit unpleasant. If you are looking for all modern air conditioned with unlimited supply of hot water, this is not a place for you. Only the bed room had an air conditioner (old skool, very noisy one) and we couldn't stand the heat in other rooms even at night. When we decided to fill up the tub to take a breather, we only had a luke warm water. I called the management about this that night and they had to come around at 8:30AM banging on the door in our sleep following morning and even unlocking the door, which to me was just unbelievable, to tell us about how the water heater worked. We had a dog, who enjoyed the stay but not us. We would of had nicer time if we had come during winter time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2005

Chien Blanc is our kind of place to stay. It's clean, very comfortable, compact, private, and like a home away from home. In addition, it is 2 streets away from the main street, which means that it is close to everything BUT, we didn't experience any street noise. Our friends, who stayed at a very expensive B&B right on the main street 2 blocks away, were awoken every morning by the sound of trucks and other cars outside their window, but Chien Blanc is very peaceful as it is in a residential area. We made coffee and breakfast in the morning and weren't bothered by maids or other personel or any time constraints. It was like staying as a guest in a friend's house while they are away. We loved this place, look forward to staying there again, and will recommend it to anyone who also likes this kind of peaceful, comfortable, and private experience.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Soprrrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2005

We had a wonderful time. Spent the weekend in our own private little bungalow. You can walk to pretty much any restaurant or spa in town. Well maintained and comfortable. Would highly recommend this and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mekonahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 8, 2005

Chien Blanc provides you with your own individual bungalow. Ours had 3 rooms: living, bedroom and kitchen with an African Safari theme. The staff is off-site but inside the bungalow instructions are provided for the various amenities, such as washer/dryer (we used), stove (classic 1950s era, very cool), refrigerator (we used), and fireplace (we used). They also provide a detailed list of restaurants, wineries and Napa Valley attractions - a very personal touch. Aside from the 3 bungalows, there's a common house with a pool table, card table and books that came in handy while waiting for the wife to get ready.

Chien Blanc is very quiet and we did not hear or see the other bungalow quests during our stay. Parking is easy but a bit confusing because you are not sure whether to park on the street or in the driveway - we parked on the street. The street Chien Blanc is on is not incredibly beautiful, but pleasant. It is only seconds away from the main street of Calistoga by car and definitely walkable. Calistoga is a quaint, picturesque town on the northern end of Napa Valley wine country. The town has several nice restaurants. We highly recommend staying at Chien Blanc - we just wish we had more than one night to enjoy it.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2005

It is extremely difficult to find a place to stay in Napa valley that is not way over priced. I found Chien Blanc to be a real bargain, though it was $150 nightly, there was so much included. The owners/managers are off-site, so if on the spot service is what you want, this may not be for you. However, the owners did give their cell #'s so they could be reached anytime.
The furnishings were so cool- very 50's vintage- lots of antiques. The bed was extremely comfortable, complete with down comforter and pillows! The trundle in the living room was not bad either. The gardens outside were really beautiful. I felt much more relaxed and at home here than I would have had my mom, husband and I stayed in a large hotel. We stayed in the Avignon bungalow which was the furthest from the street- I would definitely recommend Chien Blanc.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank emilyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2003

Chien Blanc is a very sweet little three room "inn", tucked away on a convenient side street in Calistoga. I stayed two night with my sister, and was very pleased with the accomodations. We each had our own room (she was in the living room on a comfortable trundle-bed), and overall for the price it's a great deal. They have several nice areas outside to sit, and this is all a block or so away from the main street in Calistoga. Very nice all in all!

Helpful?
8 Thank hcvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
0.4 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chien Blanc Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chien Blanc Bungalows

Property: Chien Blanc Bungalows
Address: 1441 2nd St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1419
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chien Blanc Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing